Hello Steemit Community! Introducing Wild Homesteading

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

_DSC1416.jpg

Hello Steemit! My name is Daron and along with my wife I run a blog called Wild Homesteading. The blog is relatively new - just been up and running for a couple months.

Wild Homesteading is all about helping you to start your homestead and grow your own food by working with nature.

Most of my posts are "how to" articles focused on a specific topic. Though sometimes I mix it up a bit.

But here on Steemit I'm hoping to connect with you all and while I do plan on sharing my posts once a week I want most of my posts to focus on sharing what I'm doing on my own homestead. I'm really hoping to find other homesteaders here on Steemit! :)

My Homestead - The Wild Ride Homestead

native-plants-and-non-native-plants-mixed.jpg

My wife, son and I live on what we call the Wild Ride Homestead. With just under 3 acres it is not a big homestead but after living here for 2 years we just love it.

The picture up above is a hedgerow I have been growing for privacy and wild life habitat. It has a fun mix of native and non-native plants - some are edible!

Part of what I want to share with you all are the projects I'm working on each week. There is always a lot to do as a homesteader and I'm hoping you all will enjoy getting a sneak peak into my life as a homesteader.

The Blog - Wild Homesteading

someting-to-love-about-homesteading.jpg

I already talked a bit about the blog but here is a bit more about when I post and where else you can connect with me.

Each week on Monday I publish a new blog post. I'm planning on sharing a summary or a related side story here on Steemit that goes along with the blog post. The blog post will link to my post here on Steemit.

I need to go back through all my old posts but each will eventually link to a related post here on Steemit.

My homepage will also link to my profile page here on Steemit. I want my site to promote Steemit and I'm hoping Steemit can help people find my site.

As far as other social media sites go you can find me at Twitter, Facebook, and Pinterest plus over at the forums at Permies.com.

I will be linking back to this Steemit post from those sites asap.

Example Blog Post - 5 Ways Your Homestead Will Benefit from Native Plants

native-big-leaf-lupine-flower.jpg

This week my newest blog post is all about native plants and how they can benefit your homestead. If you are interested in it please feel free to check it out.

That post is a good example of what you can expect from my site :)

Thank You All!

I'm new to Steemit but been hearing a lot about it so I'm very excited to finally get to be a part of this community.

I want to hear from you all but I would love to hear from any of my fellow homesteaders. From what I have heard it sounds like there is already a nice homesteading community on here.

So thank you all for taking the time to read this post and please forgive me if I'm making any errors and for any errors I may make as I get used to posting here.

Can't wait to start connecting with you all!

Thanks again!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem, @wildhomesteading, and thank you for this amazing intro post!
I was gonna jump right in and list all the cool permaculture and homesteading connections, but @nateonsteemit has already done that way better than I would have. So I can only second him: go ahead and check them all out. Discord is a fantastic place to start. You can chat with people right away, who can help you out with the rest. Oh yes, and most importantly: don't lose your password!!! As for the RC, don't worry... as soon as the first payoffs start coming in you'll have more SP and you'll be able to post to your heart's delight.

If you use wordpress for your blog check out Steempress which easily allows posts on your blog directly to steemit. I'm sorry I don't know more as I don't have my own blog, but it shouldn't take you long to find it and how to use it.

@goldendawne is active in the homesteading community on the platform and can get you pointed in the right direction if your looking to network.

Thanks for the info! :)

No problem. Its also worth checking out the esteem or partiko apps and the steempeaks.com or busy.org sites as well for interactions on Steem as those sites and apps give you notifications for upvotes, replies, when your tagged in posts/comments, upvotes, etc. Really useful when youre trying to keep track of everything going on.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I installed partiko on my phone but I still need to get it setup. It will be great to be able to use my phone to access Steemit. I will check out those other 2 sites. Thanks again!

Welcome to steemit, and way to get out there and start commenting. That'll go a long way in getting noticed. I'll have to mention you to @freedompoint, as I think he'll dig your stuff too!

Thank you! Really appreciate it!

