Community Curation and Exposing ConArtists in Steemit: The Case of @ricegum

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Today I found this post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ricegum/my-abortion-story-at-18-years-old-and-how-society-views-it

In it the user @antizvuk had witten a comment 5 hours before I found the post
"Are you sure that's your story? Didn't copy from here?
https://m.reddit.com/r/TwoXChromosomes/comments/477d2n/i_had_an_abortion_at_19_and_it_was_not_some/
http://rebrn.com/sub/TwoXChromosomes/?from=2528852"

From the post:
"People say things like, "that must have been a tough decision", but I was a teenager in high school, and I had zero interest in having kids. It was not even a decision, it was a foregone conclusion. I feel absolutely no guilt or regret, and I have never given it a second thought since, except when the topic of abortion as a political issue comes up. I use my experience to humanize the issue for people who oppose abortion, especially when they make the argument that women only need abortions because they are irresponsible, and so because the pregnancy is a result of their own "stupidity", thy should have to suffer the consequences. I bring up the fact that I did everything "right" given the information that I had, and that my pregnancy was not a case of being "careless" or "irresponsible". I also use my situation to show how being forced to have that child would have derailed my college career, and generally ruined my life--through no fault of my own."

From
I had an abortion at 19, and it was not some "agonizing decision". I almost feel like this means there is something wrong with me, bc I have never felt one ounce of guilt over it.
https://m.reddit.com/r/TwoXChromosomes/comments/477d2n/i_had_an_abortion_at_19_and_it_was_not_some/
"People say things like, "that must have been a tough decision", but I was a teenager in college, and I had zero interest in having kids. It was not even a decision, it was a foregone conclusion. I feel absolutely no guilt or regret, and I have never given it a second thought since, except when the topic of abortion as a political issue comes up. I use my experience to humanize the issue for people who oppose abortion, especially when they make the argument that women only need abortions because they are irresponsible, and so because the pregnancy is a result of their own "stupidity", thy should have to suffer the consequences. I bring up the fact that I did everything "right" given the information that I had, and that my pregnancy was not a case of being "careless" or "irresponsible". I also use my situation to show how being forced to have that child would have derailed my college career, and generally ruined my life--through no fault of my own."

But the post itself still had over $400 in rewards.

So I contacted @smooth who appeared to be the major upvoter of the post
about 30 minutes later @smooth downvoted it and now its at $3.44

So I went on to check on the other posts of @ricegum
and I found this other post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ricegum/my-sexual-assault-story-break-the-silence

From the post:
"I usually have my boyfriend with me, but he was sick. I decided to go alone. Most of the people at the fashion week was very kind. Everyone was super helpful, people helped me cross the street, I couldn't find an elevator so I asked a guy to help me find it, he was such a gentleman. I had a blast. Around midnight I was pushing my way to the metro station to make sure I didn't miss the last train. There were still huge crowds everywhere.
A tall man at a crosswalk started talking to me, asking me if I have a cigarette and then he asked me if I need help. I politely declined, but he kept insisting. The light changed and I crossed the street. I didn't realize he followed me until I made it into the station and the crowds thinned out. There were only a few people and suddenly the man was there. He offered to help me again, and again I declined. He insisted, grabbed me into the elevator. "

From:
I thought I was immune to sexual assault....I was wrong.
https://www.reddit.com/r/TwoXChromosomes/comments/3jv2vp/i_thought_i_was_immune_to_sexual_assaulti_was
"I usually have my husband with me, but he was sick. I decided to go it alone.

Most of the festival was great. Everyone was super helpful, people helped me cross the street, one guy helped me get my chair up and down an escalator when I couldn't find an elevator. I had a blast.

Around midnight I was pushing my way to the subway station to make sure I didn't miss the last train. There were still huge crowds everywhere. A guy at a crosswalk started talking to me, asking me if I needed help. I politely declined, but he kept insisting. The light changed and I crossed the street. I didn't realize he followed me until I made it into the station and the crowds thinned out. There were only a few people and suddenly he was there. He offered to help me again, and again I declined. He insisted, grabbed the handles of my chair, and wheeled me into the elevator."

This post is upvoted to the tune of $415 and is already postpayout.

@ricegum 's wallet has at this moment 275 SP and 964 Steem Dollars

@dantheman @ned @stellabelle @smooth

I look forward to hearing what the community has to say about this in the comments.

Regards,
@earnest

#abuse #conartists #curation #doyourpart

Sort:  

good catch. upvoted for your diligence and calling out the con.

she's doing damage limitation, trying to save face. or her money making venture on steemit would be over.
she only edited the original post (which was all well presented with pictures etc to make as much $ as possibke) when she saw the downvotes coming in and eating away all the 400 (look at the 11 downvotes and scroll down to see the post that exposed her and which got me and others to downvote her)
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ricegum/my-abortion-story-at-18-years-old-and-how-society-views-it

yeah, damage control, thats not gonna work with me

She is not an identity theft, here is a picture of her. But she did plagiarism from Reddit but it was just for testing, I dont think that she is that dumb and uncreative

that picture is photoshopped

who said identity theft? it was plagiarism of content.
what I meant is that her post was all well prsented to make money (well formatted, pictures etc). wasn't a test. "it's a test" was edited in later

@bacchist
Namely @lauralemons #1 advocate

You must read a lot to be able to catch a similar story copied from the internet. But good on you! Copying stories and faking identities takes away from the whole experience that is Steemit

Here's the most amazing thing though... How does the typical "I was raped" story suddenly get more valuable and worth everyone's upvote when it IS actually real, compared to when it's convincingly faked?

What actually changes about the value of that content? That's what I'd like you to think over.

Why can't we gloss over those posts and say "you were raped, so now what?" in cold blood and gotta instantly get protective of these women, smashing the upvote button for something that really doesn't contribute anything to Steemit.

Let's assume it's true - ok, she got raped. Maybe she can go talk to a therapist, work it out. She is not a fucking hero of anything just because bad things happened to her in life, and we are absolute idiots for upvoting or tolerating that stuff. It's literally preying on the primal male instinct to protect females in the group, in order to leverage the resulting social capital and turn it into steem dollars.

I agree. It's just life. And life is not fair or easy peasy most of the time. But we don't get any medals for just living. It's life.

No, you don't have to read so much. You just google it. Because these con artist are dumb: they don't use a material for inspiration, motivation, etc. They just copy/paste. Lame, unfair and unethical. And bloody stupid. But $$$ !!!

Google doesn't always work.. The artists are getting more clever.

I hear you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51