What Do We Do When Life Gets in the Way of Our Dreams?

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

I signed up for a Steemit account because a good friend of mine @cryptoctopus praised it highly. I'm really excited to see how this develops!

 A Little About Me 

I thought I would share with you a little about myself before I launch into the topic of dreams and ambitions. Ever since I was thirteen, I decided I wanted to be a cardiac surgeon. Biology was (and still is) fascinating! Every grade I made and every paper I wrote in high school was to prepare for the day I would go to med school. However, I also had another dream, to be married and have children at a young age. I wrestled with the idea of having to sacrifice future familial priorities for career priorities and vice versa. 

Shift in Gears

 I began writing poetry when I was fifteen. My growing love for classic literature and newfound passion for poetry led me to put aside my piano lessons and to enroll in the correspondence course offered by the Institue for Children's Literature. I graduated with honours. 

Unexpected Life Changer

Okay, so you know I wanted be married young, have kids— I didn't think it would actually happen! I started dating my husband at seventeen, got married at eighteen, had my first child at nineteen and two subsequent children at the ages of twenty and twenty two. I'm now twenty four. So that means sayonara med school, right? 

Only Time Will Tell 

To tell you the truth I don't really know. I've never given up completely on the idea of going into the medical profession. I believe it's not the right time for me to pursue that dream. For now, I've got a loose plan of going back to college when my kids are old enough to get a nursing degree and work as a nurse thereafter. Never mind the loose plan, I'm determined to do that one day. 

Different Season, Different Dream 

Now I'm living a different dream, one that's now become a reality. The last assignment of my writing course was to either write a non-fiction article (I had already written two) or the first three chapters of a book. I went with the latter because a few years before I had learned of the Halifax Explosion which happened during WWI. So moved was I by the story that I decided I had to write a book on it; and that's just what I did. 

What's Next? 

I self-published my historical fiction novel Redeemed From the Ashes on March 8, 2016. It has been such an educational experience, the elements of which I wish to share with you in future posts. Today I spoke with a publisher who potentially wants to acquire my book. Next year, I'm going to Halifax (a book tour presently in the works). Anything is possible if you work hard enough! 

What About You?

 A friend of mine strove toward med school for eleven years! She started classes last week. She never gave up. What about you? Have you ever had a dream, and it just seemed completely unattainable? What did you do? What are you doing now or going to do to reach it?


Sort:  

Hello @leahlindeman,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiative.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!
~RHW~

Hello @robinhoodwhale,

Thank you so much for the wonderful exposure! Here is my first official post: https://steemit.com/publishing/@leahlindeman/publishing-options-what-s-the-right-fit-for-you. Hope you enjoy!

Well done Leah! I personally think you made the right choice. I know the reverse story way too well, med school student don't have kids until their mid 30 and then end up way too busy to take advantage and those precious first years a parent can invest in their kids.

I don't regret taking the road less taken. It's been a huge blessing.

Well done you on your success. Long may it continue

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99