Hello Steemit, I am Kismet ^^

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

So yeah, Kismet means destiny or fate, I run by that name often cause I feel it suites me quite well the ultimate catalyst; fate. I've had a steemit account for sometime, but never really made use it. I'm not a social influencer, or a blogger or vlogger. But the idea of having ownership of your content in the blockchain appeals to me.

The other day I was looking into steemit again, and somehow ended up in tense debate about the topic "Should girls be allowed to play on boy’s teams?" (In case your wondering, I staunchly defended the concept that team sports should not be gender segregated) Anyway, the debate soon morphed into whether or not women were weaker than men. At some point however I thought it was pointless to continue to participate in the debate, and just tuned out. (Happens a lot on the internet these days... )

Sometime goes by, and then I noticed something. "Author Rewards". Wow! (Don't get too excited now, were talking about < than  0.159 STEEM ). Its not about the "STEEM". Its about "recognition", someone out there must have seen the light, agreed with my points, and upvoted me. And that was supercool. And since I really like crypto, and how it has enabled so many, its really cool that this recognition comes with "Crypto Cookies" if you will. 

So I figured, steemit is perfect for the once in a while poster (which I am). And I get to see content thats less mainstream than my feeds on feedly. And to date, I have found some pretty cool stuff, and hopefully been able to share some myself as well. 

Right then.. so thats pretty much what turned me into a more active steemian. 

So who is Kismet (Tribe9) or whatever you choose to call me. 

Well I'm someone that appreciates the country side, nature in general (clean air, scenic views) just makes me feel better. Found a really cool podcast on the topic the other day Ill share it in another post, so stay tuned.

I also enjoy other things, anything to do with tech, science, scifi, anime, animals, dogs, cats, video games(casually), art. Guess my interests are a little all over the place. Professionally I work in the IT industry, and most of the time I really enjoy doing that, so long as the work culture doesnt spoil it for me. (Some of you techies might be able to relate to this, its when actual constructive tech work is stalled due to office politics).IT assets (Servers, Code, Switches, etc) don't care for politics, and neither do I. And I thought if I was in IT I could get away from it hehehe yeah... guess not.

Interests Summary:

  • Games: RPGs, mmos, MTG, MOBA (PC, Switch, Xbox, PS4)
  • Favorite RPG of all time?: Chrono Trigger!
  • SciFi:(Books/TV/Anime) think Dune, Blade Runner, Battlestar Galactica, Vikings, GoT, etc...
  • Tech: Virtualization, Linux, Python, GO, Mac, Android
  • Sports: Paintball, Scuba, Skateboards
  • Misc: Dog training without the use of force, or harming them.
  • Music? Almost anything that sounds good to me! Have a soft spot for really good acoustic guitar songs.

Despite that I also appreciate reading, not just kindle mind you, no... actual books. Sometimes about actual important issues, historical events, or just scifi, or tech related books. 

I've got a native command of 3 languages, have lived or worked in many parts of the world...at some point I've lost track. And that's great, cause you're understanding of life, humans, the world, and your own life philosophy has a chance to grow a lot this way, should you choose to allow it. Plus cultural diversity makes for a lot of funny moments, and in some cases miserable ones too. But hey, life tends to be a bit of sweet and sour anyway.

Often I catch myself questioning concepts or ideals, and ask "Why?, Says who? How was this determined?, Why do we still believe this today?" I suppose in short you could say I'm inquisitive, and I try to the best of my ability to discourage "blind follow" behavior, and encourage independent thought. 

I also find anthropology interesting, come to think of it, I think I chose the wrong career, I should have gone for a Phd and taught in college. But hey... who knows.. maybe Ill still do that one day.

Alrighty then, that was a lot more than I thought I'd post, hope your still awake, and I wish you a great day. "N'Keep Steemin" (TM) =p



Sort:  

funny that you've been joining since may but create your introduction now. but anyway welcome to steemit and enjoy your journey.

Well its actually May 2017, at the time I was deep diving the crytpo sphere. I was interested in how steem worked so signed up. Never got round to posting anything though. Heheh, these days however I seem to have more time on my hands again.

