This Is Japan

in #japan7 years ago

Explore everyday life in Japan

Sliding Paper Windows and Doors


IMG_8080.JPG


In Japan, sometimes the walls literally are paper thin.

That's because traditional Japanese architecture often makes use of large open spaces that can be divided into small rooms through the use of sliding doors. These doors tend to be made either from a thin piece of wallpapered wood, paper covered wooden latticework, glass panes, or some combination of the above.

They can be partially opened, partially closed, or removed from their tracks entirely to give each room a variety of looks and feels.


IMG_8165.JPG


Similarly, windows are often outfitted on the inside of the room with sliding tracks that can hold wooden framed paper screens. These screens are generally made with a decorative latticework of some kind and a single sheet of thick paper that is glued to the back of it.

The light that these screens and doors let in is incredibly warm and soft. Often, it changes throughout the day, as do the way the screens and doors themselves glow when illuminated by the sun, the moon, or the street lights outside that shine upon them.


IMG_7580.JPG


I find that these screens and doors create a very comfortable and soothing feeling. There is somethinging about the way they soften the light and separate you from your surroundings while still incorporating the light, the sounds, and, depending on the degree to which they are opened or closed, the view beyond the room you are in that makes them feel incredibly private, more so, perhaps, than if they granted you real privacy by blocking all sense of the outside world.

In newer houses, these sliding doors and screens, along with floor plans that can be adjusted by their use, are being used less and less. These days, many new houses are being built with fixed floor plans that make use of western-style doors that are pulled open and closed. If traditional Japanese doors and screens are used at all, they are often used only in one room, the washitsu, or traditional Japanese room that is generally used as a guest room.


IMG_8166.JPG


Image Credits: The images in this post are original.


This is an ongoing series that will explore various aspects of daily life in Japan. My hope is that this series will not only reveal to its followers, image by image, what Japan looks like, but that it will also inform its followers about unique Japanese items and various cultural and societal practices. If you are interested in getting regular updates about life in Japan, please consider following me at @boxcarblue. If you have any questions about life in Japan, please don’t hesitate to ask. I will do my best to answer all of your questions.


If you missed my last post, you can find it here A not-so-secret hiding place.

Sort:  

This is a great post. I love the Japanese culture. How they build in armony with nature and also I like anime and manga.

Upvoted and followed.

Thanks for upvoting and following me. I appreciate it. I don't know much about anime and manga. I'm curious about it, though. You can rent manga very cheaply at DVD stores here. I did that once, but kids made sure I never had a second to read the manga I took out. Maybe I'll try again someday soon.

Great post! Thanks for sharing, I am a big fan of Japanese design & architecture. Got yourself a new follower :)

Thanks! I appreciate it. Japan has some really wonderful design and a nice sense of aesthetic. Living here, I'm amazed all the time by it.

Very interesting post. I lived in Japan (Misawa) about 20 years ago and our house didn't have many traditional features. We did stay at some older inns while visiting Kyoto. Resteemed and followed.

Is Misawa in Aomori? What did you do there? I've never been quite that far north. Thanks for the resteem and follow. Both are very much appreciated.

Misawa is in Aomori. I was in the Air Force. I enjoyed Misawa because it was a simpler lifestyle there though we did get down to Tokyo as well.

I've been to many towns on the coast of Akita Prefecture, which isn't too far from where you were in Misawa, so I can imagine the simpler lifestyle you are talking about. I've also ridden my bike across much of the country and have seen a lot different lifestyles in the mountains and deeper parts of the country. I imagine that 20 years ago, things seemed even simpler.

excelent post, pretty interesting the traditional Japanese architecture. I would like to live in a place like that :P upvoted and resteemed

I've got the obligatory one room in my house with these sliding screens. It's really nice to have. All of the apartments I've lived in here (3) have had these sliding doors as well.

Hi @boxcarblue, really interesting article, thanks for sharing.
I recently did a post on Japanese architecture:
https://steemit.com/design/@fleur/japanese-minimalist-interior-design 🙂

Thanks for the link. I'll have a look.

Such rich culture! I want to visit Japan! Thanks for sharing this beautiful post!! :) Upvoted & followed!! :)

I'm glad to hear it. Japan's a great country to visit. Save your Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58387.03
ETH 2359.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37