Game Prototype + Introduction! Hello Everyone

Hello Steemit. I'm Dave, a 23 year old software developer with a passion for game development. I am a Colorado native who enjoys slack-lining, snowboarding, running, climbing, video games (especially fighting games and arena shooters), and everything programming. I am fairly new to the crypto scene as a recent bitcoin convert, but I am fascinated by the ways I believe blockchain related technologies can change the world, which is how I ended up here. One of the best decisions I made this last year was to join a "One Game a Month" meetup group where the goal is to complete one game or prototype every single month. I figured the best way to introduce myself to you guys would be to share one of my recent prototypes. So without further ado I present 

Dragon Drop 

The best way I can describe this prototype is multiplayer competitive pachinko. 2-4 players each control a dragon that gets dropped from the top. The dragons then bounce their way to one of five divisions in the bottom, one of which has been marked as the goal. Unlike normal pachinko, players are able to influence their trajectory by breathing a burst of fire that shoots them backwards from the direction they are facing. Chaos ensues as players race to be the first to the goal. You gain points for getting to the goal first and lose points if you end up in the incorrect zone. Playtesting with a couple friends was very successful and I really like the way this one turned out from a gameplay perspective. Here is a more zoomed out view.


From a technical point of view this was put together using Ruby with the open source Gosu library for rendering. I usually prefer to work in java but when pressed for time I occasionally fall back to Ruby. If anyone is interested in the source code let me know in the comments and I can toss it your way. Credits for the dragon sprite go to bevouliin


This kind of monthly prototyping system is great for fleshing out any ideas you have so you can know which ones you should invest more time in. When I get a little more time I will probably make a more polished version of this idea for Android. You can find more info about "One Game a Month" here http://www.onegameamonth.com/

I plan to share my future games and prototypes with you guys and look forward to meeting more of this community. 

Sort:  

wellcome

Here is your first lesson on Steemit. WANG is a ROBOT. Don't take any posts on face value. Good luck.

Awesome to have you onboard!

Congratulations @solipsis! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @solipsis! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @solipsis! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51