My First Two Weeks On Steemit - Part 2 (Boat Party/Skarra Mucci Live in Bangkok)

Hello everyone!

I'm going to continue my story from from 2 weekends ago, skip the weekday, because that was all full of rest and recovery from hangovers and exhaustion, and continue to this past weekend where me and my friends had organized a boat party and performed before a Reggae and Dancehall legend, Skarra Mucci!

Yes! Count that! I had 2 parties to DJ back to back this past Saturday! It was loads of fun, and there are a lot of pictures to share with you, so hold on to your seats and I'll take you on my voyage!

24956694_10154999508472793_715946831_o.jpg
My friend Tom aka DJ Home of Vibe Sound System (UK).

24946423_10154999534962793_1778382963_o.jpg
The party boat! (Normally a dinner boat, but we remove some tables and make it a party boat).

So as I mentioned in my previous post, this is our 5th boat party we had together. The 1st being in a beach town, Pattaya, about a 3 hour drive from Bangkok, in a yacht, but we were too exhausted. The 2nd boat was closer in town of Bangkok on the famous Chao Phraya river, a much cheaper and convenient option, and it is here where we kept our parties constant (for the meantime). The 3rd boat is where the numbers in attendance of our good supporters and music lovers. We were only allowed 45 on board and we had 60! The 4th boat, we reached a capacity of 70+ and the boat was sinking! The captain said we had to move to the bigger boat, which was a far better option! So much more room to move around and manage drink ticket sales, and we had better speakers! We had sub woofers!

16406791_10154159341867793_2282476078939767973_n.jpg
With Klynton aka Digital Bandit of Vibe Sound System (UK), the organizer of the Sunset Vibes boat parties.

So we're on the 5th installment of the Sunset Vibes boat party, and this time we had 90+ people on board. The numbers are growing, and mostly organically, by word of mouth. The weather was great, people started to arrive at the last minute, as usual, but we were all in good spirits! DJ Home started to play some easy Roots Reggae tunes and people were starting to drink and dance.

It came to sunset and it was time for me to get on the decks to rock the crowd! Every time I do one of these boat parties, I try to play a different heavy bass driven genre (Jungle, Dubstep, Dancehall) each time. This time, I decided to play some bass-heavy electronic Hip Hop like 20syl.
The crowd loved it! They were dancing and rapping along to the more popular songs. A few people came over to tell me I did a good set, and "Thank you for playing Hip Hop!"

24313131_10159642526915084_1147885942559256229_o.jpg
Check out some short videos during my set here and here.

22049868_10154827168802793_5504054345243980952_n.jpg
With U-Key, our usual emcee (unavailable for Sunset Vibes #5)

So the night went on with our guest, DJ Oz from flying in from the UK, playing some Drum and Bass. People were getting more drunk and drunkerer. Vibes were nice, and the boat made a short detour to pick up another surprise guest, the Dancehall President, Skarra Mucci! He got on decks and toasted the mic a little bit, a really humbling experience, and he got me dancing so much, to the demise of my alcohol-riddled brain.

24992865_10154999534952793_1550480375_o.jpg
Skarra Mucci on deck!

21752386_10154834793702793_2776336971409407964_n.jpg
The core Sunset Vibes crew, including DJs, emcee, chef, and friends.

We arrived back to the dock where we picked up Skarra Mucci, and it was my stop as well, because I was also supposed to open up for him at The Overstay. The opening band were Jonathan and Calvin, a local Reggae, and Raggamuffin group consisting of a live beat-maker, a drummer, and my friend Judean Kong, the emcee. Also featured was Tony Rankin, and expat Reggae singer, now based in Pattaya, Thailand, and also U-Key, who was missing from the boat (wearing a face mask because he wasn't feeling well). U-Key was also DJing after me.

