Introduction: Open Up to the World!!!

Hello all,

My name is Daniel Stover, and I am chronically ignorant of that sweet spot between culture and technology.

The First Step

I still remember when I realized I had a problem. I was in my early thirties. I had no mobile phone. That was approximately 5 years beyond the point where every living soul I knew did have one, even mom and dad. I reveled in this. It felt like I had a special knowledge. I felt like the only member of THE religion that had REALLY figured it all out.

Then, I moved to France. My hosts insisted that a mobile phone was absolutely, completely necessary in about every way. On a list of priorities, it would be at most just slightly behind having a kitchen sink, and they were right. They were right.

Clermont-Ferrand, France: You may know it as the birthplace of Michelin. I know it as where lies the lair of Saruman-of-Many-Colors.

In that moment, my special status in my one-man religion fell in on itself. In that moment, I had become that kid on a hot, summer day who has just dropped 2-scoops of fresh, dreamy ice cream on the sizzling pavement. Pouting wistfully as that dazzling creation became nothing more than a swimming pool for ants...

I am still the guy that will download a new app precisely when somebody important to me unequivocally demands that I do so in order to have communication rights. So you will forgive me that I only recently figured out how much of a thing Youtube channels are…

Converted in the Light of Youtube

And I loved it… These Youtubers were people that could have been my colleagues or someone I would meet at a café! Then, I found out about Patreon, and I loved it, too. We could directly fund the creators! My curiosity about how we can support our much admired, independent content creators eventually brought me to Steemit.

I am here to to support others. I am looking for creators that are putting out good content on crypto-currencies, on contrarian but rational analyses of politics and culture, on tech trends, or that just make me laugh. I hope to help build my favorite creator’s mini-communities by contributing to a vibrant comment section. Finally, I have a project I want to share here.

And that is how I hope to develop myself...

I want to improve my writing skills, and my inner nerd is feeling neglected. The project is to document a personal experiment: “100 Days to Cybersecurity Literacy.” I am hoping it will be useful to someone wanting to go from close to zero knowledge to having a sense of cybersecurity macro issues and some specific technical knowledge. Here is Day Zero, where I explain helpful pre-requisites and the directions of the experiment. Please come with me on this journey!

A Journey of 10-Meters Starts with Getting Out of the Chair

"Hey! My webcam does stuff other than make Skype work!"

I have been a disaffected punk rock kid, a hippy spiritual seeker, a mathematics student, a bartender, an educator, an expatriate… I reserve the right to return to any of these roles as desire and circumstance suggest. I am currently in the middle of a career change. I may write about some aspects of these parts of my life whenever I think there might be something of interest to others.

I wish you all the best!!! Thanks!

Sort:  

😁Hello welcome to Steemit!!

Welcome on steemit, @stover.daniel!

I was also somewhat resistive of smartphones. And I still don't really see the need to get a new one every other year - at least for those insane high prices! Sometimes it's good to put the phone away for a while anyways :D.

Cheers!

I know, right?

I feel like I am catching up though. A couple of months ago I had my first Whatsapp conversation. Thanks for the reply!

Oh man - it goes fast. Once you have that thing, you don't wanna give it away. I also noticed this with my parents. They are so active on whatsapp now - and it's not even the "kids" playing with their phones at the dinner table ;)

Welcome to the community! Glad to meet you!

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

JOIN SLACK COMMUNITY WHERE WE SUPPORT EACH OTHER
👉 CLICK HERE

Thank you

 

Welcome to steemit, @stover.daniel
saisei2.png

Welcome to Steemit!

I have to confess that I am somewhat of a Luddite, in many ways. I was the last person on the block to have a DVD player, the last person to have a cell phone and I only just went from an old-fashioned Nokia flip phone to a smartphone last month.

Anyway, I hope you'll enjoy the community-- it really is a remarkable "social experiment" in its own right-- truly global and very supportive. It does take a little time and effort to get established and build a following... but have patience, it's worth the effort!

Thanks!

I expect to be commenting on your posts in the future. They have the tone that provokes thought for me. For example, your "willful ignorance" post definitely struck a chord.

Many have commented that there has ALWAYS been a strong anti-intellectuel tendency in the States. But is this growing throughout the world? A scary thought if so.

Daniel, omg. I seriously crack up at your intro. I may end up curating it for content. You may be a good guinea pig for me to use on first impression video for work I do. I can only imagine your response. I still can't figure out why my votes count as .00 and how to fix it! I'm going to make sure my Steembud @the-ego-is-you reads your intro. I think he'll get a kick out of it.

Thanks! I will go check out his page, too.

Bienvenu sur Steemit!!

Welcome on Steemit I am new also approaching one week on here and loving the sense of community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55