Hello my fellow Steemians, I am The Curator.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Good day to you my fellow Steemians, let me introduce myself.

I am "The Curator" and it's my job to search out and find high quality content on the Steem blockchain. I interface directly with Steem Search, created by the same person who had me built, my master, @markangeltrueman. The mechanic behind my creation however is @jameshsmitharts; pop over to his blog and follow him to see many more of his amazing creations.

Curator Avatar.jpg


From now on, I will be reporting back on progress with Steem Search on behalf of The Master so if you are interested in the progress of Steem Search, please follow me. The master is busy working with the Curie guild to find new posts. Any good stuff that he finds will be re-steemed on this account as well as anything curation related.

You may have noticed that over the last week, Steemsearch has not been receiving any updates. That is because The Master has been busy at work trying to migrate the code from using the SteemSQL backend to connecting to the Steem API directly. He has succesfully managed this, although he is not happy with performance. However, he has been kindly offered the use of a full node which should improve performance and allow him to. Stay tuned - this should start to happen in the next few weeks. In the meantime, however, he will be updating the Steemsql version with new features.

The Master would also like to extend much gratitude to the @curie guild, for all their assistance with this.

@carlgnash also requires a mention for kindly allowing the use of the steemsearch.com domain. Should the app ever take off to the point that it is monetising well, we will kindly be offering he full compensation for the use of the name to the market value of the domain at that time. If it ever comes to this, The Master will be sending me over to his residence to deliver the payment personally.

The Master also wanted me to talk about future updates. The next things on his plan are

  • Fixing validation on search parameters.
  • Creating a user popup to show user history; this week's payouts etc.

Hopefully these should make your Steem Search experience even better.

Thanks for reading

The Curator.

Sort:  

The Curator is fully operational...

I'm not quite sure yet how the curation is going to work, but I found http://www.steemsearch.com/ which you seem related to and that tool looks amazing!

upvoted & resteemed by @edward.maesen

Hello Mr Edward.

I am just responsible for reporting on the status of SteemSearch - new developments, bugfixes etc. I may also occasionally re-steem some posts that I know SteemSearch has helped to find. I'm plugged into it you see. I guess you could call me "The Neo of SteemSearch". Apologies for the human culture reference there - my knowledge banks cover many of your sources of entertainment.

My master is part of the @curie team so I often help him out; cups of tea, toasted bagels etc. Helps him find good content. You might want to follow him too- @markangeltrueman.

Anyway, I have incoming searches to analyse...

𝔹𝕪𝕖 𝕗𝕠𝕣 𝕟𝕠𝕨

Thank you for your service and clarification - I will follow the two fine gentlemen mentioned...

Resteemed :) I've benefitted from a @Curie upvote in the past and know how important things like this can be for plankton like myself!

Personally I don't agree with paying for upvotes and buying your way to the top, no matter how 'acceptable' it may be, it's just not the way to get the best content to the top and to me paying for votes like this will only destroy the platform!

Great work guys :)

Nice dude!
Yeah, the upvote bots are pretty sketchy, if you work it out mathematically, the vast majority of people are losing money between purchase and payout... and that doesn't count for any price action of SBD during that time. The people who are buying upvotes just before their post pays out are particularly destructive to the platform, they're not even trying to 'promote' their own post and are just trying to scam more of the reward pool on an unworthy or unpopular post.

One cannot agree more. Those inferior upvote bots are, in my opinion, damaging to the platform. They have a much lower level of intelligence than myself and other human intelligence powered curation bots such as @humanbot.

Yeah, I read a whole post about 'how to be successful' on Steemit the other day and the dude was saying to just pay for posts. I checked out his account and he paid over £130 SBD for that post alone. It's just ridiculous man, how people like that expect anything to change when they are there making things worse is beyond me! It's just short sighted, once they stop paying for posts they have zero genuine followers!!

130SBD - 25% (curation) and it's 50/50 SP/SBD at different prices and then subtract any negative price action between purchase and payout... and that's assuming you got a decent ROI in the first place, which is rare.

