You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Little Valentine's Day Miracle: Letters from a Recluse in the Desert, Part One

Sorry to be coming to this so late, but what a wonderful story, and what a terrific penpal to have!

She reminds me a bit of my Aunt Fran, not in lifestyle, but in pluck and fiestiness! Fran wasn't actually related to me, but she was my dad's best friend from 6th grade on, and it was she and her mom who took care of my older sisters on the day I was born.

We called, rather than writing letters, and I still miss her a lot. She was hilarious, and in latter years, took to referring to me as her adopted daughter, though my mom at the time was still very much alive. ;-)

I adored her.

Sort:  

Awww! I'm happy you had an Aunt Fran in your life, and sad that you lost her.
I've seen Lois maybe two times in my life, but what an impression she made!

Some people make that kind of impression on us in five minutes; some never do, despite seeing them daily, or at least on a regular basis.

When we find them, however brief it may be, we are blessed, and hopefully they are as well.

One of the funniest things about Fran was that, even well into her 90s, she was a die hard Lakers fan.

Several times I called her, when I was on my way home from my meditation class, and she'd ask, "Can I call you tomorrow? The Lakers are playing, and Kobe has the ball!"

I never had to consult Google for what was going on with the team. I'd just call Fran, because she knew it all, not to mention most of what was going on about town. And she was absolutely hilarious, and smart as a whip. No Alzheimer's for her, thank you very much!

She died a few months shy of her 95th birthday, on April Fool's Day, which would have cracked her up, not to mention my dad. I've "eavesdropped" on more than one imaginary conversation with the two of them on that subject. ;-)

So true! You amaze me - every repy, short or long, is a keeper. :)

Thank you. Your writing affects me the same way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63260.19
ETH 3025.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50