You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Light and Darkness, introducing me! (ENG) // Luz y Oscuridad ¡me presento! (ESP)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the Steem Community, @psico! I liked your introduction. I see it's your second one. This time, with English translation. What happened back in May? You forgot about SteemIt?

By the way, even though I can read Spanish fairly easily, I had a lot of trouble with this sentence, and the English Translation is horrible:

« Al que le toca ni que se quite y al que no le toca ni que se ponga»


I've found this Online, which helped me understanding it:

One of my favorite Mexican proverbs is this: Cuando te toca, ni aunque te quites, y cuando no, ni aunque te pongas.

It’s a hard phrase to translate, since much of the meaning is built into the rhythm of the phrase, but a close translation is this: When it’s your turn, it’s your turn, even if you step aside, and when it’s not your turn, even if you stand in front, it’s not your turn.

In English, the phrase comes off as clunky and repetitive, but in Spanish it is a double enthymeme which perfectly captures the understanding of the role of fate and violence in the city. The “turn” which it refers to can be a gift or a punishment, but this phrase is most commonly used to refer to death. “When it’s your turn to die,” it says, “it’s your turn to die, even if you step aside; and when it’s not, even if you try your hardest to die, it’s not your turn to die.”

Source: https://www.nsa.edu/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/ShieldWall-Vol1Num2.pdf


PS: I've found your post after @zorank featured you in his entry for the Pay It forward Contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66433.10
ETH 3607.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69