A Musicians Steemit Journey... |so far|

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

20180307_225056_HDR.jpg
So, here i am. A few days ago i have passed the 2 month mark of posting on Steemit. As stated in the unnofficial guidelines this seems a good of a time to write a post about my time here. Kudos to those that read to the end. 😁

One day i was watching the news on Croatian national television, listening to some economists tear apart cryptocurrencies. „Bitcoin has no value, its not real money, the bubble will burst, its money of terrorists and criminals“. All the regular things you hear day in day out. And usually i wouldnt mind it much, i would just flip the channel, but one thing struck me. The way they talked seemed to me like they were not talking from a position of objectivity, in the way you would hear the same men and women talking about other economy related topics, but rather with a disgruntled voice, slighty annoyed, covertly angry, pouting like a small child. 😁

Funny thing is that this approach they had is the reason i pulled up google and started my research. I started with youtube and bitcoin news. I watched videos with Andreas Antonopoulos (and to this day i find him being the easiest to understand for the layman making him the best voice for cryptocurrencies in the mainstream, imo). Anarchapulco with Jeff Berwick which i didnt find as likable although he does provide some good information.

I was digging for a few days, trying to soak up everything i could and what do you know, i run into the light-skinned complexion of non other then our very own @jerrybanfield. 😁 Already used to the crypto pitches of various currencies out there i didnt give him much attention. But then Jerry kept popping out everywhere in the recomended list, with his bright background among all the other dark, overpacked thumbnails trying to attract viewers with the cryptoshine. He just stood out, so i had to click.

„Money from likes? Exposure for quality content? Facebook competitor? Decentrilized? Community curation? Complete freedom of expression?“

..... All these things in one place was a kind of a utopia for an unknown musician from a small south european country.

Chrome was open, new tab clicked and i typed in „Steemit“....

1303834_90fe_2.jpg

Waited a few days for my account, busy with other things and once approved i started browsing again, reading all the things others were writing, seeing those huge numbers, $500, $1000, $15000!. I was hooked, haha.

„I can do this! How hard can it be!“. Id soon see how hard.

It all started with a longer testing period, slowly getting into it and adjusting my expectations. First came the regular reposting of content and watching for reactions. >every few hours browsing my posts trying to figure where this all might take me<

It took a little while for my posts to get some traction, at one point actually being a bit dissapointed when one of the videos i worked the most on, was lost fast in the abbys of the „new“ pages on steemit. At that point i started to question everything but eventually decided to press even harder. Then, i didnt understand the importance of exclusive and original content on Steemit.

Good thing i sticked with it because a few days later, @ivan.atman found me and introduced me to „Discord“. I joined the same day and started to do one of the most important things a minnow Steemian can do. Communicate. Our Croatian channel was small at that time, numbering around 20 members growing rapidly day after day.

DQmPfcDv866nniKzKU3JMrzaweUmKx56bycLsnw1iTsjGr4_1680x8400.png

From there i started checking out other discord channels, PAL, SMA, Whaleshares, Adsactly, all of which offered their own twist to the Steemit and Cryptosphere approach. At that point i was still learning, my posts getting very small numbers until i started to get support from one bigger account (I wont link him so he doesnt get spamed by some overzelous bloggers) which allowed me to invest in my first mic creating an opportunity for me to join the contest that changed absolutely everything for me. „OpenMic“.

My first entry being „Perfect by Ed Sheeran“. I recorded my entry sloppily, clipping everywhere, uploaded it to Steemit and unexpectingly went to bed. Next morning i woke up, grabed some coffee while browsing my phone and i see my post having $111 next to it, with a large number of comments. I couldnt believe it. I was ecstatic. Once lost, now found.

Now the ball was rolling. Next week i entered again with „Hotel California“. Badly recorded, echo everywhere and i knew that wasnt it.
Third time would be the charm! Week 73 i entered with my guitarist, playing a traditional Macedonian song „Jovano Jovanke“ we both love. Not expecting much due to it being so different from other entries i actually hit the nail on the head.

I WON! Happiness overload. 🎊🎉🎊


(Jovano Jovanke/Pulp Fiction)

Thanking everyone, riding on the high of the win,i started chatting in Discord being a pain for the day to all the moderators. (sry @simgirl 😝)

Being noticed felt so amazing.

And thats mostly how it all went down so far. Haha. In my time here i have received 4 Curie votes in total (2 full ones), entered OpenMic 4 times with 1 win and came in 3. in @killerwhale karaoke contest.

I currently have another entry going for OpenMic Week 75, that is doing amazingly well with the most comments i have ever received (I probably have to thank OpenMic for at least ½ of my followers), thanks to the votes of bigger well known accounts and the amazing support from all the commenters. (Youtube link)


(Schindler's list theme)

.
.
.

I think this post went long enough, haha. 😂 I was supposed to just make a selfie as a verification for the guys in Adsactly but i started writing and ended up with this. Weird how Steemit hooks you so easily.

Since this is some kind of an „anniversary post“ id like to have a small giveaway for my followers.

After the payout of this post i will send 3 SBD to one of the commenters on this post randomly chosen using pick.esteem.ws. (Spam will not be considered as a valid comment)

Since it seems a proper thing to do ill give a shoutout to the Steemians that have been the most helpful or supportive during my time here, making Steemit feel like home. (Sry if i forget a few of you😅):
In no particular order.

