Venomnymous takes the #iwasakid challenge!

in #iwasakid7 years ago (edited)

Well shit, looks like I'm heading down memory lane in this post.

IMG_1266.GIF

So technically I'm all grown up with kids and a wife, house, car, all that shit. But I am still just a kid on the inside. Which is really gonna help me with this challenge because it all feels like yesterday. Especially with the things I'm about to share with you in this post.

I was an 80's baby. I spent most of my time playing with toys, bugs, video games. I also watched a lot of tv. So my here's some of those that I remember the most as a kid.

1. Toys

My pet monster doll.


source

I remember it like it was yesterday. My soft blue fluffy pet monster with the orange plastic handcuffs. I liked to cuff the monster's arms and then make him break free like he was actually doing it himself. Ah he was cool for sure.

Unfortunately I let him go at one of our family garage sales and immediately regretted it. Nowadays he's a rare toy with a hefty price on eBay. So I think I'll just keep him in memory only lol.

Tmnt action figures


source

I had (still have) a lot of the tmnt toys in the picture. When my kids are bit older I'll let them have my collection to play with... maybe

M.U.S.C.L.E.


source

The muscle men were an interesting set. They had some really twisted looking characters. I had a bunch of them but unfortunately most of that collection has disappeared over the years.

Battle Beasts


source

Another cool set (I still own) these were cool to play with, each battle beast had its own heat activated symbol revealing if they were a wind,water,wood,fire,etc beast. Suffice it to say I had many battles with these figures.

Interesting note: there were many knockoffs of these. (Which made up a bunch of my collection)

Trash Bag Bunch


source

Here's the reason these toys were cool

Nuff said!

2. Classic Nintendo.


source

So many memories of being a kid and playing these games. Most of those memories were having to turn off the Nintendo, hauling out the game, blowing on it, putting the game back in and playing as long as I can before it freezes again! lol

Good times!

There were so many great games.


source

Some of my favourites were


source

Bubble Bobble was a game I used to play for hours with my older sis. We called the ghost whale that would show up when you taking too long to complete the level "The Raper" lol He really likes to fuck you up your good time.


source


source

I loved the first Zelda game but I like the second one better.


source

TMNT!


source

Godzilla!


source

Bomberman!


source

I could go on forever but I'll stop there.

3. Ice skating/hockey

I loved playing hockey when I was kid. I loved the smell of the ice and the wind hitting my face when I picked up speed in my stride and nothing beats a good ol' slap shot!

I played from age 9 til 16. I would've kept going but when I had to move in with my dad for a little bit, he wasn't the take ya to practices/games and paying for hockey registration kinda guy. So that pretty much ended hockey for me (asshole!)


source


source

Fortunately I have the opportunity to show my kids the joy of skating and maybe they will wanna play hockey too.


source

4. Television

Now I know, tv is nothing more than a social programming mind control idiot box. But back when I was a kid it was a big part of my life.

Just a handful of the shows I liked to watch in no particular order.

Tmnt 1987 cartoon

The teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles were the shit! I had turtle fever as a kid.

Captain N: The Game Master

This show was freakin cool! Combining the fun of cartoons with awesomeness of video games

Visionaries: Knights of the Magical Light

I think I had like one episode of this show recorded on VHS and it was the only episode I saw. but I thought it was a neat show. I really liked how they used their magic animal symbols when fighting.

Ghostbusters was another great cartoon.

One episode that really sticks out in my mind is the 'werechicken' one

As well as the troll bridge episode

There was a lot of good episodes though.

Couple other shows I liked in no particular order


source


source


source


source


source


source


source

Etc..

5. Movies

Godzilla was my hero as a child. I loved to watch him kick the other monster's ass and save the day.

This gif sums up Godzilla lol


source

The brain

I watched a lot of fucked up movies from a young age. "The brain" is one pops in my head a lot.

Killer klowns from outer space

Haha this movie is so silly, I love campy 'cult' horror films!

Munchies

This was a cheap gremlins/critters knockoff but I liked it as a kid. I have yet to find a copy of this movie to add to my collection.

The worm eaters

I saw this movie once as a kid. Wasn't scary just an odd movie.

Chatterbox

Talk about watching fucked up movies as a kid. This one is about a chic with a talking vagina.. wtf mom? Ever heard of screening for suitable content? Sheesh!

