Wordscapes first ever post: Doom Level ?

alex-jodoin-140654-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Alex Jodoin on Unsplash

Doom Level ?


Brooding clouds on Montreal

Like post-apocalyptic Doom



Presage an impending squall

For traffic dwindling in the gloom.


Scraping skies in downtown

Are office blocks and cranes;



Orange lighting fades to brown

As storm drains gutter for the rains.



@wordscapes


Wordscapes: "Cloudy evening in Montreal"

This photograph of Montreal, home to Unsplash, has been liked over 2000 times. Its Montreal-based creator, Alex Jodoin, has more enjoyably edgy urban photos on his website and social media.

The urban landscape's foreboding; a monster storm's about to break. The moment I saw this photo, I was reminded of the Doom games, from Level 2's tense outer cityscapes to Level 3's foundry colour schemes - hence the name of the poem.


Source

Alex's skilful exposure techniques, using low shutter speeds, illuminate the freeway with a sweeping curve of headlights. Light and dark contrasts brings to mind another contrast: the coziness of a dry car as the first heavy drops of a storm plop onto the windscreen. Hear the wipers: Riders on the Storm by the Doors:

The photo also conjured up Metropolis, the fictional city in which Superman is set. Metropolis was based on the Toronto skyline just 300 miles (500km) away - just down the road in terms of Canada's vast distances:

Metropolis is a fictional city appearing in American comic books published by DC Comics, best known as the home of Superman. First appearing by name in Action Comics #16 (Sept. 1939), Metropolis is depicted as a prosperous and massive city in the Northeastern United States, within close proximity to Gotham City.

The co-creator and original artist of Superman, Joe Shuster, modeled the Metropolis skyline after Toronto, where he was born and lived until he was ten.

Source

Superman's Met Skyline

Source

The atmospheric photograph was also reminiscent of Fritz Lang's 1927 classic movie Metropolis:

Scene from the movie Metropolis

Source

It's haunting to see a cityscape like this empty of people, including residences. Sure, there will be apartment blocks and houses out there but they're not prominent: this vista is almost entirely industrial. And what is that mammoth, awe-inspiring block behind the freeway? A power station? Waste disposal? What a feat of engineering!

I wonder where exactly the photographer was he when he took this photo - or is it a dronescape?

This image takes in areas of the city a visitor would miss: car park behind the mall; small office block; supermarket; delivery bays. So it evokes a city's underbelly: garbage processing plants; flourescent-signed massage parlours; head offices; Metro servicing sheds and delivery services.

So atmospheric - thanks Alex Jodoin!

ImageText

Message sent today to photographer Alex Jodoin:



Hello Alex

Your "Cloudy evening in Montreal" inspired me to Wordscape it.

I hope you like it:

@Wordscapes celebrates inspiring photos. I describe the visuals accurately in a no-frills poem, write a few notes, ask the photographer a question and bundle it all into a post. Next, I invite the photographer onto steemit and yours: if and when s/he replies, it goes in the weekly Wordscapes Digest.

Your Question:

Where exactly did you take this photo: is it a dronescape?

I hope you have time to reply: feel free to send with your reply material promoting your work for the Digest. I have posted this Wordscape on all my channels and have followed yours where I can.

Unsplash is getting into crypto at last - so it can only benefit its photographers to unconfuse themselves.

Are you crypto-savvy or do you need unconfusing? A few months back, I was a crypto virgin. I'm still a noob but now own wallets holding Bitcoin Cash and steem and am earning while I learn - it's getting easier by the day.

If you, too, are a crypto noob, you might want to see for free how I got unconfused and started earning from scratch:

  • A) I signed up (free) to steemit, where I earned steem for high quality content, learned from its supportive expert communities, and got used to handling crypto...and had a whole lot of fun.

  • B) Having learned the basics, I signed up (free) to yours, where I can earn Bitcoin Cash (my favourite crypto) for my HQ posts. Yours.org aims to attract serious content creators so you could check it out!

  • C) Next, I signed up to memo (the exciting new, uncensored Twitter - memo is already buzzing with early adopters), where I link my HQ content to get tipped in Bitcoin Cash!

Signing up? Please let me know so I can follow and upvote your HQ content - let's network!

Already subbed? Then please follow me and consider upvoting my HQ original content.

Explore and sign up free to learn and earn steem or Bitcoin Cash:

ImageText


ImageText

ImageText


https://steemit.com/@wordscapes

https://www.yours.org/@wordscapes

https://www.instagram.com/wordscapes123/

ImageText

This is not an advertisement: this information is offered free. It is not advice. I do not receive any payment for promoting any platform: @wordscapes aims to earn crypto rewards from original poetry posts.

Whether it's a Wordscape, an update on a photographer or a Digest, I try to post every day so please follow me if you appreciate @wordscapes.

Wordscapes

Wordscapes

Sort:  

#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.


Welcome to Steem @wordscapes.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thank you, @steemladder. I've followed you.

@wordscapes, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.05 vote!
Will you give me a follow? I'll follow you back in return!

Thank you, @introduce.bot - I followed you.


Welcome to Steemit @wordscapes!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Thank you @introbot - I followed you.

Welcome to steemit @wordscapes. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Thank you, @tuanis - that's most helpful. Followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39