Hi, I am Robert Kimbrough, NASA Astronaut and ex- US Army Officer, going to literally take STEEM to SPACE (To International Space Station)

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hi,
I am Robert Kimbrough, currently an astronaut with the NASA.

I have been hugely impressed by the concept on which Steem has been build upon and so for this reason, I literally intend to take Steem to the space. Yeah and so you guessed it right, Ill be posing with a Steem poster in the International Space Station and I'll be sending my picture(with the Steem Poster) to you guys out here on Earth(hope you'll like it). I'll also create a Steem transaction to @ned (thanks a lot for your contribution to Steem and cryptocurrency). I hope this will be the first ever Steem transaction made from outside of Earth.

My younger son made this "Steemit" poster. Here I am standing with my dad(he's a crypto enthusiast too) in the baseball field(it was my elder son's match).

The timeline of the upcoming events :

Ill be leaving for the International Space Station in mid of September 2016 and will reach at the ISS by October 2016. After landing on the ISS in October 2016, Ill be making another post on Steemit (yes, thank god, we have Internet in the ISS) and in that post I'll make sure that I include my pic with a Steem poster. Ans so in October, Ill also post a video of myself creating a Steem transaction to @ned.
I already can't wait to do this.

Practicing for the Expedition

About myself

I am an ex-United States Army officer(ret. Lt. Col.) and am currently a NASA astronaut. I am 49 years old, and was commissioned as a Second Lieutenant in the U.S. Army in the year 1989. I entered the U.S. Army Aviation School in 1989 and became an Army aviator in 1990. I was selected by NASA in 2004. I completed my first spaceflight in 2008 on STS-126, where I spent almost 16 days on the mission to expand the crew living quarters to accommodate a six-member crew. During the mission, I performed two spacewalks.

With Love of my life

Before the STS-126 Mission

I was introduced to cryptocurrencies in the year 2014 by my wife, Robbie. Since then I have been hugely interested in Bitcoins, and now recently I have learned about Steem. I find Steem an interesting concept which I believe is completely different from other traditional cryptocurrencies as it presents every single person with an equal opportunity to mine it(by blogging) and benefit from it.

For those who don't know what ISS is, here is where I'll be going

My Achievements

I am a distinguished Graduate from the U.S. Army flight school and have won various Meritorious Service Medals which include : Army Commendation Medal, Army Achievement Medal, National Defense Service Medal, Southwest Asia Service Medal, Kuwaiti Liberation Medal, Saudi Arabian Kuwaiti Liberation Medal, Valorous Unit Award and Military Outstanding Volunteer Service Medal.

Prestigious Army Commendation Medal

My past and current expedition

I was on the STS-126 mission that delivered equipment to the International Space Station that enabled larger crews to reside aboard the complex. It was a 16-day mission that included expanding the living quarters of the space station to eventually house six-member crews by delivering a new bathroom, kitchen, two bedrooms, an exercise machine and a water recycling system. During the mission, I performed two spacewalks, logging a total of 12 hours and 52 minutes.

The STS-126

With fellow astronauts, posing for STS-126

I now have been assigned to the Expedition 49/50 and am scheduled to launch to the International Space Station in September 2016. In this mission, I intend to create the first Steem transaction from outside the Earth and will also be posting my picture with Steem poster from the ISS.

My team for Expedition 49

I am already very excited to be a part of this amazing community. I'd like to extend my special thanks to @ned, @roadscape, @pharesim, @silversteem, @blocktrades and other esteemed members of the community who have made this platform an amazing place.

Also, I'd be glad if someone could design me an awesome Steem poster that I would take to the International Space Station.

Glad to be here.

You are amazing guys!

Keep Steeming!

To the MOON!

Sort:  

Your younger son made that poster, did he? XD

From jsc.nasa.gov

i.e. Image is photoshopped and profile is a fraud. Thanks for finding @jamtaylor.

Great job digging that up. This also raises the issue of identity theft on Steemit. I'm willing to believe most "introduceyourself" are spam bots, or people paying models to post with a timestamp. I mean come on, you really think this many good looking women are on Steem? It's gotta be a 99% sausage fest in here.

I personally think introduceyourself posts should not earn any rewards. I mean, why should they? You're not contributing valuable content, you're literally just talking about yourself and getting paid.

I generally don't vote for them any more unless they are something exceptional and have verification. I made a mistake initially upvoting this one since it did seem exceptional but thankfully @jamtaylor did a better job of vetting it than I did.

I do agree that the high consistent payouts on introduceyourself posts were a magnet for scammers and the scammers area clearly here now.

