Hi steemit! I'm Ryan and I made an open source app for steemit. (Link inside)

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Why did I join steemit?

When I joined steemit I had seen that alot of people were actually contributing projects and collaborating to make steemit a better place and if I can be honest that is what made me stay and try to do something similar. All you see on similar sites these days are people stealing content and looking out for oneself, whereas from what I have seen from steemit, there is a real sense of community here.

This is something I can really get behind. So far I have only met nice people here and I find myself loading up the website more hoping I see someone I know making the front page!
I have already made my own contribution to steemit in the form of a Steem Mobile app. I released the code to github however it did not do amazingly on Steemit sadly. Little did I know Steemy was going to be announced and that post mostly took away from it I think. (Way better looking app though)
If you want to check out my code its here on github. I ended up finding another steemit user @good-karma who is working on a steemit app also using the same technologies! I have decided while I will try and keep doing things with my app, I would like to move most of my efforts into trying to help him improve his app. I think there should be a great open source solution to Steemit on mobile devices and his implementation of it already looks great!

About me

image
I am currently just about to start my 3rd year in a computer science degree in Ireland. Computers wasn't always the way I intended to go, infact I initially had plans to be an accountant. But just after I finished school I attended a techincal course (sort of a bridge from school to college) in IT and I found a desire to learn that I never had in school itself. Programming and networks stuff just seemed to make perfect sense in a way that traditional subjects did not and it was from then I knew exactly what I wanted to do as a career!

At the moment I currently am trying to learn more about the Ionic framework and AngularJS as a whole. If anyone has any especially good resources I would be more than grateful!

Getting my first job

Last year after I finished my first year in college I got incredibily lucky and landed myself a part-time job doing tech support for Apple! I applied because to be honest I was already doing the job for free providing support to my family and some neighbours.
Until then I had a major struggle trying to find my first job, I was in a constant cycle of not having enough experience and not being able to get experience. To anyone currently on a job hunt , my heart goes out to you!

I have a pretty great story about how I actually got the job and 'beat the odds'. I might make a post about it because until that happened I didn't really believe the saying 'it could be you'.

The news itself came at an exceptionly good time. As I was moving into the second year I had growing corcerns t​hat I would not be able to continue in college simply because I was doing very poorly financially. It was heartbreaking to think of at the time because I will be one of the first in my family to get a college degree. Adding to this, I had so much support growing up, from people around me who selflessly wanted to keep me on the right path. As much as I owe it to myself I also owe it to them for how much care they showed me.
If you have any questions or you wanna get to know me better than feel free to leave a comment or chat me on steemit.chat! :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @ryno! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @ryno! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ryno! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63