A BIG HELLO from Sunny (but currently rainy) South Florida. New Photographer / Artists/ Gardener :-)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello to everyone here on Steemit. My name is Chris and while I usually prefer to walk my own path, I will keep with Steemit protocol and start with an "introduceyourself" post. :-)

Over the years I have had many interests and been many things - Traditional Artist, Photographer, Digital/Graphic Artist, Website Developer, and a bit of a Home Gardener. Although I graduated from The Art Institute with a degree in 3D Animation, I never went down that path and a good 90% of what I do is self-taught. I enjoy the challenge of mastering a new skill and learning from my mistakes along the way... it helps forge my artistic style and vision. 

You and I might stand next to the very same flower at the same moment in time and snap a picture. Viewing the prints side-by-side they will look completely different. Neither one is right or wrong, just a different point-of-view, and that's what makes it art - that's what makes it beautiful. 

NOT-SO-SOCIAL MEDIA 

One of the odd things about me that always comes up as topic of discussion among friends is how someone "like me", so wrapped up in the internet world and digital media, has ZERO interest in social media platforms. For me, I see them as Anti-Social. They take away the human side of life and replace it with selfies posted for "likes" by people who will never have a vested interest in what or why you posted it. Oh look – Social Media 2.0 - now plastered with advertising and packed with “trolls”, no thanks. To me, they've lost the true community environment they were intended to create. What happened to the stories behind the posts? What is being passed on, what is the point? Of course not everyone agrees with me on this, and that's ok - just a different point-of-view. 

AND ALONG COMES STEEMIT 

I've been watching the Steemit platform for a few months now as a silent user, both for the content sharing aspect and the revenue reward aspect. I discovered this platform while learning about cryptocurrencies and the long-term benefits certain currencies can generate when they have a vision. I've read so many interesting posts from people of all walks of life, backgrounds, and interests, and the part that pulls me in is the information sharing and interactions between users. I understand that incentivizing the initial interaction plays a part in that, but if it gets the ball rolling - why not? 

At the moment, website development pays the bills while my passion for photography and artistic endeavors play a smaller role as lifelong hobbies. I see Steemit as the perfect venue to share my interests and stories behind them. 

SO HERE I AM 

Over time I will share a wide variety of the art and photography I have created over the years. Every now and then I may drop in a few "life" posts about our home vegetable gardens and koi pond just for fun. I'm sure not everything I post will be appropriate for everyone, my work ranges from nature to nudes and everything in between, but I will tag and title my posts accordingly. No surprises.   

I am excited to be a part of Steemit and to share my point-of-view with the Steemit community. I hope you will follow me on this new journey. 

If you have any questions or thoughts about my posts, please feel free to comment or ask - I will try to respond to everyone as best I can. 

Thank you, and Enjoy! 


Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @steempowerpics :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Im a south Floridian as well! Welcome sir! Followed

Thank you Brian. Followed Back :-)

Welcome! Can't wait to see more of your posts!

Thank you. I'm excited to get my blog space rolling (Steeming)

Welcome good sir @steempowerpics ! Like you, I currently reside in 'Floriduh', as I call it! I like photography but still shoot from my little 10.0 Canon - works great ! I also detest social media and agree 1000% that it has destroyed the fabric of human interaction and too often brings out the worst in us all. I have been here a month and find quite the opposite however - people are happy to be here, happy to share and overall have an upbeat, positive attitude. Definitely lead with the 'photography' tag in your future posts - I have earned the most there and I don't even know what I'm doing! STEEM On Brother Chris !

Thank you Lance. I definitely look forward to the positive community aspect of Steemit and will most often post in the photography and art categories. It's funny, even though I have a "pro" Nikon for bigger projects, it's amazing how often I get a great shot from a point and shoot or phone camera - whatever is on hand to capture the moment.

Thank you Greetje! I'm excited to get started with my blogs.

Congratulations @steempowerpics! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you from the other side of Earth :-)

Congratulations on landing yourself on the hippest and fast growing Social Media platform on the planet!!!

Please Support #faithinhumanity
Blog - https://steemit.com/landmine/@tinashe/when-life-becomes-living-hell-for-landmine-victim

STEEM UPVOTE LOGO.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59999.40
ETH 2646.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44