A glimpse into my job- behind the scenes on making documentaries.

Hi Everyone!

I thought it would be cool to give you guys a little peek into what I do for a living.


iggy.jpg

(A picture of me writing is far more boring than one of me holding an iguana- her name is Prometheus and she's a sweetiepie)


While I've primarily posted about food for the blog, I work for an incredible production company called African Film Company.

After years working with animals in reserves and sanctuaries (hence the iggy) , and writing freelance pieces for local publications, by sheer luck I landed a job with AFC. (but that's a story for another time!)

So now, I'm the researcher and script writer, but also help manage the social media accounts, and figured this is as good a platform as any to share some of our work and a little behind-the-scenes tasters on who we are and what we do.

First and foremost, our company's ethos is to help preserve our natural heritage.
Our last series, 'Deadliest South Africa' on Animal Planet featured Kurdt Greenwood demonstrating that even the deadliest snakes are often misunderstood.


Here's the Trailer for Deadliest South Africa


We also did a tribute film to our lovely editor and co-founder, Naudene Leisegang's, father and uncle: Dr,s Chris and Marius Barnard, called 'Change of Heart: The operation that changed the world'
We were blessed to have the film selected for screening at the Cape Town International Film Festival at the end of last year.


Here's the trailer for Change Of Heart:


Featuring a cameo perfoRmance from me (not an actor at all) as Ann Washkansky, and Matt (A brilliant, professional actor you may have spotted in previous posts) as Luis Washansky


So that's a bit about what we've done, but what few people get to see is what happens behind the scenes.

With this in mind, our co-founder, film maker and cinematographer Hansa Winshaw and his co-star, Marine Scientist Ryan Johnson have decided to give viewers a glimpse of what goes into making a wildlife documentary.

A couple of hours of television is the accumulation of weeks filming in the field, looong distances travelled and many nights spent sleeping on a bed that isn't yours. (it doesn't sound too bad, but documentaries are rarely shot in 5 star hotels.)

Our new series under the working title 'Chasing Tails' features the guys travelling to East London in search of one of the last massive sardine baitballs. The fish have become vulnerable with overfishing and Ryan believes new legislation to regulate commercial fishing might give the greatest shoal on earth a lifeline.

We've set up social media accounts to allow viewers to see what goes into making a series before it airs.

Here's a little teaser on what they've done so far:



IMG-20180520-WA0001.jpg

Ryan showing kids how to work a drone

IMG-20180522-WA0000.jpg

Hansa , Markus and Ryan gearing up for a day at sea

IMG-20180521-WA0004.jpg

Hansa demonstrating that one can catch 40 winks on a swaying boat

IMG-20180524-WA0019.jpg

Ryan under the interview lights



Ryan shares a swim with a seal


They've been filming for a couple of weeks now and we've been uploading their daily antics on social media.

If you guys are keen to see more- including how to combat wet-suit rashes and how to make friends with Traffic Cops, check out their posts here:

Instagram
Twitter
Facebook- African Film Company
Facebook-Chasing Tails

For behind the scenes of my blog and cooking endeavours, check out the Viral Crowd pages
Instagram

and my personal Instagram

So that's what we do! Let me know in the comments if you'd like to learn more about the film making industry and I'll do more posts in the future.

As always, if you'd like to give any of the recipes in my blog a try, drop me a comment or DM on Instagram and I'll Skype or Whatsapp you and help walk you through it!

Have an epic week steemians!

Sort:  

Hi, whattheduck! Best wishes for make many new friends here in this fun-loving community :) Enjoy!!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome to Steem, @whattheduck!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2691 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.15 : Signatures.

Fascinating stuff. Way t' be! You sound like a very nice person.

Thanks so much for stopping by @bbblackwell! I try to be nice, though I think it healthy to have a little bit of a dark side sometimes! Balance, they call it-I think?

Maybe you're right... a wise piano man once said, "Only the good die young"... at the very least, it keeps things interesting ;)

The good die young, perhaps, but the great are indestructible cockroaches! It certainly keeps the world on its toes. How boring life would be if it were all sunshine and no rain.

OMG... I just had a “Godzilla” moment reading about your “great indestructible cockroaches”... (speaking of which, did you ever see the movie Colossal with Anne Hathaway?) Yeah, all sunshine is a little tedious... that’s why I’ll stick with the New York seasons over the California sun. The contemplative nature of autumn is a treasure not to be tossed aside.

