Introducing myself

Hi all,

I have created my Steemit account to find out what all the hub-bub is about. I have ideas on what I could chat about, but part of me figures it will just be time wasted; time which would be better spent doing some other activity which has some secondary benefit. Like, if I mow the lawn I complete an activity, I get some exercise and I feel good when it's all done. I can't help but think that typing words for the sake of typing them has little benefit.

That said, I think it can be therapeutic to journal and I continue to journal from time to time. It occurs to me that sharing these thoughts as unorganized as they may be, could be of benefit to others but maybe I can better touch people one on one.

So I have shared my reservation about time and benefit, now about fear. I am reluctant to provide my photo, primarily because I don't know how this blogging may develop. I also fear sharing thoughts and feelings which will ultimately be criticized. I don't need for everyone to agree with me, but I fear getting my feelings hurt. That sounds silly as I say it. A bit childish actually. I am over 50 years old and a rather large man so it seems funny that I would concern myself with such a juvenile feeling. But it is what it is. It's part of what makes me who I am .

I have two primary topics I expect I will explore, one of which is personal security as it relates to technology, credit and the like and the second topic would be relating to my struggle with obesity.


July, 2014

Obese ... ya, not "plump" or "big boned" or "got a few extra pounds" but obese. I have struggled with it since High School and until the past year or so, it was winning. I maxed out at about 410 pounds. Since about June 2016, I have been going to the gym 3-4 times a week and walking on a treadmill 2-3 times a week. This has resulted in a loss of just over 60 pounds. It's an awesome achievement for which I am very happy.

For about the past couple months, my weight loss has flat-lined. I continue my workouts but have done little to change eating habits. I know that is next on my journey but it represents the part of which involves the most resistance. I continue to make small changes but something more substantial is going to have to happen. To this point, I have only made changes which I am confident I can maintain long term. I have accepted these changes and have made them part of who I am. Now, as I move to this next phase and I consider the necessary diet changes I am just digging in my heels. I have some hesitation to make wide sweeping changes; in part because I don't believe I can sustain them. I must say however, that I am surprising myself with my physical abilities (I attended a "boot camp" workout event last weekend which kicked my ass, in a good way!). I will get the strength to make dietary changes I'm just not sure how yet.

Untitled-1.jpg
Data above compliments of my scales which I received last Christmas.

This week I have been struggling to keep my weight under 350. It's on my mind. I went below 350 on July 18 of this year and my lowest weight has been 343 ... I was back up to 347 today which is movement in the wrong direction. Surprisingly, I am not frustrated, just concerned. Tonight is a gym night and I will give it everything I've got again tonight.

So there it is. The first of ?? posts.

Be well.

Tom

Sort:  

Hello, @Tommyeffer, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Welcome here on Steemit. I hope you will enjoy your stay with us. Already nice pictures. Thank you!

hey mate welcome I'm new today as well good luck with the weight loss :)

I would like to wish you a warm welcome to the Steemit Community. I look forward to your posts and interacting as we build this community together. A useful tip to help you get some tools on Steemit can be found at https://steemfollower.com/?r=405. You can also have a look at some of my posts @inshanmeahjohn where I share on some interesting places that I have travelled to, motivational advice and some interesting food that I have been lucky to try.

welcome to steemit @tommyeffer
following you now :D
follow me back pls .)

I am so glad you joined. I think $TEEM going to be BIG! AND WOW, what a great introduction, very well written and deeply personal. You are a beautiful man both inside and out! I love you! }{ }{
p.s. Check your wallet. I sent you a welcome gift! 💰

}{ }{ Thanks.

Welcome I like your post, congratulations on your weight loss journey wish u d best @tommyeffer. here is my introduce myself post https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@cwen/53ttwq-introduce-yourself welcome and have fun!

Thank you @cwen. I am heading over to read about you now :-)

Congratulations @tommyeffer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey ! Welcome to Steemit, I hope you will have lots of fun interacting with the community. Have a great time, I have upvoted your post n do follow me @manish22rai ....Cheers !!

Little Secret: This Steemian follows you right back after you follow him :D

Thank you @manish22rai! Consider yourself Followed :-)

Followed back, do check out my posts n upvote & comment if you like them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53