Obligotory Introduction Post.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

I find Steemit to be pretty interesting, and my stumbling upon it pretty fortuitous. I have never been a fan of social networking in general due to their tribalistic bubbles, political bents in either direction, or policies which stifle free speech. Part of me was beginning to think that the days of sharing opinions and having to jump through hoops or cater to get an audience was forever going to be the norm.

Let's face it... social media is currently dominated by corporations; which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but currently it seems the plights of advertisers, agendas, or politics is warping the expression of the free internet into self censorship or face excommunication from those services.

Basically I'm here to partake in this experiment. The concept is compelling and I'm looking to bring back some of the types of discussions I used to have blogging in the 90s. If you're interested in things like anthropology, fossils, general science, worldbuilding, art, etc... I'm sure we'll be engaging in discussion at some point.

Sort:  

Welcome to the platform. I wish everything work out for you.

I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Welcome w0011y, I feel your frustration brother.

I used to publish regularly on a social media site that sounds a lot like your experience.
When it reached the point that I was having to consider the possible onslaught of cognitive dissonance that would inevitably result, from my post, I realised that what I would have to write, was not worth writing.

Thus I deactivated my account and never used it again. That was 8 months ago.
I am quite new to steemit myself, having only been introduced to it by a very dear friend, only 4 days ago, but thus far, I have only seen encouragement here.

You may even find that this platform is what you always wished the other one could be.

Just go at your own pace.

Welcome to Steemit. I think you'll find it to be a refreshing place, as people here are almost always respectful of others' opinions. Most people who have contributed in making Steemit what it is have taken care to create an environment where people can speak freely without worrying about personal attacks. Personally, I've had many experiences where people have disagreed with me, but still upvoted me and commented politely, because they liked the way I expressed myself.

Being a distributed system, Steemit is also very censorship resistant compared to Facebook.

It's remarkable how this technology can encourage us to get along and explore different points of view.

Good luck and have fun; I'm sure you'll have a good time here.

Thanks Kurt,
You raise a very valuable point with regards to the respect shown here, and the freedom of expression that that allows in an author.

Iv'e only been on here for 4 days now, but I've spent many of those hours reading articles, and I have not seen one single "trolling" type post that one just seems to expect now on a particular and popular, social media platform that only takes and doesn't pay its contributors.

No wonder that so much talent is blossoming from within this community.

@Mountainwashere's Guide for New Users:

Welcome to Steemit! It's got a steep learning curve, but it's worth it in the long run if you keep putting in the time! Just know that it will take quite a while before you start getting attention and followers. The biggest secret to success? Keep posting high quality content regularly, and make sure to search out other people's posts, read them, and give relevant comments.

Tagging is extremely important. Always make sure to use all five possible tags, and to keep them relevant. You can always just tag something "blog" or "photography" or something else really general (so long as it's still relevant) to fill the quota if you need to- most of your tags should be established ones, though one or two less used ones are fine.

Posting more than four times a day can reduce your potential rewards, as well as turning off potential users. (I aim for one post per day most of the time.) Consistency is important, though, so you should try to post often.

Always make sure to attach a photo to your posts! You should also have a finished profile: Write a description, add a profile picture and a banner- neither needs to be a photo of you, necessarily, but you should have something- and set a website.

There are a lot of really good resources out there for plankton and minnows (new users). You should check out the following groups and services, they offer a lot of valuable resources:

@thesteemengine (Check this one out first- they're an extremely supportive group that can help out in a lot of ways.)
@qurator (These guys offer an excellent liftime upvote to accounts that post consistent quality content.)
@steembasicincome (Another lifetime upvote option.)
@steemstem (The biggest and best STEM curation group in the game. If you're interested in writing or reading about science, check these guys out!)
@geopolis (A fairly new science curation group, this one's dedicated to the study of the Earth.)
@ocd (A curation group that seeks out undervalued new writers.)

And, again, the biggest thing is just patience. Breakout successes are incredibly rare on Steemit- you've got to find your way to success through perseverance and hard work. It takes time, but you'll eventually succeed if you put in the work.

Please feel free to repost this guide on the posts of other plankton & minnows you run into!

Welcome to steemit
I will upvote you
Follow me @alfiadi

well after know all about you i welcome you the great community of steemit hope you do like this platform.

Welcome to Steemit! Hope to see some content made specifically for the community here.

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you like this site and keep publishing contents like this one. I'm agree with you about how corporations are ruining the original internet users style, but there's nothing to do :C

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42