It's me. I'm spudalicious

Hi Steemit!

I'm brand spanking new and this is my #introduceyourself post. I go by Spudalicious on various sites but, my name is Brent Watkins. I am a Software Engineer and hobbyist landscape photographer based in Idaho, USA. I'm very excited to become a part of the Steemit community.

My day job is the same as everybody else's, so... that's about all there is to say about that. Work is work, I like food and shelter and all that.

My passion is photography. I became involved with photography in the same manner as many other people. I simply wanted to capture the sights and moments of various backpacking and road trip outings. Over time, my passion for photography grew and continues to grow as I learn more about it on every photographic journey.

In recent years I have begun to draw a great deal of inspiration from the art of the Romantic Era in particular, the Luminist Movement. You will find that I try to mimic the bold color, fantastical light and grand sweeping landscapes that so moved the artists of the early nineteenth century. I strive to convey more than the documentarian view of a location. I hope to share the sense of awe and emotions I felt when the image was captured.

placerville.october.dawn.jpg

Im happy to be here and I can't wait to get involved.

Sort:  

Welcome Brent,

Great to have you on Steemit! You are a new Steemian now! I saw your introduction just now and its nice to meet you.
Blogging, building and uplifting eachother thats what its all about on this steemit blockchain. And you could earn money too. When money is involved There are also possibilities of being hacked so always be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !!
For more safety tips visit the white paper.
For quick posting use the app Partiko.
The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote
Your value and input is appreciated!
Good luck with your journey and may you find what you are looking for.
Just remember that all good things come in good time and never giving up is the key to big succes on Steemit.

You can also visit our discord server The Steem Terminal is your one-stop location for learning about destinations on the Steem Blockchain & Discord. Here you will find people who are willing to answer the questions you may have as a new Steemian, documents to assist you, a place to learn and practice, and find out about the many opportunities to connect with other Steemians!

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Visit @heyhaveyamet or #steemterminal
https://discord.gg/QCmKXW

Let me know if this was helpfull or you need more help. I am here everyday !
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Welcome to Steem, Brent! Happy to read that you'll be sharing your lovely photos with the community. Though social media has millions who post photos, not everyone works on utilizing their talents to capture a moment that evokes feeling. Glad that you took the dive in to join our blockchain and please feel free to ask any questions that you may have.

We encourage everyone to explore the various posts and to leave personal comments on those that you wish (for example - thoughts regarding the content or a sharing of a similar experience you've had). This platform thrives through interaction as it's the best way to build relationships with other Steemians while finding communities and initiatives that peak your interests.

One tip that we share with everyone is to be careful of copyright infringement when using material that is not of their original creation. Content (for example - images from a website) that grants permission for reuse is acceptable for content creators to utilize within their posts provided there is appropriate attribution to the source. Here's a link that will provide you with more information.

You've Been.png

We wanted to let you know, we have given you a 25% upvote, are now following you, and are introducing you to everyone we know. You can visit our post HERE.

You can also visit our discord server, The Steem Terminal, which is your one-stop location for learning about destinations on the Steem Blockchain & Discord. Here you will find people who are willing to answer the questions you may have as a new Steemian, documents to assist you, a place to learn and practice, and find out about the many opportunities to connect with other Steemians!

Welcome to the SteemIt Community.

Hello and welcome. I was reviewing your account, and noticed a discrepancy.

When re-posting text or image based materials that are someone else's , or your own, it's important to source the link to the original work.

I was able to find this image on multiple sites, and well as your introduction text also being a copy/paste from this site:
https://www.deviantart.com/spudalicious-id

In such a case where you are claiming to be this person, it will feel more genuine and believable to the community if you create a post with a hand written message like "Steemit @spudalicious" and take a photograph, or a video introducing yourself.

I'm only telling you this to help, because when discovered to be copy/pasting from other sources, without proving that it's you somehow, people will be less likely to support you. Thank you and best wishes.

I'm not quite sure I follow you here. you linked my deviantart site which has the same user ID as I'm using here. My introduction is basically the same as can be found on my site also called spudalicio.us. I'm not sure why I would pretend to be a fat old middle aged man with a camera. In my first post, I also link my makerspace page. I believe it's fairly obvious that I am who I am without having to post a ransom style photo.

Regardless of whether you think it's appropriate to link your sources or not, curators will not vote your work if it shows up in searches and you didn't give proper attribution. This is appropriate for your own work as well. As I said, I am only trying to help.

If you don't think it's important to prove you are the author of said work, again, curators will pass you by... Only trying to help. Good day to you. !sources

When posting content that either is owned by someone else or inspired by someone else’s works, it is proper to list the said source in your post with a link to the original.

Failing to do so is considered plagiarism, and could result in being blacklisted by curation groups or even flagged.

Examples include:

  • Using another artist's original drawing/painting/digital art as a “study” or inspiration without linking the original and giving credit to the original artist.
  • Linking to someone else’s YouTube video with no source.
  • Using someone else’s photos or text without linking to the original source etc.

Please make sure you do so in the future, thank you.

If you understand the rules explained in this comment reply to this comment with "I understand"

nevermind. no social site is worth this kind of hassle. I do wish you all the best. But, it appears that this isn't for me.

Hi @spudalicious, don't be put off by them. I didn't cite my images when I first started either, and with you having these posted on the internet elsewhere it can look like plagiarism.

When there's a monitory value involved people tend to be a little protective. Just cite them, and you wont have any problems.

Thank you for trying to help shed clarity. Some people take this as an attack against their integrity. It's really not. Curators have specific guidelines to follow for curation. I was trying to help him so I could curate him! Unreal that some people react so poorly, but hey.. All part of the environment. Some will see the value in the help, some will take it as an attack.

Hiya and yes I know.. seems he's gone and isn't coming back. It's different here than other social media sites and some wont like it.. ah well.

I mean, I kind of feel bad now... But I don't think there is anymore point in trying to persuade him further. Very set in his expectations of things I guess.

Well, hopefully he'll read these comments again and change his mind. I would hate to see a talented individual walk away from Steem because of ego.

Also, I didn't cite mine either! 😄 It's a learning process!

This is my content. I'm the photographer. how would posting a photo of me with "steemit" prove I am me? oh btw. I understand. But I'm the original artist!


Welcome to Steemit @spudalicious!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Thanks! Much appreciated.

Hello spudalicious thanks for making Steemit your choice for Blockchain social media entertainment we appreciate that you took time out of your busy schedule just to join us and sharing this great post spudalicious we encourage sharing so feel free to share your creative ideas your a Steemian now so please feel free to explore post and enjoy your new Steemit account I can't wait to wait to see more of your awesome creativity spudalicious see you around all welcome enjoy

Welcome spudalicious!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to Steem spudalicious! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Greetings, and Welcome to the Steem Community @spudalicious!

I would love to feature your new introduction post in my weekly curation blog if you don't mind! You can find it on my profile, @Ma1neEvent.

You can also check out the @MinnowSupport Project (MSP), a community of Steemians on Discord Chat where you can interact, chat, network, and learn with other members of the Community! There is even a Steem based radio station there with shows and music created by Steemians, @MSP-Waves! Hop in the @MinnowSupport Pond and say hello sometime if you'd like!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22