Introductions? Let me tell you about cheap bikes!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hi! I'd like to introduce myself as @spivey. Forgive me for the basic introduction post; I don't have a very large online presence, Steem is the first social network I've been a part of in a long time, and what better place to start than a designated section for stumbling and introductions! :)

Any of us that have hobbies that we occasionally research on the internet come across invaluable how-to guides. I'd like to use this platform to create and disseminate information that I've collect on my hobbies and crafted into how-to guides. One of my recent obsessions has been the servicing of rescued bicycles.

Schwinn.jpg

You see, some people abandon beautiful examples of some of the best years of bicycles, mountain bikes in particular. This was a prime example of a still usable 1993 Schwinn Hurricane. I'd like to think some kid had the best Christmas ever when he unwrapped this monster. This particular bike was on the side of the road on trash day, waiting to be thrown out. It needed nothing more than some lubrication and a new chain. After some basic servicing it has put down 100+ miles and counting.

Other times, you come across cycles that aren't necessarily abandoned. These are often owned by individuals that have decided their better cycling days are behind them. This next example is a 2007 Giant Cypress SX. The MSRP of this beauty was roughly $700, and after marinating in a garage for the better part of that decade I picked her up for a paltry $70.

giant-1.jpg

That's 10% of the original purchase price for a machine that's still a 9/10 in quality. That's an objectively good deal if you ask me! Any active and entrepreneurial person is going to need transportation. Bicycles are a great entry level option for someone that doesn't need to commute more than 20 or so miles in a day and whom doesn't have a whole lot of money to spend. Hopefully I can use this platform to share some of the information I've gathered on cycling and scouting out valuable deals in the secondhand bike market, a market that's rife with opportunity.

Thanks for taking the time to read my first post. I'll get some guides up here soon.

Sort:  

Hello spivey

Nice

Welcome to steemit @spivey.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
  • Help us save the forest with @treeplanter
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!


Welcome to Steem @spivey.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Hi @spivey!

I do not know the initial state of those bicycles before you repaired them. But knowing that one of those was about to be thrown away and you still made it work, I think you really did great. You also made big savings for the second one. Not only did you save the bicycles but you also helped save the environment by reducing waste.

Not only entreprenueral folks would need bicycles but also those who do biking as a hobby. I am not sure in your location but I know people who does biking as their exercise every morning and weekend. There are those who even invest on mountain bicycles as they continue to challenge themselves in that area.

I know people who earned well with refurbished stuff so I think you will make a good entrepreneur yourself with your techniques and strategies. Since you are into bicycles, my only reminder to you when refurbishing is to keep high safety standards even if the item is refurbished. As it is, bicycles are for transportation and can be prone to accident if safety is taken for granted.

Welcome to Steemit!

Edit: I featured your post on my article Pay it forward: Learning what you do not like and making the most of what can still be as an entry to the Pay it Forward Curation Contest. This contest is open to everyone so you are also welcome to join.

Hi, @spivey, and welcome to Steemit. You will soon discover how to move around but I wanted to say that the steemit community is very nice and I am sure you will accumulate followers and get great feedback on your posts very soon. I'll be following you from now on. Good luck and be proud of having such a great hobby. I love community-run-free-of-charge or paid for bike repair shops. We need more bikers!!!

Welcome to Steem @spivey. i hope you will do great here.

Hola @spivey, la bicicleta es un buen medio de transporte, si tu trabajo no esta muy lejos, y te mantienes en forma.
llegue a tu publicación por la entrada de @macoolette en el concurso semana 22 - Pay It Forward organizado por @pifc .

Hey @spivey. Welcome to Steemit and good luck!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56