A BIT ABOUT MYSELF. PART 1

in #introduction7 years ago

As a First-Tier Baby Boomer, usually referring to those born during, or shortly after, the Second World War, my memories and experiences are worlds apart from the "Millenials" of today.
I remember "IKE" (Dwight D. Eisenhower) being President, Howdy Doody, Studebaker Automobiles and even telephone party lines* in Los Angeles, CA, where I lived Until My 17th birthday when, with a signature from My Mother, I joined the USN during the Viet Nam conflict, serving as a Navy Corpsman Headquarters Support Activities, Taipei.

 SouthEast Asia was a real eye-opener for Me. I considered Myself quite sophisticated for My age, but was definitely not prepared for what awaited in Cities such as Saigon, Bangkhok and Manila. My first night overseas, My new comrades had Me drunker than I had ever been, and left in the hands of a Woman of, shall We say, questionable reputation. The average age of the other Sailors i worked with was 25, so, I suppose they found it amusing to indoctrinate "The Kid' As I was the youngest Sailor at Our duty station.

Following My service, I went back to California where My Father had retired and bought an old house and barn on 20 acres in Santa Margarita in San Luis Obispo County. Like Myself, My Father had grown up in Los Angeles and wanted to try His hand at being a country Gentleman.

To say He went all-out in His new endeavor would be putting it mildly! In no time at all He had assembled such a variety and number of animals as to make old Noah proud! There were Horses, Cows, Pigs, Chickens, Turkeys, Goats, Sheep, Ducks, Geese as well as an ancient and huge Peacock, which, if You've never been around one, make for the best guard animal there is. He really raised a ruckus whenever something, or someone He didn't know, came onto the property!

To Be Continued

Sort:  

Congratulations @hoppy9516! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @hoppy9516! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56766.86
ETH 2492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36