Incoming newcomer: Hello, Steemit!

20170831_130924.jpg

Greetings, fellow... steemians? Anybody wanna start a campaign to change that to "steemers"? Sounds way better. Anyway, hello! My name is Chitty (well, that's my last-name-turned-nickname, actually) and I'm a newbie here at Steemit. I've been browsing the site for a while and I think it's a very interesting and diverse community. I think of myself as a cosmopolitan, and therefore the mixture of cultures and interests here at Steemit makes me feel drawn in. Enough of why I like you guys, though; let me try to convince you to like me and my posts now.

Who am I?

I was born in Venezuela, a difficult country to the north of South America that you have most likely seen in the news by now. Not only was I born there, but I continue to reside in the country. Due to the nature of our government, which has destroyed the country for the better part of my 23 years of life so far, I was forced to look outward from a young age. Books, and subsequently videogames and the Internet, were my window.

Foreign authors like Dostoyevski and Goethe have always fascinated me with their depictions of human character and interactions, as well as enthralled me with their descriptions of the exotic world out there, _the great unknown_. It was from there that my cosmopolitan tendencies sprouted. I started learning English, kept reading the classics and newer publications and developed an interest in writing. Reading and writing have continued to be some of my biggest passions ever since.

These tendencies and interests only grew once I entered college at the Universidad Central de Venezuela, one of the best around here. I'm a Modern Languages student specializing in French and German, with knowledge not only of the languages, but of the cultures and history of the countries where they are spoken, such as Germany (I literally cannot read "Berlinermauer" without having PTSD flashbacks) and France (C'est l'art qu'a construit la France). I've one more year left of studying, and I'm looking forward to it.

En fin, I'm a pretentious polyglot looking to know the world and eat it.

What will I be posting?

Well, you'd have to look at my interests and try to guess. I don't plan on following one simple and unique updating schedule or anything like that, but it will always have to do with something I love, be it history, literature, philosophy, videogames, cooking, hot peppers...

Did I mention I love hot peppers? Source: Everydayhealth


Yeah, you can expect hot peppers. In any case, I'll be publishing stuff related to these interests, but I will seek to intertwine that with anecdotes and stories of my daily life. Why? It's not that I believe my life to be so interesting, but because I think hobbies and interests, knowledge and beauty, are only worthwhile when seen in relation to what they are ultimately all about: The human experience.

It's like a good meal. It's probably good by itself, but nobody will know or care unless there's a person to eat it.

How did I find Steemit?

I feel like I'm talking too much so I'll keep this short. I've got a friend ( @juaca7777 ) who's been Steeming for a while now, and he recently took me out for drinks and started going on about how I had to try it and the like. "It pays off to be persistent", he said, and he's definitely right because here I am, after he persistently suggested it.


@Juaca7777 also inspired me to try my hand at sketching. I still need some work

I think what's most important is not how I got here but why I decided to stay. As I said before, I love the multicultural community full of completely different people, but that's just half of it. The other half has to do with the Crypto aspect to it. I feel it makes it many degrees more interesting and, to be honest, sustainable. Money isn't as easy to come by in Venezuela as a student, so having a community with whom to share my interests, where my effort could be rewarded, I was thrilled. It meant that with some luck and love put into my work, I could further my interests and create even better content in the future, worrying a bit less about finances.

Famous last words

I feel like I've gone on forever, so I'll leave you with a quote I love:

"A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step" - Lao Tzu

Let this post be that step.
Once more: Hello, Steemit!

Ok, I actually have a last question for you guys:
As I said, I speak Spanish, English, German and French. I'd love to interact with each community but I'm not sure how to go about it. Same post in many languages? Just change occasionally? Give me your thoughts on the matter, thee who art more experienced!

Many thanks to @juaca7777 for getting me started and this post by @teamsteem for helping me write this introduction!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @steemedchitty I have upvoted and sent you a tip

welcome to the steemit community, hope you will enjoy it and have a wonderfull time here^^ followed you and upvoted…

Thank you! I hope I will, and I'll definitely follow you.

Bienvenido dear #Steemer :)

Your dog should be the pet mascot of Steemit hahaha
pronounce_doge4.jpg.CROP.promo-xlarge2.jpg

Gracias! Hahaha, he's a cutie. His name is Mochi. His hair gets so long you lose sight of his eyes sometimes! I'll probably make a post about it next time it happens. Look forward to it!

Nice to meet you, @steemedchitty! Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks! Nice to meet you too. It's nice to get such a warm welcome from everyone. Such good vibes!

Welcome @steemedchitty !! You will love Steemit !!!
Get posting!
Cheers,
Buckydurddle

Hello and Welcome! Nice to meet you! Thanks for join

Thanks! I'm happy to be here!

Welcome to Steemit!

Many thanks! Your content seems quite interesting, and your avatar is great. Definitely following you!

welcome to steemit @steemedchitty
following you now. :D
follow me back pls :)

Hello! I think Thailand is a beautiful country; I even considered moving there once! I'll keep an eye on your posts!

You and your dog seem fun Greetings. Welcome I like your post here is my introduce myself post. https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@isteemithard/introducing-myself-isteemithard-now-introduce-yourself
GOPR0071.JPG

Congratulations @steemedchitty! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83