Hey! I am here...and I do! I love seeing new creators and new information!

https://busy.org/@sndbox/that-s-steempress-ive-discovering-new-blogs-steempress-contest-8

Sorry for spamming your comments, just thought this might be a good contest for you to enter and help get the word out about your site.

Thanks! I will take a look.

Welcome to Steem, not homesteader but I wish, fellow Nature lover though and yes there is a solid homesteading group around :) I'm pretty sure you'll get to know each other in no time. Have fun and best regards. Welcome onboard!

Thank you! :) Great to hear about the homesteading community!

I have a garden and you are awesome and more people should homestead like you.

Thank you! and it is great that you have a garden - a big reason I started my site was to help people grow their own food. I always like hearing that people are gardening :)

Some people think gardening is only a hobby but it is truly more than just that. There are so many reasons to garden. Some people may not see the need or the problem in not gardening. But garden food tastes so much better, for example.

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you find what you are looking for.@nateonsteemit mentioned that my wife and I founded Global Homestead Collective. We would love fod you to join with more self reliant individuals. Be well.


Global Homestead Collective Come join us on discord! https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Thank you! I will check it out!

LOL - I see he already found you, and so did @nateonsteemit. Man, you're attracting everyone!

We're all here!

Something something community mumble mumble ;)

This post is sponsored and featured by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared. Just keep up the good work.

Ah, a permie!

Howdy! I'm Nate. I like to meet and greet new homesteady steemians. I would have been here sooner if you'd used the #permaculture tag. On most steem interfaces, you're allowed five tags, it increases your reach to use them ;)

Welcome, welcome, welcome to steem! There's a bunch of permies and homesteaders here and quite a few communities to get involved in. For starters, there's @sagescrub (creator of @homesteaderscoop and Homesteaders Co-op our community marketplace for sustainable permaculture goods in exchange for Steem, SBD, and USD), @riverflows, creator of @naturalmedicine and the Natural Medicine discord server, @freedompoint and @freedomtowrite, creators of @ghscollective and the Global Homesteading Collective discord server, @porters, @walkerland, @goldendawne (who is responsible for me finding this post. Thanks again 😊), @mountainjewel, @makinstuff, @pennsif, our guy that knows the most about steem, @papa-pepper, @goldenoakfarm, @senorcoconut, @belleamie, and @ligayagardener, just to start you off with a few. Oh, and @stortebeker!

Most of the steem communities rally in discord servers, so if you're looking to get involved with community (and who on steem isn't?) then discord is your friend. On discord, you'll find @ginabot is an immensely helpful service that will send you notifications of comments, token transfers, mentions, and many other activities on chain via concise messages. Most steemians that I know use her because she works so well.

Depending on what you're wanting to do here, there's many interfaces. My personal favorite is SteeemPeak, but there's also steepshot, partiko, steemit, dtube, appics, and many others. These interfaces are often also called dapps. You log into them using your private posting key, which you can find in your wallet under the "permissions" tab. There's lots of dapps already, and will be lots more as we grow! Also, don't lose your password or you'll have to start all over like I did.

I look forward to seeing you around the chain and communities! There's a lot to learn here, but I hope this comment and the support you're gonna get from our communities will help.

Wow Nate, this is awesome! It's a lot of info to digest @wildhomesteasing but don't worry you'll get it... its just another learning process!

Oh no @Nateonsteemit, I had no idea you lost your password once... that's a drag. How far along were you in building your page?

Don't lose your password I have mine in 4 or 5 different places (not online unless you know a secured way to do it)!

There is now steem keychain. I have not tried it just yet but I trust @yabapmatt and it seems it is respected by the steem community. https://steemit.com/steem/@yabapmatt/hate-putting-private-keys-into-websites-introducing-steem-keychain

Ah interesting. I may explore this a little!

Hello and thank you! I was hoping to find some permies on here! That info is great and I really appreciate it - good to know about the permaculture tag! I will start using it in the future for some of my posts. Thanks again!

Definitely don't lose your password. I did that on my first account before I even got to make a post. Luckily, that account still exists and keeps a good name reserved

Posted using Partiko Android


Welcome to Steemit @wildhomesteading!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Thank you! I will check out those links :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52