Introverts are NOT lonely

in #introvert7 years ago

Introvert and antisocial are two different terms that I just got to know.
INTROVERT is a person who is shy and likes to stay alone mostly or has a very limited number of people with whom he/she can interact whereas ANTISOCIAL means a person who is threatening towards society and is unable to be friendly with people and is not able to follow the basic norms of society.
So why do you think I am here blogging behind a computer screen? Yessss you are right I am the biggest introvert alive. I used to call myself as antisocial but I just read the definition of both the terms so all you people out there who don’t like to interact with every other random person around them, like to stay reserved and can only talk to certain specific people whom they r comfortable with are introverts like me. And we should stop calling ourselves as antisocial [because its not a good term].FB_IMG_1482936430043.jpg

But I am constantly trying hard to change myself because you cannot stay inside your homes hiding from people all your life. I just want to overcome this fear of mine.
I would like to tell you what happened yesterday. As I told you I have recently shifted back to Pakistan from Iran. I had a VERY limited number of friends there and that too i used to meet once in a while. So yesterday I was sitting in a park near my house, because my son was cycling there, a lady with her 3year old came and started playing with her son and tried to interact with my son, but my kid just ignored them so I had to talk on his behalf so that it doesn’t look bad. Now I being the biggest introvert person on earth was being scared and was trying to avoid a long conversation but she I guess being the talkative one continued to interact n finally came and sat with me. Our kids were playing on there own. I don’t have any ‘live’ friends here at the moment. I just have two or three people to whom I talk daily with but on whatsapp. So this was the first person to interact with me after so many months (5months to be precise). She told me her address which was just the street behind my house and look at me , how stupid and scared I was to even tell her my address and the thought skipped my mind which usually may come to every introvert like me, that should I be telling her my address, what if she comes to my house, what if she starts coming every day, what if I have to talk to her daily, what if she comes and occupies my personal space lol… after thinking all these things a number of times in my head while talking to her I decided that NO I have to change myself, I have to try to be a different person now, I really need to start interacting with people here to overcome my depression which I have been facing since I shifted back to Pakistan. So yasss I told her my addresss…lol thats a big big achievement for an introvert like me to tell someone your address- the first step towards saying yes to the other person that you are allowed to talk to me in future as well lol
Sorry if you are reading this my new friend but can’t help being like this, its in my nature, I have been avoiding people since my childhood I guess.
FB_IMG_1482936420308.jpg
For people like us, its really very hard to live and survive in a joint family system which we have in these Asian countries, because then you have so many people around you under one roof and they have expectations from you, the least that they could expect is that you sit and talk with them and this is the most difficult thing. Thank God my husband understands this and he has no problem with me staying quiet when hes around, but yeah it gets difficult to make other people understand this who living in the same house. So for an introvert like me, when living in a joint family you are confined to your own room because that’s the only place where you are alone. Other people think like I am in jail sitting all day in my room, bt believe only people like me can understand that I can sit all day in my room using laptop, watching tv, reading books rather than chatting with people around the house.images (1).jpg

One very strange thing that you people don’t know about us is that we loveeeee to go to crowded places because crowded places have soooo many strangers around us who don’t know us and are busy with their own lives and there is no spotlight on us, yes we hate spotlights. So while living in iran I loved to roam around alone on the streets where as on the other hand my friends needed someone to go with them and they used to go in groups or together. Unfortunately its not that safe in Pakistan so I cannot roam around like that here without my husband. That’s what I miss a lot about Iran. Ill do a post on Iran later. I have so much to share from my experience in iran.
So that was the story of an introvert.
P.S please upvote me and encourage me so I can write better. Criticism is allowed [introverts are not rude don’t be scared] lol
images (2).jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @sidrahimtiaz! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sidrahimtiaz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45