Greetings Earthling steemians, I come in peace

Greetings

I live millions of light years away from your interesting little world

hubbledeepfield.jpg

yet there are many of us who walk among you. This is my human form .....

Introphoto.jpg

My mission on Steemit is to acquire a better understanding of why humans are in the mess they are in and the potential solutions. I will try to explain my understanding of these as time goes by.

In my earth life I have accumulated various degrees and qualifications but I have chosen to work as a builder in the South of France. (In my intergalactic life I am a worm engineer - we use worms to travel down worm holes in order to jump through space and time. This is what they look like, this one is your standard dual cockpit intergalactic slugworm (courtesy of wonderopolis.org) .....

Slugworm.jpg

Earthlings are currently on a classic end of civilisation path, I have seen it literally thousands of times - many civilisations across the known universe have developed as far as yours and most fail, never achieving their full potential. We are a peaceful civilisation who live sustainably and have reached a stage in our civilisation where we can consider modelling the development of planetary civilisations with a view to creating a blueprint for the difficult transition from "survival of the fittest" to "survival of everyone".

Things I like doing ....

  • Solving problems
  • Discussing politics
  • Growing veg
  • Looking after my chickens
  • Spending time with friends eating and drinking outside on balmy Summer evenings
  • Wormhole racing
  • Carpentry
  • Researching stuff

Humans that I find interesting

  • Noam Chomsky
  • Naomi Klein
  • Bruce Springsteen
  • #Caitlinjohnstone (Caitlin introduced me to Steemit by an article she wrote on Medium.com)
  • #Leecamp
  • Russell Brand
  • Paul Beckwith
  • Jonathan Pie
  • Potholer54 on YouTube
  • Richard Wolff
  • Bill McKibben
  • Peter Hitchens
  • Nafeez Ahmed
  • My Wife and kids (who should have headed this list really)

Website with most profound impact on me

www.overshootday.org. Just visit it and calculate your personal overshoot day.

My favourite image :

From the Hubble Telescope an image of a tiny area of deep space - every dot is another galaxy!

hubbledeepfield.jpg

I am totally confused about crypto currencies, what block chains are and how steem works - sometimes I wonder how I ever became a worm engineer!

I'm really excited to be able to be part of the Steemit Community and hope that I can contribute as much as I get out of it.

I believe that we can only survive as a species (and let's face it there is nothing more important because importance exists in our minds only - if we are gone nothing matters anymore) if there is a genuine will to change. This can only exist if individual human beings stop looking towards leaders and take responsibility for our part in the future of human kind and life on earth, all of which knits together into a complex system that is self sustaining if we all behave appropriately.

I believe in democracy - real democracy where everyone has an equally weighted vote in all walks of life.

I don't believe in capitalism as a system that will ensure that we all behave appropriately to achieve sustainability.

I believe capitalism has a inherent flaws preventing it from even delivering what it purports to i.e. growth of capital for capitalists - namely, it is in the interests of capitalists to reduce labour costs and process costs in their business but it is against the interests of capitalists to reduce wages across society otherwise their markets become poorer, consumption drops and so does the return on their capital investments and it is against the interests of capitalists to use up all resources and pollute the environment. These are the conflicts that will bring down capitalism eventually.

I believe mainstream media promotes capitalism and especially crony capitalism and undermines democracy.

At this point, I believe we are all doomed but there is always hope and I love my kids too much to give up on it.

Hello Steemit.

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @willtochange!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Let me know if I can help.
Many blessings! @bycoleman

Thanks for the welcome and the very useful links.

You're welcome.
Love the "I live here" picture.

If you are interested, we have a writing contest starting Monday.

Many blessings!

the great post...
please upvote and resteem my post : https://steemit.com/busy/@nrna95/wisely-using-electricity-for-a-better-life and i am upvote you

Welcome! I hope keep reading you! Pls follow me and upvote my last post and I will do the same with you!

welcome!

fav here :)

Congratulations @willtochange! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41