The Fear of Revealing Myself

I regularly meet with a therapist. This shouldn't surprise anyone, many folks do this in today's disconnected world.

But I'm a combat veteran with PTSD. And the PTSD, oddly, doesn't come from any of my experiences overseas. And my therapist is a former Navy officer turned pastor/man of God. And I've got him swearing during our sessions. So I'm pretty proud of that.

Oh, you don't know anything about me. Whoops.

So my name is Bob Abbott, I'm a goofball, love to entertain people and put a smile on their face. I'm also struggling with depression and have been for decades. It seems that my goofy actor persona is simply a long stick to keep people away.

I'm writing for two reasons: maybe one of you struggles with the same dilemmas, and because my therapist told me to. Well, he ordered me to, really. And I follow orders.

When I was 2 years old my mother died from cancer (F CANCER!). I have three older brothers who would torture me, and an emotionally distant father who was working all the time. But I had my grandparents who I saw all the time, and they instilled in me the concepts of love, joy, and being good.

Then, when I was 12 years old, I moved from the little town I grew up in that had all my friends to East San Jose. Gone was the neighborhoods filled with kids happily riding bikes and playing basketball, replaced by hoodrats and gang fights.

That, my therapist and I discovered, was when I lost my joy. That was when I put on the mask and started going through the motions.

Flash forward 30 years and I'm a father, husband, and actor. I have a wealth of experience in my resume, but due to some medical issues exacerbated by the military, I'm effectively retired. So I act, and goof, and have fun with people.

But, in all my acting experience, I cannot smile naturally on stage. I have problems emoting joy.

So the discussion with the therapist went deeper, and it appears that because I had to hide myself from others after the move, lest I get the shit beat out of me, I shoved all my emotions way deep down. I accepted my fate, that I somehow "deserved it", and just shuffled through life.

Oh sure, I had fun times. But it is hard for me to look back at the fun times and characterize myself as "joyful". I laughed, played, and loved....but joy is an emotion that seemed to escape me. I glimpsed joy at the birth of each of my children. I glimpsed joy after marrying my wife. I glimpsed it passing through me, but it never would stop and dwell in me.

Thus, the writing. My therapist told me that paradoxically, letting others get to know the real me would unlock my ability to feel joy. Seems a little hocus-pocusy, but I might as well give it a go, right?

So get ready folks. I'm about to be that goofy ass oversharing guy at the bar. I start off all funny and witty with the first couple beers, but in a bit I'll be proselytizing about the Celtic gods and their views on redemption. Ironically, the Morrigan is my god of choice, perhaps because She is the chooser of the slain, perhaps because She is the Goddess of Fate. But that's a segue.

I love feedback. Comments are great. And I'll continue to pontificate here, in hopes of revealing myself and finding joy again.

Sort:  

This was an amazing and candid read. i hope you continue to share your story and well progress further after awhile! Looking forward to read more!

I am new and have not made my 'intro' post yet. I was wondering about it, what should I say and, just as important, what should I not say.

I then saw your (this post) and thought, for it to be resteemed, it must be well written.

Well, so much for that! What an overwhelming post!

I think I will have to become my own example (write and then use it as an inspiring catalyst?) Nope, I haven't got it in me to write this twice over.

Think of this: There is one man I'm certain you admire, whose father never visited him, gave him up for adoption to some poor hard working yahoo, and even refused to talk to him when he was dying. He didn't have one therapist like you, he had thirteen - the one of them was a real sneaky guy who sold his life story to the equivalent of FaceBk. Yup, I'm talking about Jesus. He didn't quite come out okay (getting crucified by some prototype Antifa is not okay), but he made it to superstar status; So, maybe you too can make it?

I hope I'll be coming across some of your posts. I'll do a follow, just in case it helps.

Congratulations @thebobabbott! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

How are you? Thebobabbott, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Nice to meet you, @thebobabbott! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

This is supercool! @thebobabbott Thanks! Followed...

Congratulations @thebobabbott! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit. This is a really good platform. You’re going to love it here. Do checkout the Steemit.chat, you’ll find all the help you need over there.

Very interesting! I saw that you have been on here for some time so thanks for the intro, it's been an intresting read. Have one upvote on the house and bring on the next one!
As you are new to steemit, getting those big upvotes are gonna be hard so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have more info on my experience with the system in this post where I explain how I earn over $1 a day from upvotes.

Congratulations @thebobabbott! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50