Sorry to bother you again, but I keep finding the same pattern,
here is another post you upvoted to the tune of $400
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ricegum/my-sexual-assault-story-break-the-silence

From the post:
"I usually have my boyfriend with me, but he was sick. I decided to go alone. Most of the people at the fashion week was very kind. Everyone was super helpful, people helped me cross the street, I couldn't find an elevator so I asked a guy to help me find it, he was such a gentleman. I had a blast. Around midnight I was pushing my way to the metro station to make sure I didn't miss the last train. There were still huge crowds everywhere.
A tall man at a crosswalk started talking to me, asking me if I have a cigarette and then he asked me if I need help. I politely declined, but he kept insisting. The light changed and I crossed the street. I didn't realize he followed me until I made it into the station and the crowds thinned out. There were only a few people and suddenly the man was there. He offered to help me again, and again I declined. He insisted, grabbed me into the elevator. "

From:
I thought I was immune to sexual assault....I was wrong.
https://www.reddit.com/r/TwoXChromosomes/comments/3jv2vp/i_thought_i_was_immune_to_sexual_assaulti_was
"I usually have my husband with me, but he was sick. I decided to go it alone.

Most of the festival was great. Everyone was super helpful, people helped me cross the street, one guy helped me get my chair up and down an escalator when I couldn't find an elevator. I had a blast.

Around midnight I was pushing my way to the subway station to make sure I didn't miss the last train. There were still huge crowds everywhere. A guy at a crosswalk started talking to me, asking me if I needed help. I politely declined, but he kept insisting. The light changed and I crossed the street. I didn't realize he followed me until I made it into the station and the crowds thinned out. There were only a few people and suddenly he was there. He offered to help me again, and again I declined. He insisted, grabbed the handles of my chair, and wheeled me into the elevator."

Ripped story, details changed.

This story is post payout though, what do you think should be done about this smooth?
Do you see the pattern of abuse?

Shouldn't I be rewarded for exposing such fraudulent content?

You should certainly be rewarded and I have upvoted you. The @ricegum posts slipped by me because I was familiar with that poster and was tricked by her earlier verification (which may have been real or not, but even if so, it doesn't excuse plagiarism). That said, we don't know for sure that she isn't the author of those other posts, do we?

Generally speaking, I've greatly reduced my voting on introduceyourself posts as I do feel that the consistent rewards have become a magnet for professional scammers. It is unfortunate that what was a nice vehicle for welcoming people to the community and distributing coins has now become an incubator of abuse, but that is how things work on the Internet, so we must adapt and move forward.

What about this post you upvoted:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@ricegum/my-abortion-story-at-18-years-old-and-how-society-views-it

From the post:
"People say things like, "that must have been a tough decision", but I was a teenager in high school, and I had zero interest in having kids. It was not even a decision, it was a foregone conclusion. I feel absolutely no guilt or regret, and I have never given it a second thought since, except when the topic of abortion as a political issue comes up. I use my experience to humanize the issue for people who oppose abortion, especially when they make the argument that women only need abortions because they are irresponsible, and so because the pregnancy is a result of their own "stupidity", thy should have to suffer the consequences. I bring up the fact that I did everything "right" given the information that I had, and that my pregnancy was not a case of being "careless" or "irresponsible". I also use my situation to show how being forced to have that child would have derailed my college career, and generally ruined my life--through no fault of my own."

From
I had an abortion at 19, and it was not some "agonizing decision". I almost feel like this means there is something wrong with me, bc I have never felt one ounce of guilt over it.
https://m.reddit.com/r/TwoXChromosomes/comments/477d2n/i_had_an_abortion_at_19_and_it_was_not_some/

"People say things like, "that must have been a tough decision", but I was a teenager in college, and I had zero interest in having kids. It was not even a decision, it was a foregone conclusion. I feel absolutely no guilt or regret, and I have never given it a second thought since, except when the topic of abortion as a political issue comes up. I use my experience to humanize the issue for people who oppose abortion, especially when they make the argument that women only need abortions because they are irresponsible, and so because the pregnancy is a result of their own "stupidity", thy should have to suffer the consequences. I bring up the fact that I did everything "right" given the information that I had, and that my pregnancy was not a case of being "careless" or "irresponsible". I also use my situation to show how being forced to have that child would have derailed my college career, and generally ruined my life--through no fault of my own."

Identical, except "college" replaced for highschool.

Many other things differing between the original story and the post.

What do you think about that?

Great that you surfaced this so quickly! Thanks!

Can you upvote my post? I want to be the whale too

nice post, shame this is not the real robert kim

So...whales are heavily down voted this post. But what is the deal? Is is is scam expoit? where is the link?

Your post is out of this world and will surely blast off!

I always had that question: How do you deal with the valves and seals on the international space station? Seems like bringing the toolshed up there to be completely crazy...and they must be changed all the time I imagine. It's such a critical part of survival up there. How do you do that?

Edited because I thought this was a real astronaut.

No we don't. We have a scammer on board.

Thanks for your response! Yeah! To the mooon!!
And yes, it is indeed awesome!

Edited because I thought this was a real astronaut.

(Awesome comment removed. Shame on you for this scam attempt.)

Welcome to steemit astronaut great to have you here first astronaut on steemit , will you broadcast us from mars ? :p

Thanks ! Not from Mars, but as I said in the post above, Ill certainly support Steem from the International Space Station

Cant wait to see that coming . hopefully you come and go safely mate !

Steem to the moon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81