Introduction of Timsnaj, anonymity is a blessing!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit,

What brings me here

After spending two weeks exploring Steemit and commenting on others whom have written blogs, I am ready to start blogging myself in an effort to share knowledge, open discussion and help maintaining the high quality of blogs on Steemit.  I used to be a very active Quora user, but the policy increase regarding censorship has driven me away. Steemit looks like a perfect replacement! :)

Who I am

I am a 21 year old student at a technical university in the Netherlands, which really is all I want to share about who I am in real life, I explain this in the next heading. I try to arrange my life in a way that makes me the happiest I can be, without impeding other's lives. I always try to make rational decisions, while trying to take ethics and morals into account. I'm a huge fan of utilitarianism.

Anonymity

Anonymity is a blessing, it removes the barriers to write down what you truly think. Most of the things you write on internet (especially social media) are permanent which can have direct consequences. In itself there is nothing wrong about your writings being permanent accessible, the past is the past and nobody is perfect. The fact however is, it can backfire on you, tons of examples can be found globally. Or think about employers checking your social media feed before hiring you. 

I believe being anonymous does not take away credibility of one's writing. You shouldn't believe anything somebody says just because it is 'him/her', always analyze somebody's arguments and deduct for yourself whether you see it as right or wrong. Besides, everyone still has a personal account, we just don't truly know who he/she is in real life. But isn't that part of the reason why many of us are interested in cryptocurrencies?

Steemit allows me to express myself truthfully, which is what you can expect from me in my future blogs, comments and replies. 

 

My interests

I have a very broad area of interests about which I read daily, especially here on Steemit, I will mention a couple:

  • Cryptocurrency (Obviously... I also invest in it. I am considering writing blogs about investing theories (e.g. Elliot Wave theory) and perhaps doing future analyses on certain coins that interest me. But I'm not sure I am comfortable with that, because even though I will give arguments, it remains speculation.)
  • Politics (I followed the U.S. presidential election very actively, and also follow the politics of my own country on a daily basis.)
  • Psychology (Body language, why do people react in the way they do, how to detect lies and figure out the truth, how to manipulate people, etc.)
  • Philosophy (Major fan of games, theories and concepts. Spending my leisure time in philosophy really increased my ability to look at problems from various perspectives, as well as understanding actions from others better.)
  • Statistics/Mathematics (I am doing something with it almost on a daily basis, as I get taught in it which I like as it increases my reasoning abilities. Statistics and mathematics has a major influence on all our lives on a daily basis, but it is important you understand it well. Statistical manipulation is a common thing (e.g. Apple does it), affecting us all.)
  • Science in general (Isn't it amazing how much our way of living has changed compared to how our parents lived? How quick technology is expanding... It's fascinating!) 
  • And many more topics... :)

What you can expect from me

I want to write about subjects that interest me and at the time of writing are relevant/current. I will make a real effort in writing articles/blogs that are supported by science/sources whenever possible, else I will clearly state it is my opinion and most likely based on my own experiences. 

If I follow you, you probably write about subjects that I find interesting and you can expect me to comment whenever I disagree with you, or when I feel like I can help you by shining a different perspective on the subject. Usually this leads to a discussion, which is what I love as we are helping each other then.

Some examples of comments during my two weeks exploring:

Ending

Perception is everything. Therefore I am a huge supporter of  discussions/arguing/debating. I do not take any comment/criticism personal, as I consider it your way of helping me increase my perspective/knowledge for which I am very grateful in advance! You can expect the same from me in return. ^.^


With love,

Timsnaj

Sort:  

Hello @timsnaj, welcome to steemit and have fun!
if you want follow me and i will follow you back,
Peace ;)

Thank you! And done ^^

You will like it posting in this platform; here a sample of one of mine from the past.

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/family-trip-adventures-but-ongoing-environmental-contamination-right-under-our-noses-so-powerful-even-governments-cannot-stop-it

If you find it interesting please click on the FOLLOW and lets exchange comments in the future. Very much rewarding.

Good luck,
@indepthstory

Not my kind of article to be blunt honest with you, but you put a lot of effort in writing it and supplying the pictures. Upvoted for those reasons :)

I always do the same :P
Welcome by the way

txs chief...rgds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62