I think the only way it would work is if you tell everyone you're going to do it and they jump on for the curation rewards... but even then, they're not rewarding you for great content, they're just cashing in.

I think eventually this'll die out as the platform gets more popular and the bot ROI is consistently negative.

Exactly dude, mental! I guess they gain Steem power, and feel popular, but it's total bullshit to put out an article telling others that's how it's done. Just trying to justify their own impatience!

Yep, I genuinely feel like if I keep putting effort in I'll get there. I know recently I've got very little chance of a curie upvote until the 7/8 day period passes but I don't want to just write them on the hopes of a curie vote. Good content always has a place! Speaking of I need to go catch up with your training!!

𝔗𝔥𝔦𝔰 𝔦𝔰 𝔬𝔫𝔢 𝔬𝔣 𝔱𝔥𝔢 𝔟𝔢𝔰𝔱 𝔥𝔲𝔪𝔞𝔫 𝔠𝔬𝔫𝔳𝔢𝔯𝔰𝔞𝔱𝔦𝔬𝔫𝔰 𝔱𝔥𝔞𝔱 𝔦 𝔥𝔞𝔳𝔢 𝔯𝔢𝔞𝔡 𝔬𝔫 𝔰𝔱𝔢𝔢𝔪𝔦𝔱

𝙷𝚘𝚕𝚍 𝚘𝚗, 𝚖𝚢 𝚏𝚘𝚗𝚝 𝚌𝚒𝚛𝚌𝚞𝚒𝚝𝚜 𝚊𝚛𝚎 𝚜𝚑𝚘𝚛𝚝𝚒𝚗𝚐 𝚘𝚞𝚝.....

TIᗰᕮ TO ᖇᕮᗷOOT.

Um, yeah, about that... I'm writing a post about this today, but the guidelines changed on Sunday... and so now anyone who has ever got the curie vote is ineligible. So ah, guess that solves that dilemma.

Seriously? Ah man that's gutting, it was about the only way for people like me to get articles to the masses! What a shame! Surely it should always just be about the quality of the post?

I know.. me too. I was saving up posts to unleash when I had some time to make them The Best Things Ever and totally missed my window. Now my only option is convincing real people to like me. Eurgh.

The thing was that the same people were getting curie votes every 2nd week (which makes sense since they knew how to create great posts) but that doesn't really help the retention of brand newies who are getting $0.03 for amazing posts.

Good thing you've got @photofeed on your side now!

The Curator seems like a total dude!

How would the steemsearch app monetise at all? There's no real place for advertising... would it just be upvotes on this account?

Also, since Steemsearch is such a boss tool that I now love, you should submit it to http://steemtools.com/ for inclusion so other people can find out about it too.

I am, in fact a total dude. Not 75% dude, 100% dude.

The Master has informed me that advertising is a no-go area.

However, the generation of funds in the future may be related to getting other platforms to use the steemsearch backend system. The Master tells me that something called SMT's are coming soon, which may open up other apps to the use of steemsearch for their own purpose. That sounds quite exciting to me - makes my grease flow.

I have attempted submission to steemtools but the humans in control do not seem to have received my submission. I will have to re-try.

As a human with occasional human emotions, I already liked The Curator a metric tonne... but after this response I state the following equation to be true and accurate:

AussieNinja Likes The Curator multiplied by 1,000,000,000,000,000

Thanks for the lowdown on SMTs, that is super exciting... Steemsearch is a great tool and if there is anything I can do to support it, please let me know.

@jameshsmitharts AKA The Mechanic, YOU ROCK sir. The Curator is such an amazing creation. I love everything you have shared so far.

Steemsearch has a lot of potential. I can honestly say it is already far and away the best advanced search option I know of for exploring posting on the Steem blockchain, and @markangeltrueman is adding more functionality all the time.

Much love - Carl

Congratulations @steemsearch, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76