My First Day At Steemit ... Hello from Hong Kong

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Friends,   

My name is Rosa and greetings from Beautiful Hong Kong.  I've lived half of my life in Hong Kong.  The other half of my life was spent in Canada where I did my studies from elementary school to graduate studies.

I am quite excited to join the Steemit Community and to get to know all of you.

 

Do you like the above picture?   Right now the platform is very overwhelming to me.  So I hope you follow me as I follow you also.   Many of my online students at Learn Piano With Rosa  come from all corners of the world,  let me know if you are at Steemit?   I want to  'follow you' here also.

If you are from Hong Kong or China where I am living right now, I love to meet you on this Steemit journey. Please comment and let me follow you :)

Here is my story.  When I was small, I always dreamed about ‘travelling around the world”.  Is this your dream also?  I used to think that unless you work with the airlines or a pilot, it is impossible to have the time and  money to travel around the world. I am wrong. In this millennial age, it is easy and possible to travel around the world  while holding a full time job. You don’t need to quit you work to travel. You just need to plan wisely to grab hold of all these travel opportunities in front of you. 

I have said this to myself many times: There is no place like home”.  Sure, we all love to stay in our comfort zone where everything is safe, secure and predictable. But in reality, life gives us lots of new challenges forcing us to stretch our limits to break away from our routines.  Suddenly, your life is stamped with an expiry date when cancer strikes you. Or your boss fires you for no reason at all. Many times in counselling sessions, I watch ladies crying out bitterly searching for answers why their husbands walk out of their lives to other women. These are hard questions.  Who has answers to them?  We have fear and doubts.  Here is my motto: "When in doubt, take the road less traveled."    

When in doubt - take the road less traveled.  Get out of your comfort zone.  

  • This is where you start to GROW in life
  • Stretch out from your boundaries
  • Break FREE from your failures
  • True Freedom comes when you drive away fears and anxieties  

 Literally - Go and Travel - Find answers to your life with new eyes.  Inspite of our full time work, my hubby Ray and I travel whenever opportunities arise.  That's how we get our lives enriched with new eyes.



Really, I would not be the person I am today if I didn’t travel. I learn so much about people and life when I travel.  Each time I travel, I am changed. I am no longer the same person as before.  I see new things. I experience new culture.  I make new friends. I learn new languages.  I begin to see my 'little limited world' with a NEW perspective.  This is exactly what you need to do to get out of your rut and disappointments in life - Go TRAVEL! 

When you travel, BE A TRAVELERl!  Don't be a tourist. There is a huge difference between a traveler and a tourist.  Tourists just want to go to a place and take pictures. They have been there.  They have tasted the food.   They go home and show off to their friends where they have gone to. What have they learned?     

Travelers have a totally different mindset. My hubby always tells me that when we travel we MUST take Bus 11. You know why 11? 11 means to use our 2 legs.     


He says that we need to “walk, walk walk”.  So we end up walking for 10 hours a day.  That is the only way to get to breathe the air that local people breathe.  Tourists just go tourist places to take pictures in front of the famous buildings, museums, parks, etc.  Travelers walk into the winding paths and visit the local markets, their communities and walk their streets.   

When you encounter new culture and talk to people different from you, you SUDDENLY find a lot of answers to life difficult questions.  This is so AMAZING.  This is what I want to share with you in this blog. 

I WALK and TRAVEL to learn about life.  The best place to eat is mixing with the locals at their stalls and chatting with them.  You eat what they eat.  That is life.   I learn interesting things about people.  I grow.  Unexpectedly, I find answers to many hard questions about life.  I meet many angels along the way.   I come to know God deeper and deeper. I come to know myself in better light.  I also break away from bad habits and routines that get stuck in the home rut. This world is a fascinating and  interesting place indeed.    

 My hubby and I have traveled to different corners of the world.  To name a few, we have been to Mongolia, Singapore, Malayasia, Thailand, Australia, Canada, United States, France, Spain, Britain, Portugal, Switzerland, Italy, Greece, Turkey, Hong Kong, Malta, Jordan, Israel, Cyprus, Egypt, Emirate State, Korea, Taiwan, Japan, Nepal, India, etc.    

 And many cities that have left us with deeper impressions are Cairo, Rome, Athens, Santorini, Crete,  Alexandria, New Delhi, Kathmandu, Calcutta, Hong Kong, Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Venice, Jerusalem, Tel Aviv, Beijing, Ulan Bator, Istanbul, Izmir, Efes, Sart, Kusadasi, Ankara, Cappadocia, Zurich, Rhodes Island, Antakya, Calgary, Monteal, Toronto, Kelowna, Kamploops, Victoria, Taipei, Seoul, Konya, Bangkok, Petra, Wadi Rum, Jordan, Portugal, Barcelona, Paris, London, Liverpool, Manchester, Manila,  Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, Haifa, Amman, Mount Sinai,  Pammukale, Hawaii, Malta, Kota Kinabalu, etc.       

My hubby is a great photographer.  He also adds in a personal touch by sketching out the places we enjoy visiting.       

 Many of these places we have gone to not only once, but many many times.  Like Turkey, we will be going there again in September and this will our 4th Fun Adventure to Turkey.  People often say to me, "You've been there before, why go there again?"  Well, vibrant travelers always love to revisit these places again and again & never get bored because there is still so much to discover and explore.  Don’t think you need to be rich to travel around the world. I am actually quite poor. It is the poor who knows how to get the most out of their travels. 

So as we move along in these blog posts, I want to enrich your life by sharing stories and fun life lessons that travel has taught me all theses years.  You also get to meet many angels that have helped us in all our travels. 

Please tell me - where you would like to go?  Or which city you love most? 

Follow me & give me an upvote if you like what you read.  Leave your feedback in the comment area so that I can do better. 

Looking forward to hear from all of you, 

Rosa

My First Day at Steemit - August 16 2017  

Come and visit my Blog! Thanks


Sort:  

great first post!
upvoted and resteemed

Thank you for the encouragement.

Welcome to Steem @rosatravels I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you for your welcome :)

hello Rosa, welcome on steemit,nice to mite you.
I am Ariful frome bangladesh.
already i follow you also you can follow me.
thanks.

From Bangladesh! Thank you for your welcome :)

hi Rosatravels I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, Wish you much luck! Cheers! i will follow your account, please follow me .

I followed you also. Thank you for your welcome :)

Aloha! I saw that you are new on steemit so welcome to the great community of steemit. Take this upvote and maybe upvote some of my stuff too!
As you are new to steemit and it can be hard for newcomers to recieve votes so my advice would be to give Steemfollower a go as you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I made this post to explain the system in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

How do you create http link in txt?

use "[put your text here] (and link here)" without the space in the middle

Hey there! Welcome to the fastest growing monetized platform for bloggers and writers. You may find it easy to quit rather than persist because it is tough.

Nevertheless persistence beats luck.

Follow me for learning how to use steemit: @thelifestyler :-)

@thelifestyler, I just followed you. Thank you for your welcome :)

Welcome to Steemit! If you have questions - ask me @dobroman

Thank you for your welcome :) @dobroman. I have a question. I posted my article today. I then went back in made an edit. And then to my horror, I discovered that I lost 3/4 of the article on that page. Right now, it tells me to "update' post. I am scared to update post because I only see 1/4 of the article right now. Do you see a 'long' article over there or short? The long article has a few pictures. The short article has only the thumbnail picture. I don't know what to do now. Can you help?

I just followed you @getresteem Thank you for your welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57932.25
ETH 2469.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37