Oh the places you'll go!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

 Long, long ago, there was this girl who was suicidal. Who knew why, or if it even made sense- she had a loving family, lived in the suburbs, had never known poverty or hunger, or abuse. Do these things ever have to make sense? That girl had no idea that she would grow up to do some badass things. Spend months at a time in amazing places. Here are some of them... 

 3 Weeks in Florida 

My husband and I spent time in Orlando with the in-laws, then slowly worked our way down the eastern coast of Florida down to the Keys. We had $10 left in our bank account when we got home, and immediately spent that on lunch, but I was a server and worked the next day, so it was ok.

Burning Man

There are only two reactions when I explain that we did this for our honeymoon- pure disgust or pure wonder. I will always remember it with wonder (and maybe a little disgust, considering all the places I was finding sand after we got home...). In the image above, the bonfire made from "the man" is still burning in the background, 24 hours later. 

Arkansas

My husband, my brother in law, and my new sister in law spent a few days camping and road tripping in Arkansas. It was gorgeous- occasionally it seemed like an alien planet. Few road signs, and the cicadas were bright blue and orange and liked to kamakazi us as we sat around the fire. 

Month-long tour of the east coast

Mostly, I discovered that I am not an east coast girl. Detroit was like a third world country, I took us almost 6 hours the wrong way toward Canada, and many of the quests to find parking ended in tears or with glass bottles thrown at us. However, I will not forget how the Broadway production of Phantom of the Opera drove me literally to tears because of its beauty. The stars on the island of Roanoke were the closest I have ever come to magic. My grandmother showed me pictures of her and my grandfather, and in every picture they were laughing. A good friend had committed suicide just a few months before, but the world kept turning and showing me that love still had power. 

The great sand dunes

The juxtaposition of mountain and sand looked like a movie set. I wasn't sure that anything would ever be right in the world again, but they reminded me that wonder would always exist.

Aspen

Aspens grow in the space left after an avalanche has demolished all other life. There's probably a metaphor in there somewhere.

California

My husband and I only had a week, and we wanted to see and do everything. This was the first short vacation we ever took, and it was way over planned. We were constantly on the move. The redwood forest felt like a Star Wars set. The sea lions were loud and almost human the way the young ones woke up the older ones because they wanted to play. 

"Sometimes I think we live through things only to be able to say that it happened. That it wasn't to someone else, it was to me. Sometimes we live to beat the odds" -"The Jacket"


All photos are property of the author
Sort:  

Welcome! Please consider checking out minnowsupportproject.com and @minnowsupport. It is a great community of individuals that will help you get started and can answer all of your questions.

I will check it out, thank you!

Welcome to the Steemit Community, Sunravelme:) Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me at @khunfarang

Thank you @khunfarang! I will follow you if you follow me :)

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts
Even better: If your reputation is lower than 28 re-steeming only costs 0.001 SBD!
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.

Welcome and I hope you can find some comfort here.
Stay positive and look on the brighter side.
Sending you some sunshine.

Xxx

Thank you sunnylife! Following you :)

Followed back! Stay happy ok😁😀

Hello and welcome to Steemit family and our ever-growing platform. You have made a great decision by joining us and helping us to create decentralized entity that will change the way social media and other business models work in the future. I would like to help you out in your early days by using my steem power to upvote your first few posts. Simply follow my account and tag me by @czechglobalhosts in your posts and I will make sure to read your post and upvote you! Good luck and steem on! Tomas

Thank you Tomas! Following you!

Interesting introduction! Welcome to steemit! Follow you!

Thank you for the follow! Following you and upvoting a few posts- looking forward to seeing more!

Hi and welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @Fshllc

Thank you! I appreciate your offer and I'll keep it in mind as I explore. Followed and upvoted some of your posts!

Welcome to Steemit! sunravelme, Upvote & Follow is ou great strength.
Let's try to get along.

Thank you! Followed you back!

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good day and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62946.22
ETH 3453.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50