Hi Steemit! Hope you weren't too hungry.

So, my name's Emily. I'm, perhaps unsurprisingly, a writer! I've been at it full-time for about 18 months after a few years of part-time scribbling. I live on the coast in Australia in an eclectic sharehouse. 

  • I like writing weird things
  • I love board games
  • I like reviewing stuff

Putting all that together, it turns out that reviewing boardgames is an incredibly obvious path for me in my free time. So expect to see some of that!

So what's with that horrific opening image?

I don't know either, man. It was a hard time for all of us. (And also one of the most vile things I have ever had the misfortune of tasting. The memory of it is making me purse-lipped!)

What are you doing here, anyway?

I've been looking for a place to stash interesting bits of writing that don't fit on my portfolio site. This week I'm working on making kitschy dog-themed fortune cookie sayings. A couple of weeks ago I jotted down a short bio for a Swedish country singer. Fun stuff like that.

Also, there's a really pronounced entrepreneurial bent to the community here. I'd love to lend a hand to anybody looking into web writing as a way to make a living. If you're looking at hiring freelancers, I can help you find them without having to sift through Upwork or Fiverr and their associated fees. 

Steemit seems like a great place for this -- if my advice is worthwhile, it'll be reflected through voting. I can effectively get on with what I love doing without starving in the process or having to hide it all behind a prohibitively pricey paywall. 

Anything else we should know?

I love jazz, so send me your jazz. I also love grognard-y Early Access titles, so look out for me in the gaming tags singing the praises of some of them.

(Also I like puns and self-deprecating humour! So look out for both.) 

Sort:  

Upvoted you

Glad to have you around!

Welcome! Looking forward to more posts! You found a great place to share!

Thanks! This is my first foray into cryptocurrency. I see you're pretty deep down the rabbit hole, though, which is awesome.

You've got no idea lol... steemit should be plenty, trust me!

What exactly is a sharehouse? I'm guessing just a group that lives together in a communal way?

Not quite! It's the term here for having housemates -- although now I'm second-guessing that one.

Since you mentioned board games I had to give you an upvote :)

Have you gotten your hands on a copy of Pandemic Legacy at all? The group I play with is up to June and it's incredible/incredibly stressful.

Hi Emily and welcome to steemit!

Nice introduction! Glad to meet another writer. I've been blogging forever it seems. I also hire freelancers for writing at YouTubeStars and other sites I own. Maybe we'll do some business! Best wishes!

Congratulations @splashneedle! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @splashneedle! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Russia vs Croatia


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @splashneedle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49