A Little Valentine's Day Miracle: Letters from a Recluse in the Desert, Part One

in #isleofwrite6 years ago (edited)

Last fall I mourned the last

letter ever from my penpal who'd gone blind, quite suddenly, at age 81. It was one more milestone, one more stage of life gone, another loved one leaving this world.

When I called her on Thanksgiving, she sounded so weak, so weary, and so ready to die, I cried for an hour. And I never cry. At least, I never used to. The past couple months, a lot happened, and this new little crack in the sturdy old dam is widening. But never mind that. Losing Lois had me so rattled, all I could do was write a short story, Ashes and Acorns, inspired by her wish to be cremated and scattered over the Grand Canyon.

Lois was my mom's cousin, high school classmate, bridesmaid, and penpal from 1955-2017. These are their great-grandparents:

When I first met Lois in 1974, she and her husband and five children lived in a trailer in the Arizona desert. They had rodeo horses, a pet tarantula, and every Zane Grey book ever published. She took all five kids camping and taught them to shoot. (Bear gun bullets are really, really big. And impressive.) Horses and guns, in Zane Grey country. I wanted to run away from home and live with these crazy, rugged, distant cousins. I wrote her a few times but knew I'd never go there, never get her to adopt me. There was no room in that little trailer with a family of seven for a runaway farmgirl who longed for the desert and cowboys and maybe a big black stallion too.

Years passed. Her five moved on, and she barely saw them, or her grandchildren. She started writing and mailing letters to an average of three people a day, or ten a week, or some crazy number of postage stamps and Leaning Tree cards, none of which she could afford, with all the stray animals she adopted and fed, and living on a widow's meager Social Security checks.

Her handwriting was almost illegible even in her best days. It's as inscrutable as Hebrew or Japanese to the offspring, who did learn cursive 20-some years ago, but reading it is something else.

Yes.
Lois snapped that picture herself. With wildfire raging toward her, and her horses. Somehow they were spared. Maybe those Biblical pillars of smoke and doom were farther away than they appear in the photo. Lois may be under five feet tall, but she'd sass a tornado and tell it to back off. Her only daughter, just as petite and little, drives a big rig. From rodeo queen to long-distance trucker. Four-plus generations after an Irish immigrant married an Algonquin woman in 1800, the legacy of darkly brooding, irascible, tough, plucky, Usher/Native American blood is undiluted.

She is blunt and outspoken. When I found a bookfinder.com copy of my most treasured novel and mailed it to her, she hated it so much, she mailed it back. It never arrived. Lost in the mail, a rare and beloved 1950s Cinderella meets Butch Cassidy story set in the Old West. When I mentioned baptisms or weddings, she'd say how much she hates Catholicism and refused to convert for her husband, which irked him til the day he finally kicked the bucket. I was never offended. And she'd have been surprised if I was. Lois had mastered that Buddhist concept of detachment. And I had married into Catholicism, and was a closet agnostic anyway.

With a spinster aunt (my dad's only sister) a hermit, a recluse, and an impassioned orator on the latest terrible thing she's read in the newspaper, I had learned from infancy that women could speak out like that and we would still love them. We were taught by example to shrug off the ravings of wild Germanic women. Sadly, the rest of the world had not been taught this lesson. Many decades after leaving home, I continue to try to unlearn it. "Be yourself" is the biggest lie ever fed to us. "Be open and honest" is also nothing but an invitation to the circling of the wolves.

After so many years, I turned into a recluse too, like Lois, like my spinster aunt, who I continue to miss as dearly as if she were a doting, loving, indulgent aunt like the ones you see on TV.

The offspring never understood why I read and responded to the chicken scratching of some recluse living in a metal trailer in the Arizona desert. They laughed when I'd read out loud for them some of her letters. E.g., October 2017,

I just had Anna the poodle groomed.

It's State Fair time! But I'm not going.

Got an apple pie in the oven. But I'll get this diabetes under control.

It's getting cooler. Got to call the propane truck out. Bills, bills, bills!


But she also commented on whatever is in the news, so her letters are little missives of history:

Wasn't that awful about Las Vegas! Lots of good people helping others. So many died. It's just unbelievable the horror stories.

In July,

Hi! I heard there's a monsoon storm heading into this area. We need rain desperately after the wildfire from last week.

I didn't know you were interested in astronomy too!

There is so much more to say about her, and what these weird letters from a distant cousin really meant, and how it was like losing my own mom when Lois said this was the end: she had gone blind, and she was dying.

And yet, she is still here.

And today, I got something I never expected to see again: a letter in the mail, handwritten by Lois. A valentine, on Ash Wednesday. How often does Valentine's Day occur on this epic day of fasting and abstinence, the launching of Lent, the season of introspection and repentance? The priest, at noon Mass, likened it to a colonoscopy of the soul. Way to make me dread Lent more than ever.

But then--as if to assure me that Resurrections don't happen only at Easter--that letter from Lois arrived. She had written it only a few days ago, and the words are all over the map, but I can read them. It feels like a miracle--a gift from heaven--and I am still smiling.



News Flash

Another mass shooting at a high school, with casualties, the same day I'm typing about distant cousins who were "loaded for bear" - a phrase I wouldn't have understood on first hearing, if not for seeing a massive bullet dangling from a cousin's keychain. (I'm not even sure if they're called bullets or slugs.) I have no desire to go into the wilderness looking for bears to shoot. Or elk. Or any creature. But my cousins were cowboys, unlike any of the farm boys back home in the Midwest, and I was mesmerized.