I wish I could say that was most bizarre but no..

Female trouble

Yeah, I was exposed to all sorts of f'ed up trash. It's really amazing I was able to come out of all of it ok.

I was being hardcore programmed for moral degeneracy, but I woke up nearly a decade ago and knew what my purpose was in life.

To seek out the truth and to raise a healthy happy family of my own. Where we wouldn't spend our time watching garbage programming. Where we would go out and do stuff. Like go skating and go for walks in the woods and learning how to grow our own food.

My kids

IMG_7050.JPGIMG_7049.JPG

They look just like me right?

IMG_7054.JPG

Thanks for reading!

Check out some of the of other #iwasakid posts
Here WEEKLY #IWASAKID SHOWCASE 🏆 • no.1 • A Fully-Linked + Clickable Photo Feature of Entries! hosted by @grow-pro

Want to Enter? It's Simple!
• The post can be a photo from your childhood or something that reminds you of your childhood - music, food, clothing, toys, places, or anything like that! Feel free to get as creative as you like!
• Be sure to use #iwasakid as 1 of your 5 tags in your post - this will help others view your posts related to the challenge!
• Copy & Paste these simple rules so others can easily participate
OPTIONAL / EXTRA:
• Engage & Interact - the challenge is meant to bridge communication gaps and offer topics of discussion - even if you do not wish to make a post yourself, feel free to check out the #iwasakid tag and comment on your favorites. Friends are usually people we can relate to - you might just find a new friend!
• Drop your steemit #iwasakid post below in the comments OR in any of @grow-pro's posts with that TAG

- Upvote

- Resteem

- Follow

Sort:  

Nailed it! Totally hammered it out of the atmosphere, bro! Damn!!

RESTEEM button has to be mashed on this one


Will send some love for this one @venomnymous. What a kickass way to represent #iwasakid!!!

Thanks brotha! Much much appreciated. That's right, double the 'much' lol

I remember the monster! Had little handcuff chains and everything. I was a destructive child, so many of my toys didn't make it through childhood.. Besides the matchbox cars which I had trouble dismantling, everything got taken apart so I could see what was inside..ok, just wires in this rc car..what else we got to take apart? 😆

I did play Nintendo a bit, but I was an outside kid mostly. I'd get on my bike and collect kids in the neighborhood for either kickball or mischief. Throwing rocks at each other and at things that you should never throw rocks at.. You know, all the stuff CPS would haul our ass to jail for if we allowed our kids to do..haha Good times

Now I have two little ones and I'm getting my paybacks..LOL my son is following in my footsteps with taking things apart.

Poor toys never saw it coming eh? lol.

I was the opposite with toys, I tried to keep them in fairly good shape. Except for hotwheels, I love playing head on collision with those lol

Despite all my video gaming and tv, I did manage to get out and play a lot too. Much to the dismay and horror of all the bugs in the vicinity. Lots of sports with friends.

My kids are bit destructive themselves, not quite the take shit apart types, more of the the rough and careless type.

Thanks for the awesome comment @grow-pro

Ha nice work @venomnymous Looks like you had a similar childhood to myself! Remember all the trash movies like Class Of Nuken High or the Toxic Avenger!! lol Or how about a bit more class with the American Werewolf in London! Stone cold classic!!

The cartoons I remember are Battle of the Planets, Ulysses 31 and Dungeons & Dragons but as an aside from cartoons I used to love the Fighting Fantasy gamebooks!

I was, am and always will be a huge Nintendo fan! to be they're like the mad toymaker and you never know what they will do next lol

Great post my friend!!

Haha right on. Troma movies are fucked!
American werewolf in London was a great movie! I love most werewolf movies in fact. I could've listed a ton of horror movie I saw as a small kid. Like remember waxwork or dreamscapes or house?

Oh that reminds to add one more obscure movie to the post haha.

I don't think I've seen any of those cartoons lol

Yeah Nintendo was the shit, not so hot nowadays but that's why I kept the classics all these years ( I knew better) lol

Thanks for the support friend!

Good work dear keep it up I follow you hope you will share more posts like this thanks

Release the Kraken! You got a 20.83% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @grow-pro!

You got a 10.99% upvote from @yourwhale courtesy of @grow-pro!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56953.07
ETH 2513.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28