I'm Mark: my chair is my portrait

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! This is my first post here. I’m English.

I’ve been curious about the next step in crypto-currencies and crowd-sourcing for some time now. In real life I edit/correct documents as well as write articles (see link below). I try to figure out what’s next in finance, business, investment. I also campaign for freedom, privacy, and civil liberties.

Especially if you're interested in civil liberties, please do say hello.

I took my face off social media round about when Mr Zuckerberg cut a deal with a couple of face-recognition databases a year or so ago. I’m not quite ready yet to have billboards and vending machines greet me by name, Minority-Opinion-style.

So I have to break it to everyone that (despite my natty little profile image) I don’t really look like either the gorgeous Monica Vitti or the stylish Dirk Bogarde in that old film (Being super-creative, I put those horizontal stripes on). Nevertheless, that profile photo is what labels me at Facebook and LinkedIn and Twitter and some other places. So it shouldn’t be so hard to cross-check and verify I’m a real person (in Budapest - exotic!) using all those accounts. Today is the 23rd of July, 2016.

Don’t hate my shyness, people. We can meet for coffee in real life and I won’t wear a carnival mask, I promise.

I’m going to do the super-secure password thing once I’ve properly understood the mega-password article.

To make up for hiding from you lovely Steemists – at least for the time being – I put up that picture at the top of the 1st wooden chair I built. It's lying on my balcony there, being sanded. Chairs 3 & 4 are below after this post, at a rather early stage, in the bottom image revealing also my exciting kitchen area.

Chairs 3 & 4 are a bit stuck, I must admit. I should get back to work on those.

Here’s a link to a recent article of mine I got published a couple of weeks ago about why so many people are confused about Britain leaving the European Union (‘Brexit’) and here’s a link to the personal weblog I’ve been writing for quite a while.

I hope to get to know lots of interesting folk here at Steemit, contribute some good stuff to this new community, and learn more about some of the blockchain developments I’m trying to understand. Hello everyone …and thanks for reading this far!

Sort:  

Hello wang - can you help me understand why some of my URL links went live and others didn't?

I read several of those handy how-to texts already, but couldn't find an answer, silly me.

Wang is a 'bot' so he probably won't reply. There are a few posts about how to use 'markdown' that should help with your links.
Also if you don't mind pop by and read my #minnowcodeofconduct post, it is for us newcomers.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@jsteck/minnow-code-of-conduct-how-one-minnow-would-like-to-see-the-rest-of-the-school-behave

Thanks jsteck, shall do.

(I'd heard wang was a bot, but I thought he might be a very clever bot!)

I think he may be. People seem to like him!

Thanks, jsteck - I found it takes good old HTML as well as markdown. Problem solved.

Thank you, jasonpay1 - kind words most appreciated!

Congratulations @markgriffith! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @markgriffith! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @markgriffith! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43