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

What a great story. You describe your Aunt with such authenticity and love. A reverence of sorts for a woman with a big personality in a fighting little Irish body. What fun it must have been to imagine life in the desert with her family. Happy Valentines Day! 🐓🐓

Oh, that is so beautiful! And I think it probably was a gift from heaven. ❤️

Oh man. Carol, this is so sad and heartfelt. It's a beautiful tribute to a friend and pen-pal of so many years. I can only hope to impact someone like this when I'm 80something and aging beyond my means to help myself. I'm sure she appreciated you as much as you appreciated her.

I had no idea Ashes and Acorns was tied to her story....but it makes sense now.

Thank you for sharing this with us.

your writing style and skill is best i see
thanks for sharing this one

Awww! It had a happy ending! That's rare with life. :P
It's amazing reading about the woman who inspired Ashes and Acorns. That was (I think) the first really good story I read on Steemit and probably what convinced me to look around for those darn tootin' Writer's Block folks!
She sounds amazing. She reminds me of a woman my mom works for. Both her and her husband are in their eighties, but they're smart as whips and hilarious to sit and talk with. They're loving and kind and you'll gain weight when you step into their house.
Thanks for sharing! You're the best <3

A wonderful story of a kindred spirit. I love how you describe your mom's cousin with such clarity, I almost feel like I know her through what you have shared here.

When I first met Lois in 1974, she and her husband and five children lived in a trailer in the Arizona desert. They had rodeo horses, a pet tarantula, and every Zane Grey book ever published.

A glimpse into a woman who lived a 'life less ordinary' which I can tell will be sorely missed.

Maybe those Biblical pillars of smoke and doom were farther away than they appear in the photo. Lois may be under five feet tall, but she'd sass a tornado and tell it to back off. Her only daughter, just as petite and little, drives a big rig.

These descriptions of the women in your family made me smile, women of strength and character. A really interesting read :-)

Congrats on being Curied and also congrats of this little chunk of inspirational post. Wish you all best and many happy future days.

That photo she took is amazing, and this sounds like a wonderful friendship.

Thank you for this fresh breath of life!

💚

Hm, I always thought "loaded for bear" was about "bearing" 'the weight', so to speak. Like "Armed to the gills." Or "Bearing arms."

I have to ask, I know it's missing the point, somewhat, but why does she not call? It sounds like it would do her good. And you.
And you can also call her by another name, your second-cousin, which feels much closer than "My mother's cousin," does it not? I wonder, "Second cousin" feels farther off in some way.

I am rambling. But I see in her missives much of how you write on the Isle, Carol. And going on about the call above, she writes very intimately, in the sense that she writes as if she were talking to you while you sit together for tea. She writes as if she's not writing at all.

Aww, thank you everyone - @geekorner, @ellievallie, @negativer, @raj808, @caleblailmusic, @jayna, and @motherof2chicks, for all the kinds words, and taking time to read this. (Thanks also to the mysterious @Curie committee for the generous upvotes!)

I phoned her today, right before I saw your comment @geekorner. She's one of those people who don't do phone calls. (Everyone in my family has an aversion to phones.) She has no internet, no cell phone, no desire ever to be bothered with that stuff. Visitors are terrifying. Her own great-granddaughter coming? Anxiety alert! My dad's sister ... well, I meant to save that for Part 2, if in fact I ever write it. Aunt Malita has been gone for 26 years, yet I still can hardly "go there" even in fiction. (Don't get me started on chimeras.)
I used to think growing up in such isolation on a farm in the Midwest made me sound so mediocre, but the older I get, the more extraordinary I realize my upbringing was. Today, we are an endangered species.
Thanks again everyone for the kind words.

All the community and curie love was very well deserved. Amazing piece. And you have a wonderful writing voice.

Thank you so much, Jayna!

Lol! Just googled it now:
Loaded for bear: An allusion to equipping oneself with the sort of heavy weaponry suitable for hunting large game.
I missed the part where it meant this:
<www.dictionary.com/browse/loaded--for--bear>
Fully prepared for action; also, spoiling for a fight. For example, Bill tackled his new sales route loaded for bear, or When Martin was three hours late, his wife was loaded for bear.

Now I have to write part 2.
Lois told me today they never killed a bear, ever, nor shot at one.
Oh, her son was carrying a bear slug (bullet?) on his key chain, and he used to go bear hunting, but they all enjoyed being outside in the wilderness, and hardly ever killed a thing.

Sorry to be coming to this so late, but what a wonderful story, and what a terrific penpal to have!

She reminds me a bit of my Aunt Fran, not in lifestyle, but in pluck and fiestiness! Fran wasn't actually related to me, but she was my dad's best friend from 6th grade on, and it was she and her mom who took care of my older sisters on the day I was born.

We called, rather than writing letters, and I still miss her a lot. She was hilarious, and in latter years, took to referring to me as her adopted daughter, though my mom at the time was still very much alive. ;-)

I adored her.

Awww! I'm happy you had an Aunt Fran in your life, and sad that you lost her.
I've seen Lois maybe two times in my life, but what an impression she made!

Some people make that kind of impression on us in five minutes; some never do, despite seeing them daily, or at least on a regular basis.

When we find them, however brief it may be, we are blessed, and hopefully they are as well.

One of the funniest things about Fran was that, even well into her 90s, she was a die hard Lakers fan.

Several times I called her, when I was on my way home from my meditation class, and she'd ask, "Can I call you tomorrow? The Lakers are playing, and Kobe has the ball!"

I never had to consult Google for what was going on with the team. I'd just call Fran, because she knew it all, not to mention most of what was going on about town. And she was absolutely hilarious, and smart as a whip. No Alzheimer's for her, thank you very much!

She died a few months shy of her 95th birthday, on April Fool's Day, which would have cracked her up, not to mention my dad. I've "eavesdropped" on more than one imaginary conversation with the two of them on that subject. ;-)

So true! You amaze me - every repy, short or long, is a keeper. :)

Thank you. Your writing affects me the same way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57050.09
ETH 3060.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32