Thanks for stopping by =)

and I ope you will find some interesting community here on Steemit, since you like Games and I think you already know about steemmonsters, so .. let's broaden your engagement experience ;) I featured you in the pay it forward contest this week and get ready... here is the link to my entry if you wanna know
Entry For Pay It Forward Curation Contest : Week 25

Yeah I do, in fact I discovered it here in steemit. I hope to see more well developed ccgs on the block chain.

Thanks for featuring me, think I could suggest someone as well. I'll probably get to it once I'm at a pc again.

Oohh I will be glad to see your entry too😉 that's the way we support and grow together, take your time.. if you missed out this week, you can participate next week.


Welcome to Steemit @tribe9!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Why in the introduce yourself tag??

The #introduceyourself tag is used to introduce yourself to the community. Or at least that is my understanding of it.

While its true my account was created in May 2017, I have never posted a #introduceyourself post.
And if you check my feed, you will see my 1st post was about a month ago.

So in essence, I'm new to steemit. And since I havent introduced myself before, I have now, with this post, for the first time - ever. Hopefully this will allow me to connect with some other steemit users, and get a better feel for the community.

But maybe I missed something, and perhaps you could shed some light on what that was.

Its just a way different Whats normal here , but its Free platform. But I See My friend @cicisaja asked the Same question, so My thoughts are shared ! I wish you well and maybe look into Steemify and Partiko too. And join @pifc
Pay it forward contest account
I wish you luck and dont dissapear again😂

Better late than never eh? Reading up on the rules, and learning new things about Steemit in the process. Might not be able to submit 2 bloggers, wasnt clear to me if it had to be 2 or if one is fine. But also the rep score thing threw me off a bit. But now I also know what that number besides peoples names means hehe. Despite being a techy, sometimes I experience "brain fog". But ill catch up in no time.

If you post once a day that awsome but hard. And the rep thing I dont know,I always cheque the entry date . But do your own thing Thats the best advice. AND NEVER GIVE YOUR PASSWORDS OUT
Let me know if you need more info

Will do =) Thanks for the offer.

AND NEVER GIVE YOUR PASSWORDS OUT

Thats good advice =)

Yes one off the other accounts off an early steemian surfermarly was hacked last monday took alot off her money !! So never gove up those its not nesseccary , we Will keep in touch

This was the second time this happened to her...she is not the brightest person...;)

Well @brittandjosie I decided to focus on security first. Every new steem user will eventually run into 3rd party steemit apps, browser extensions, or games. The first one I ran into was "SteemConnect" but I did not share my keys yet. Cause I wanted to understand it first, before I hand over control not understanding what kind of control over my account I'm giving away.

And in that process, I decided to document my journey, in hopes that I can share what I learned with others that are new to Steem, so they dont lose their funds or get hacked.

So in a sense, you inspired me to write this post.

https://steemit.com/steem/@tribe9/steemit-101-your-steemit-master-password-keys-public-and-private

Have a look, maybe if you feel its good content, you can share it with others.

Hai welcome to steemit, i'm happy you here

Posted using Partiko Android

Well that certainly is a warm welcome, thank you ^^ I'm happy to be here too.


Welcome to Steem @tribe9.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Great introduction post, @tribe9. I hope you will be happy here.

PS: I have found your post because @cicisaja featured you in her entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Hello minnows 😉 thank you for your support

Oh that's really cool, think Ill participate in that too. Gotta keep the "Pay it forward" chain going. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

Hello welcome to steemit brother, i hope you are succed

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey there galon, thanks =)

Hallo newbie how are you today?
And welcome to steemit application.
Enjoy

Posted using Partiko Android

Slight headache, day off tomorrow, I'd say I'm doing alright =)

Welcome,my friend!
Best of luck!
Keep going!!

Hey there, thanks for the words of encouragement don't really know where I'm gonna take my steemit blog, but I'm sure eventually I'll figure out something that work. =)

You got some cool photos on your blog btw =)

Just work with it and u will succeed!
And,thank you!😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67