Introducing Myself... a Big Hello from Portugal!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I have been here for a few months, having joined last year, but I only got active since February this year. I'm taking this opportunity to make my introduction post. (For the second time, since the my first attempt was a big fail - for reasons I won't address here...)


Who Am I...?


I work as a Software Developer and I'm trying to learn По-русски (Russian.) I have been using Duolingo for that, and that's a 100% Free App that I recommend to anyone interested in learning a language.

I love to travel... and I also like cats.

I enjoy living and visiting places that aren't crowded. My experience has shown me that more people usually translates into more problems, more risks... and less hospitality.


What do I like to share?


I usually post photos from my travels... art from artists I like (or that I've just learnt about...) and from time to time, a videoclip - probably a Metal Music video from a lesser known band - 'cause I don't think there's any point in advertising dinosaur names that everybody already knows.


Interest for Art...


I also like art, being specially attracted by Street Art like Graffiti. When they're well done, they're really amazing. You can find great artworks, from Portugal...

IMG_20180331_162536.jpg

... to Amsterdam...

IMG_1261.JPG

... to China:

IMG_20180214_152848_HDR.jpg

The above photos are all my own.


Love for Music...


You can say that Music is my bride. It has always accompanied me and never let me down.

  • Whenever I'm happy, I listen to Music;
  • If I'm down or feeling a bit depressed, I turn to Music to cheer me up;
  • Whenever I go out for a walk, Music will come with me;
  • If I'm going to spend hours stuck inside a plane, a bus or a train... You can bet I'll be listening to some Music...

Metal is not the only thing I listen to, but it's about 85%. I also enjoy Jazz, Soul, World Music, some Fado and some Alternative Rock... but I always return to Metal.

My preferred bands, regardless of the style, have one thing in common: a Female Vocalist. Why? Who knows, for sure? It's a personal taste, I simply prefer to listen to a woman singing... whatever the style might be.

I am crazy enough about Music... to schedule a vacation in Chisinau, Moldova, just to see Infected Rain:

WP_20160513_19_22_25_Pro.jpg

Jinjer has quickly become one of my favourite bands, and I've went to Madrid to see them live... twice! Check them out... and prepare to have your mind blown:

This is me with Steffi Garcia, vocalist from the Spanish band [IN MUTE], after one of their shows:


That's all for now.

PS 1: I have been using two free bot services to add a little more visibility to my posts: @banjo & @cleverbot . There's also @witzbot, but this guy only answers in German. Hopefully, I'll get enough activity on my blog to stop using these bots and free their services so they can help newest members.

PS 2: I have a brother living in Hong Kong who's a photography fan! He joined SteemIt a little later than I did... Please check out his blog, too: @fcdvpds

Sort:  

A great introductory post. I'm definitely going to check out the bands. Also, very good luck on your Russian language quest. Через 6 лет я все еще не очень хорошо говорю по-русски. You and I have already communicated before, but @bengy has featured you in his #payitforward contest entry so congratulations. It's nice to see others finding and following you too. Check out the contest when you have time. All the best.

Thanks for your comment. From that sentence, the only word I had to translate was the first one! I understood the rest of the sentence without a problem! Looks like I'm on the right track! :-D

You'll pick it up in time, I'm sure. There are many Russians in Steemit (trying to get more). I'm sure you could engage with them. You'll learn even more than the language. Also, I'm curious what happened with your rep. If you don't mind talking about it.

Actually, I'm past that... but if you are interested in knowing, please see my post (and comments) from 8 days ago.

I have tried to learn a few languages in the past.

  • French... I hated it (I can't sing while I speak);
  • German... I liked it but the grammar rules and enormous words put me off;
  • Mandarin... I liked it but I honestly couldn't separate the various words when listening to people speaking Mandarin (all I heard was a train of sounds, I had no idea where a word ended and the next began).

Finally, Russian... I'm enjoying it a lot and I think I'm having way more success than with any of the 3 languages I've mentioned. If I listen to Russian music, for instance, I can clearly understand where a word begins and ends, even if I don't know the meaning.

Duolingo has been great so far! :-D

That's awesome! I do much better differentiating words in Spanish than I do in Russian. This is mostly due to the many different endings to words due to conjugation or slang (ichka or inka endings are especially hard for me). I'm glad you're moving forward with some success. One great thing is that everyone in Russia speaks the same Russian unlike British English.

Best of luck and let me know if I can do anything to help on your language journey.

Many thanks for your comment. Another great thing about Russian is that is used in nearly every country in Eastern Europe and some parts of Asia, too.

Yeah, I know what you mean with those endings but they always seem to rhyme with the word preceding them, no?

Welcome to Steemit, Trincowski!

Welcome to Steemit. I love that you are writing about a diverse range of things! I also try to do the same, just whatever catches my fancy!

I have written a little about you here, https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-2-entry. Hopefully, this will go in some part to helping with the reputation problem and help get you back on your feet!

Thanks a lot for your support, @bengy! :-D

No problem! Stay out of trouble!

Welcome to Steemit!

Nice photos of art you got there. I am familiar with Duolingo because at one point I wanted to learn Spanish and Japanese. I didn't got far with it though because I lost interest. I like listening to some songs of Epica. My brother introduced me to them but I don't listen to them all the time, only when I feel like it.

See you around!

Maybe it depends on the Language... but I find Duolingo spectacular to learn Russian!

So far, I'm adoring the experience. I've been using it almost every single day, for almost two years now. My motto is "Slow and Steady Wins the Race!" I only move to the next level when I don't make any mistakes in what I've learnt so far. :-D

That's a good strategy. I easily learn the new term but easily forgets it too. Let's see if I can restart relearning again. I was hoping I can easily learn Spanish because of some similar terms to our language. I guess I wasn't as dedicated then or I was just rushing to learn that's why only a few terms retained.

Приезжай в гости в Москву, я устрою тебе экскурсию😉🌿

That would be amazing! :-D

Olá! Bem-vindo ao Steemit!! Eu também sou Portuguesa. Adorei as fotos com os graffitis, principalmente a primeira. :)

Boa tarde! Esta peça é uma entre várias, do mesmo artista Português. Encontram-se espalhadas por Bragança.

http://www.diariodetrasosmontes.com/entrevista/admiravel-arte-consumada-com-lixo

Além destas, há vários outros graffitis em Bragança. Muita arte para uma cidade tão pequena. E foi uma iniciativa apoiada pela Câmara. Fizeram um excelente trabalho! 😃

http://fleed.pt/cultura/festival-de-street-art-smarte-regressa-a-braganca/

Wooow Está tão fixe! Adoro o graffiti do gato :) Parece uma excelente iniciativa!!

Welcome, again, to Steemit! Dont let the action of one bad person ruin your experience here! Ive had to turn a blind eye a time or two as to not get involved in some of the wars going on here. Theres a couple groups that are trying to fight that, one of them being @friendsofgondor. Have a look, give them a follow and resteem to help them along, if you feel its good. Never let anyone kill your passions though, just stay in your own lane, at least for now! Good luck! :D

Thanks a lot for your words. I'll check out that group and yes, I'll stick my unpopular opinions to myself from now on.

Unpopular to some, sure, but unpopular to most, not at all! Many of us agree with you completely but it is what it is! Just keep on writing about what you love and let the big guys handle the other assholes!

Hi @trincowski.. welcome again here.. wait to see your great posts.. thanks and good luck 👍

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)



I hope what you went through already wont deter you from posting your passions! Keep on steemin on!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64