I haven't seen it! Will have to add it to the list. I second your thought on the contemplative nature of autumn, and add that few pleasures in life outweigh the joy of hiding in a pile of leaves and scaring the ever loving bejeebus out of your family. (I must add that while I'm perfectly content to grow old, I have no intention of growing up.)

I haven't been hidden in a pile of leaves since I was a kid... then again, I live in the city, and I don't trust that such piles contain only leaves. This caution may be a red flag that I've grown up too much Hahaha. I will, however, hang my hat on the fact that I'm not so grown-up as many I meet - I'd rather sit at the kid's table at barbecues... at least they talk about something other than money and their jobs... probably because they don't have either, but still...

ha! You should meet the folk in Cape Town. Those who do have jobs still don't have money. Perhaps this existential mess is the reason we're not afraid of what's hidden in the leaves.

I have to add that I read your handle as 'buhbuhbulackwell', and now 'Barbara Ann' is stuck in my head. Thank you!

Hahaha, too funny! I knew this would be a problem! I tried to explain it in my "introduceyourself"post but alas, a bumbling bevy of "b's" is a recipe for disaster!
Homer-Doh.jpg

Having 'Barbara Ann' stuck in ones head is not a disaster by any stretch of the imagination. Christmas carols, on the other hand...

"City sidewalks, shitty sidewalks, dressed in holiday style..."

Fun photos and fun animals.

Wow that’s a great behind the scene to get to learn both about you and about what you do. Sometimes we tend to confuse the two as being one and same thing. As a script writer do you get to go on all the fillings as well or each team has got their own specificities and the budget constraints mean that it’s carefully managed? I wish all the luck in the world in this endeavour and who knows we can soon get to see your own production.

It's really easy to see people one way, especially online. Think it'd be cool to know what people do in their real life! I've been on the shoot for the snake series to help with the sound, as I am used to snakes and it's difficult to get anyone to swing a boom with a spitting cobra or gaboon viper just a meter away! I was on set for the reconstructions for the heart transplant film too, but this time as a cameo! It depends on what is happening at the time. For the Chasing Tails series, Hansa and Ryan are the shooters and the stars of the show, so there's no need for anyone else . Hopefully deadliest will be airing in your neck of the woods, it's only on Animal Planet for the next few years though.

Oh my word @whattheduck, I am terrified of snakes...I know... I know they are more scared of us but I just can't help it! You are all very brave filming this, and you holding your sweetie pie Prometheus! I'm a real ninny! Thank you for the introduction, you have such an amazing job! This should have been promoted on Discord, love the trailers, def want to see the videos! When will these air?

Hehe, I still wouldn't fiddle with the deadly ones! Matt was terrified of snakes when I first met him, but I had a little corn snake and he eventually grew so attached to her! I think easing people into the scary creatures slowly but surely is the best way to overcome the phobias- understanding them properly before trying to touch them is key!

The snake series has been airing on Animal Planet the last year, you should still be able to catch it there. The heart transplant film was screened at the Cape Town International Film Festival, but will air in French Speaking and Middle Eastern Countries before it screens in South Africa again. As for Chasing Tails, the boys are still out at sea filming as we speak, so it will be a couple of months before we complete a series to sell.

Thanks so much for having a read! So look forward to seeing what treats you come up with next!

Will look out for it, I love wildlife doccies but still am a scardedy cat! I've dropped the link on Whaleshares Discord so who knows?

Thanks so much! Let me know what you think if you do catch it!

Will certainly do that!

At last, a short biography for the person behind those exquisite dishes.

I was surprise by your profession, wouldn't expect you to be a researcher and script writer from all those amazing dish you created!

I bet you gotten used to staying in a non 5 star hotel ....hahaha.

Thank you for visiting my page/post/story...and leaving an encouraging comment. I followed you back here, and will return.

I've added you to my 'following' list in order for your posts to appear in my feed.

This post is too old for me to up-vote, so I've done that in your most recent listing.

Regards,
@angryman

Thanks so much @angryman! I'm so excited to read your next installment, all the more thrilling knowing it's a true story!

Yes...it's all true. Looking back, I can hardly believe it myself. Thank you for the kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63122.96
ETH 2686.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57