24302166_1417255591733599_6840509133917133684_o.jpg
Opening up the dance floor at The Overstay

Next, after a few more DJs played some tunes, it was the moment we had all been waiting for, Skarra Mucci's performance!
His DJ, a French national, Selecta Inity, was a very nice and humble guy, and he brought the energy for Skarra to bring the energy to us! I was so wasted already, but I was standing in the front and shouting out the lyrics, maybe I annoyed him a little :p

24785253_1417235501735608_7876461837051507882_o.jpg
Skarra Mucci doing his thing! Spot me in the red cap!

24956752_10154999534327793_1777209956_o.jpg
The Dancehall President. Much respect!

It was a very looooong but eventful day. So much fun, and being able to connect with everyone is definitely priceless. It's these people that I meet, that assures me that anywhere in the world, I can have a roof over my head, if I looked far enough. I live a little bit outside of the city, so being able to see familiar faces at our events is really a treasure for me. I look forward to the next boat party, but tomorrow, if you're in town, we have a party planned with some of the Sunset Vibes DJs at Whiteline in Silom.

24785111_921103338065646_1558288924170121187_o.jpg
Tomorrow night! Come through!

So, to summarize, as I have been going through Steemit these past two weeks, I initially wanted to make this a travel blog about my experiences in Thailand as a barista, a teacher, and a DJ, but then I realized that there is so much more I can write about and share, such as the Steemit #recordpool Song of the Day, and the exciting events that happen ever so often. I look forward to sharing more stories with you, and I hope you can help support, follow, upvote, comment, and whatever you have to do. I promise to do the same!

Part 2 of my Adventures in Thailand continues tomorrow, so stay tuned!

One Love always!

Sort:  

Also check out luca1777 on SoundCloud and miccloud is also a master of sound ...reggae vipes! But he isn’t here on steemit right now

And this here just because sound is everything like tesla said! Frequencies everywhere! Steeeeem on

Welcome to steemit @stickykeys. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

Hi, thank you! Will follow your advice! Much appreciated!

Welcome here on steemit!
Niiiice!
Finally somebody for dancehall!
Here, on steemit are many contest also for musicians. Will resteem your introduceyourself post! Steem on-OneLove!

Hi there! Yes I play Dancehall music and all the other genres that fall under the Reggae category! Let me know about the contests for musicians, I've seen a few producing challenges, along with the #recordpool my friends organize, link me up for any others, please! Thanks for the resteem!

Thanks for mentioning @akashas and hi Mr. DJ @stickykey - nice to meet you!

Live in flagranti erwischt..;-) joa, der jung klingt gut und hat nach Gleichgesinnten gefragt...! War grad online...hat gepasst! ;-) Hugs to you fellaz! OneLove

@uwelang nice to meet you too!

Much love sister! You rock!

Ask if you have question. I will follow and check out if you need support ;-) more mixes now please! OneLoveBro!

@akashas Yes! Please check out these mixes! The 'In Dub We Trust' ones are obviously the reggae inspired mixes, a few from my live sets ;)
https://www.mixcloud.com/sticky-keys/

That’s such a fun story! Makes me think of all our parties in Bali and SE Asia past years.
Welcome to the Spaceplace called Steemit 👯‍♀️👯‍♀️

Hey thanks so much! Are you still based in Bali? Do you know Soundbwoy Dodix or Strictly Blazin?

I relocated back to Europe after 16 years in Bali. I remeber his name popping up and I think I saw Blazin playing at Karma Beach one time. We did events there since 2005. Brought in Mos Def but mostly Techno and much more :) had a Pop up venue there for 2 years called warehouse82

Respect! Are you throwing parties in Europe now?

I „retired“ the moment the music biz started to shake. It’s been many years, over 35! And now cryptospace me :)

My souls from @OriginalWorks check this beautiful post! Please push it a bit...! This would be helpfully! Hugs

Much appreciated!

You can use this tag by comments sometimes the take a look and Upvote...wait and see...;-)

This wonderful post has received a @stickykeys 19.61% upvote from @hellowhale. Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/XG4y3mg Be sure to vote for witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68539.09
ETH 3904.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62