You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Little Valentine's Day Miracle: Letters from a Recluse in the Desert, Part One

in #isleofwrite7 years ago

Hm, I always thought "loaded for bear" was about "bearing" 'the weight', so to speak. Like "Armed to the gills." Or "Bearing arms."

I have to ask, I know it's missing the point, somewhat, but why does she not call? It sounds like it would do her good. And you.
And you can also call her by another name, your second-cousin, which feels much closer than "My mother's cousin," does it not? I wonder, "Second cousin" feels farther off in some way.

I am rambling. But I see in her missives much of how you write on the Isle, Carol. And going on about the call above, she writes very intimately, in the sense that she writes as if she were talking to you while you sit together for tea. She writes as if she's not writing at all.

Sort:  

Aww, thank you everyone - @geekorner, @ellievallie, @negativer, @raj808, @caleblailmusic, @jayna, and @motherof2chicks, for all the kinds words, and taking time to read this. (Thanks also to the mysterious @Curie committee for the generous upvotes!)

I phoned her today, right before I saw your comment @geekorner. She's one of those people who don't do phone calls. (Everyone in my family has an aversion to phones.) She has no internet, no cell phone, no desire ever to be bothered with that stuff. Visitors are terrifying. Her own great-granddaughter coming? Anxiety alert! My dad's sister ... well, I meant to save that for Part 2, if in fact I ever write it. Aunt Malita has been gone for 26 years, yet I still can hardly "go there" even in fiction. (Don't get me started on chimeras.)
I used to think growing up in such isolation on a farm in the Midwest made me sound so mediocre, but the older I get, the more extraordinary I realize my upbringing was. Today, we are an endangered species.
Thanks again everyone for the kind words.

All the community and curie love was very well deserved. Amazing piece. And you have a wonderful writing voice.

Thank you so much, Jayna!

Lol! Just googled it now:
Loaded for bear: An allusion to equipping oneself with the sort of heavy weaponry suitable for hunting large game.
I missed the part where it meant this:
<www.dictionary.com/browse/loaded--for--bear>
Fully prepared for action; also, spoiling for a fight. For example, Bill tackled his new sales route loaded for bear, or When Martin was three hours late, his wife was loaded for bear.

Now I have to write part 2.
Lois told me today they never killed a bear, ever, nor shot at one.
Oh, her son was carrying a bear slug (bullet?) on his key chain, and he used to go bear hunting, but they all enjoyed being outside in the wilderness, and hardly ever killed a thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54384.85
ETH 2275.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33