Hi steemit people, let's waste some time together...

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

My name is Agata. I’m a sociologist from Poland, interested in what is happening around technology when you take into consideration social perspective. I heard about you from my boyfriend who has been participating in BitShares community and now is fascinated by steemit idea.

What I’m currently interested in is the idea of understanding the time, especially definition of ‘wasting the time’. But why am I telling you about that? Because idea of ‘wasting the time’ seems to me important for human’s life.

Few days ago, I took part in presentation about differences between X, Y and Z generations. What I discovered there is that fear of wasting the time may not affect all generations equally , but it can be especially strong for Y generation (people born between 1980 and 1995).
In Poland those people (including me) were raised in new, overheated capitalism of the ’90s, promising quick carriers and unlimited opportunities. We were raised to have great ambitions but we didn’t really know how to define our scopes and grab opportunities. Thus, we learn as many languages as possible, study as many faculties as possible and get as many experiences as possible to enlarge our chance to success. We want to do everything so we don’t have time to waste. We are scared to death of wasting our time. Do you have that too?

Ok, but what about that? It is normal that people want to develop their skills, learn new things, be better and better. Yes, I think that’s normal and that’s good that we have that need. But if we let the fear of wasting the time take control over our life, it makes us numb - it takes away courage of doing risky things, of doing new, unpredictable things, of doing things that can fail. It makes us numb because it takes away pleasure of spending time ‘unproductively’ with our family and friends.

Fear of wasting the time actually takes our time away, so readiness to waste time can be a good thing – both for our carrier decisions and for our private life. In my opinion it is also very important for such new and unpredictable initiatives as steemit so… let’s be ready to ‘waste’ some time.

Sort:  

Welcome on board! My recommendation for you is try to understand a difference between Steemit and Steem. Its very exciting!

Time can only be wasted when classified as waste. Time spent should be understood in terms of value derived.

Hey Agata, welcome! I just visited your country and liked it a lot! As a member of generation Y I would actually argue that from my perspective my generation in America doesn't value their time ENOUGH. It seems to me that unlike your country's newness to liberalization, we already felt "at home" in it and felt that we'd "figured it out." We didn't have to learn everything (especially any languages because we already spoke English) all we needed was a degree (more like two) and you'd be just fine. I don't think it's unrelated to the phenomena of what's called "The Great Moderation" in economics which occurred around the same time. At that time those in charge of monetary policy honestly believed that they had eliminated the possibility that something like the Financial Crisis of 2008 could happen and they had all kinds of fancy models to prove it. All of it was wrong, but I still feel like my generation is stuck in that old mindset. But that's just my subjective opinion.

Image of Welcome2

Welcome! Glad we already have members like you!

It makes us numb because it takes away pleasure of spending time ‘unproductively’ with our family and friends.

Well said!

Interesting post. My first thought is that the concept of wasting time is a highly multi interpretable one. You are absolutely right by stating that the fear of wasting time is subject to (ironically) time. And i would add to that culture and individuality. A friend of mine once told me that people who engage in deep thinking should never be afraid or ashamed of procrastinating as most of the action is taking place inside the neurons. Welcome to Steemit.

Hey Agata... I hope you will not turn us to some kind of experiment group, right?
Now time concepts differ throughout (pre)history, cultures and scope. The more one learns about them, it is easier to understand how past, current and perhaps future communities will prioritize tasks of any kind, and as a derivative "wasting time" will be constantly redefined.
Bitshares - OpenLedger and any other project built upon it, is a project that holds a lot of potential if handled correctly, I think.
Regards!

No, I wouldn't like to treat you as experiment. Actually, being here is an experiment for me, because it's the first time I share my thoughts on the internet. Thank you for your warm welcome!

I can feel that pressure of making the most out of everyday. "Wasting time" is very subjective indeed and it is closely related to what we value. If I value relationships and family, then time spent there is "time well spent". If I put lower value on entertainment then after "binging" on Game of Thrones then I can say that is was "time wasted".

One thing for sure...you didn't waste your time writing this article. Check your payout! 😂

Welcome, glad to have someone from Poland. just 'cause

Hi from Canada :) I wrote a song about wasting time and being Myself. Actually, a few of them . lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38