Daily motivational and overall feel good content:
@awakentolife and @petra-zen
Video producing journalist:
@olegw
Life blogger, photographer and soon to be DJ:
@exanime15
Musician and iTalent creator:
@ivan.atman
No introduction needed:
@velimir
Steemits leading meme reviewer, supreme leader of "Meme Army". Creator of #memechallenge:
@fibra59
Writer of the most immersing short stories i have found on Steemit:
@spalatino
One of the composers i love the most on Steemit:
@beyonder
Composer,gamer, musician and overall nice guy:
@playitforward
And to end it off my favorite curators i cant thank enough:
@vortac, @jazzhero and @markangeltrueman

Everyone have a great day. To my followers, i love every single one of you, and to all.... Keep on Steeming!

rsz_1onlylogo.png

The STEEM Engine

DQmY51imq4fuAUAtgT7hxPhpWQV193EmWgSVw9YbMXV5Dxu.gif

Sort:  

Make sure to follow the Muse project. It functions quite similarly to Steem but its focus is on your music's metadata. You'll get paid each spin.

Also a Graphene, DPOS chain :)

Hmmm. Muse. Ill have a look at it. Ive heard of other music projects but i cant say im familiar with this one.
My problem is that im currently a cover artist althought ill branch into original work hopefully soon, if steemit gets me of the ground.
Currently i can play classical music over 100 years old (not sure exactly) that doesnt fall under copyright, but i dont know what your stance is on the copyright when i upload a video or audio track like this one that was composed by a living composer. When using your blockchain.

You can upload anything you want to the Muse blockchain. It's the streaming platforms that are legally on the hook if they play copywritten stuff to their users. So if you want anyone to actually hear it, you need to make sure you own the rights. Only then will a streaming platform comfortably display your music on its site.

Same relationship as Steem and Steemit/busy.org/dmania.lol (and the other Steem front-ends)

Cob. So i dont chase you around steemit. Please contact me on Discord. I need to talk to you about something important. Ill have a whitepaper ready in a day or two. I need your 5 minutes. Discord name is @silentscreamer

Thank you for the promotion my amazingly talented friend. The sky is limit for you here on Steemit with your amazing voice and violin skills. A deadly combination if you ask me. Loved your Shindler's cover with the violin. You are just amazing. That is all I am going to say. :)

Keep up what you are doing. Looking forward to your new covers. :)

Always with the flattery. Hehe. Keep it up. 😂
Thx. Ill try and mix it up a bit once i have more time. But probably as my blog gains in followers ill increase my workload. 😊


Welcome to Steem @silentscreamer.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thanks for sharing your story! It truly inspires other musicians like me! I will definitely give the open mics a great try, I don't have good recording gear as of now, but I will hopefully be able to get myself some gear slowly and ROCK it! By the way, amazing music! I totally loved it, excellent string play and voice! I really need to polish my skills and write a lot more. Kudos!

A cellphone will do trust me. The judges have a keen ear for talent. Pick a song and try your best. Curie is listening and so is the audience. As long as you give it your best you will get to where you want to be. ❤😁

A cell phone is fine. Just make sure your recording levels are loud enough to hear the performance and go for it.

Thanks for following the Open Mic Trail and I'm looking forward to hearing your 1st entry.

Wow! Amazing journey so far, You should consider using DTube and showcase your music talent....DTube will also allow you to generate more value by receiving potential upvotes....

Yeah. Thanks for the tip. Ill try and do a @dtube exclusive soon. Its a bit of a gamble seeing they have an additional cost. Hopefully they will notice me and help support my blog if they find it fitting their standard.
Minnows give you the most interaction and make your blog come to life but larger accounts provide you the opportunity to invest more into your content. Starting up it seemed like the best idea to enter competitions instead of doing dtube videos. Who knows, in the future, maybe they find me worthy enough to be my patrons. Haha😊

Yeah, it can be challenging to get noticed at first but if we keep posting on topics we are passionate about, we will get noticed at some point in time =)

Wow! Seems like I'm on a roll! I forgot I was actually participating, this is a nice surprise! Many thanks, you're awesome!

Well done feel really happy for you and I d love your talent and your story here is encouraging me to follow my music passion but been a perfectionist im trying to work out how to set up a guitar speaker that will play backing music and allow me to plug in a mic so I can use my reverb pedal for my sax and be able to listen at the same time. I think i can do it through a splitter but not to sure how the overall sound will be yet. I heard you play the theme tune from shindlers list I think with a setup close to what I am looking for. Really great performance so keep doing what you do best. I may have to learn a few more chords on the guitar or piano because I love to sing to but I can't sing and play sax at both times lol keep rocking. Hope to join everyone on open mic myself very soon :)

Yes. Sax and singing dont mix. 😁
Some people ask me why i dont sing and play. I probably could with my head tilted to the side but it would look weird and ridiculous. 😂
I havent seen many sax players on openmic so you have a good chance to show your talent. There. Good luck. 😁

Great talent I always wanted to play when I was young was my favourite instrument along with the flute and harp

Sry wrong post i thought you commented. Thx for your kind words. 😉

It is great to have you with us😁

The more the merrier. 😌

Congrats on your first two months on Steemit and many more to come! @silentscreamer 🎈🥂😘
One of my best friends is also a musician and plays a violin, a girl from Split as well... You talented Dalmatians ;) Steem ON!

B78C34DE-1BE1-4F28-AAED-1D740AF0A189.jpeg

Thank you, thank you... Who knows, maybe me and her might even know each other. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67334.81
ETH 3235.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64