Welcome to my office

in #introductioncontinued6 years ago (edited)

Well, it's due time that i do dive in!

The season is kicking off SO quick with bed prep and seeding, transplanting and the loong list of projects that would make the farm so much more spiffy this season. Oh yeah.. today was already the first harvest day of the season; Salad mix, mustard greens, baby kale, celery & radishes are fresh out of the field.

Here's a little snap of my office before harvesting from each of the rows today ;) Funny thing, my phone let me capture just one quick pic of the beauty before notifying me that there's not enough storage and shutting down. So, savor this snap like the last piece of the dark, dreamy, chocolate bar hidden in your freezer.

unnamed.jpg

From right to left in the beds is first a row of radishes, then mustard greens, 'goldrush' lettuce and then baby kale with a wild corner of parsley and celery going crazy & just doing what it wants. On the lefthand side you can see some of the tables in my seedling zone setup with their overhead sprinklers and on the right: a bunch of trays of tomatoes getting tall and reading to nestle their feet right into the center of each of these rows. Maybe i'll plant those guys this week. And of course, an introduction to the greenhouse can't go without mention of the two, beautiful, old-soul-rebel apricot trees exploding their lusciousness towards the ethers in the back.

What are some of the projects on the aforementioned never-ending list towards 'spiffifying' the farm? Let's see:
-building a post-harvest washing and processing zone
-building a greens bubbler to help with the crazy long process of washing and prepping salad greens
-building a walk-in cooler for the produce
-reconnecting the irrigation systems and upgrading to a new way of connecting my drip lines
-building a farm stand for the driveway to our land
-not forgetting to have fun & stretch and take some walks in the woods
-setting up a system so the sides of the greenhouse automatically open when it gets too hot.. okay this might have to wait until next year

And the list goes on. I'll try to write a post with each of these.. or at least each of the ones that I get to! Please let me know if there's more you want to see or would like me to share.

I don't know if i've said it before but I love stories. I connect to the whirrled around me through learning the whispers-of-place and the stories spoken through them. Tomorrows going to be a busy day but Sunday evening i'll introduce you all to this land, Greenhaven. Because of course - none of my stories or sharings would have any roots at all if i didn't first invite you into the soils & ecosystems that they are being born in.

Thats all for tonight. Thanks for your patience on my slow start :)

<3 farmdruid

Sort:  

Annnnd, there he is! 👏🏼 Wondered when we’d see you next. 😘

Your greenhouse is lookin’ absolutely lovely. Wish I could nibble some of those greens, savor some of the tomatoes to come and sink my teeth into the apricots that will someday adorn those trees. 🌿 YUM!!

Looking forward to more of your soily, nutrient-rich stories. 🌺 Love you, D! 🍑 xo • z

Zipperss!! So much love to you. Oh my goodness I would be so delighted to have you up here. If you ever need a Portland getaway up to Vancouver Island know that you've always got a home here. It would be such a treat to hangalang coastal farm style! Thanks for the support & encouragement!

That would be sooo loverly, dear! Someday. ps...lovin' yer new profile pic. ;)

Your greenhouse looks awesome!!! Wish I had one of my own!! Thanks for sharing!

@jonliz yes I'm super blessed to have such a groovy greenhouse - endless gratitude to my landlady for that. Maybe one day soon you'll be able to set one up & get those early greens going ;)

@farmdruid, you are kickass! Excited for all your posts. Your "office" is looking abundant, wish the best for you in your green and living project. Upvoted and followed!

@zameena-zen huge gratitude to you love! Stoked to see that you're sharing sweet poetry. Following you back and making sure to keep an eye out for the seeds of words you're planting ;)

Beautiful Beautiful greenhouse. I wish we had built ours bigger to host some fruit trees!
I look forward to all the stories and updates you will share :) Love seeing all things about growth and gardens ♡
Take care,
@amymya

Congratulations @farmdruid! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @farmdruid! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63155.22
ETH 3108.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85