Here Be Dragons

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi!

I'm Del. I'm from Wales, but I've been living in South Africa for almost a decade now! Gosh. I live with my boyfriend and our animals. He works in web dev and animation/3D modelling, and I'm an artist. I'm fluent in Welsh as a first language and consider myself a definite Celt, with a love of all things mythological, dragons especially. I love the fantasy and sci-fi genres, whether it's books or movies or videogames (of which I play an awful lot!).

26116464_10156101731524703_699318507678500961_o (1).jpg

That's me. Hello! :D

I have many creative hobbies, but the one that pays the most bills is my art. I'm a mandala artist mainly, but also dabble in general line art doodling. I create colouring books for adults, and have one published through Barnes & Noble that you can find here > https://www.amazon.com/Meditative-Garden-Mandala-Coloring-Serene/dp/1454710284 :)

I create digital mandalas using free software called Krita (http://krita.org);

sneepsnop.png

I also hand-draw mandalas;

12710903_922022287905962_6077509110861701878_o-Edit.jpg

And do other forms of line-art doodling, preferably abstract stuff, usually sci-fi or fantasy in nature;

28158188_825097451032400_4063277690398965760_n.jpg

You can find more of my art at http://delsdoodles.com/ and https://welshpixie.deviantart.com , http://facebook.com/delangharad , and on instagram at http://instagram.com/welshpixie

I'm a keen hobbyist photographer with a special interest in landscape and macro photography. I shoot using a Nikon D7000 with kit 18-55mm and 70 - 300mm lenses, and a Tamron f2.8 90mm macro lens. I process my photographs in Adobe Lightroom and with the Google Nik Collection.

DSC_5342-Edit.jpg

DSC_0188-Edit.jpg

My photography pages are:

https://500px.com/welshpixie
https://www.eyeem.com/u/welshpixie
http://yourshot.nationalgeographic.com/profile/1603758/
https://www.facebook.com/welshpixiepics/
http://instagram.com/welshpixiepics

I write sci-fi and fantasy mostly, but have some smut short stories published in the UK. I have a pretty short attention span so tend to write mostly short stories, though I attempt NaNoWriMo often and despite always making the word count, I rarely actually finish the novels XD

You can read my stuff here:
https://www.wattpad.com/user/WelshPixie
https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/welshpixie

I'm a huge animal lover. We own several cats and a dog, mostly rescues, and we're currently fostering some tiny kittens whose mum got hit by a train and lost a leg. She's fine now, but she can't feed them herself so we're keeping them until they're on solids. They're gorgeous! They were to weeks old when we got them. They've almost grown in their first teeth now, and they've just started using their own tiny litter tray!

DSC_0803-Edit.jpg

DSC_0817-Edit.jpg

So - that's me in a nutshell! I'll be posting from my range of creative endeavours here, so there'll always be pretty pictures of whatever I've been working on or photographing in my posts. Thanks @mandelsage for letting me know about Steemit!

Sort:  

hey dear I am very impressed with your work,and you are very beautiful girl and mostly your eyes are very attractive..keep it up and welcome to steemit

Welcome to steemit @welshpixie. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Welcome to steemit @welshpixie. Great artwork.

I live in Wales, but spent a year living in Cape Town.

If you fancy keeping in touch with a bit of Wales, there is a Welsh Discord server - SteemWales.

Ah thanks! I'm near-ish to Cape Town, in Gordon's Bay just a way down the coast to the south. Lovely area. I miss the rain though. :D

I don't recall ever visiting Gordon's Bay while I was there.

We do still get plenty of rain here!

We're going through a crazy drought here, the government have declared it a national disaster. The municipality has reduced water consumption drastically (30s stop-start showers, recycling grey water, etc. Haven't had a bath in I can't remember how long.) and while at the start of summer it looked like we were going to have a water cut-off at 'day zero' with a few months of no water supply (and instead, water collection points), but with all the water saving we've done, we might now avoid a day zero by the skin of our teeth.

Welcome to join Enjoy Steemit


Welcome to Steemit @welshpixie!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Nice to meet you, @welshpixie! Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to Steemit. I think you will like it. There are plenty of people who love talking about cryptocurrencies, but lots of other interests too. Have fun

Thank you! ^.^ I'm not much of a cryptocurrency talker but as long as people still like looking at pretty pictures I'll be fine here, haha. :D

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 21:30:52
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hi Del how are you? Really nice intro, i love it ! I would like to connect with other cool and creative steemians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

Hi! Thanks for the follow and vote, and for leaving a welcoming comment! ^.^

Yaayy... Awesome intro post! ... My gosh I forgot just how much of a content creator you are. Lots of quality stuff for the big curators here to pick up ^^ ... I'm slowly learning though that the absolute most important thing here is community - getting noticed by a big fish can help (one of my posts got noticed by @curie and I got a nice payout on that one) but in the end, sustainability can only come from making lots of good friends and engaging/being real =) .. Quite time-consuming, I tell ya! Did you get @ginabot yet btw? She'll make life a lot easier for you.

Juuuust set up @ginabot :D Thanks for that! I've got some stuff to do today but at some point I'll spend some time browsing the site and interacting ^.^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49