Steemit, meet the one and only *drumrolls... RENESSH!

29750066_1745595962170712_8196041335156370769_o.jpg

Hello good people! I am Renessh, 23 years old, born and raised in West Malaysia. I hail from Ipoh, one of the top 10 places recommended by Lonely Planet for Southeast Asia travels in 2016. The locals call it a retirement town, but I like to think of it as a quaint getaway for those who wanted to escape the hustle and bustle of cities like Georgetown, Penang and Kuala Lumpur. I am currently based in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, also known as the Land Below the Wind, or as I and the locals like to call it, North Borneo. I'm the tall guy addressing the elephant in the room, so you can't possibly miss it! Picture #2 is my black Tonkinese, Sabrina! Quite a handful to deal with, very intelligent, and always outsmarts me ❤

20180301_054545.jpg

Steemit was initially recommended by a friend who personally understood the weight of college debt (lol), and the urge to have a sustainable source of income by age 25. Seeing the community that Steemit inculcated has got me thinking that this platform is bigger than all of us, and that this will be a great opportunity to have proper discourse among like-minded individuals. While platforms like Reddit and Tumblr has brought discussion from around the world to new exponential heights, its fair to point out that finding a community that will be supportive and patient enough to educate you along the way is kind of like finding a legendary Pokemon; if you find it, you gotta use the Master Ball, so this is my Master Ball catch! *wink

So, first of all, thank you if you're still reading this. I can understand that people do get impatient with long reads, so not to worry, my blog will be alternating from long posts to short posts, because I'm accommodating that way. Also, in case you Steemians haven't noticed, my style of writing is very conversational too! Rest assured, some content will be following this style, while others will be quite formal, depending on the nature of the topic.

But enough about my technique, most of you must be wondering, what does this guy even write about?? Well, for starters, I was raised intellectually as a competitive debater in my high school and college years, so it became a mental discipline for me to be well-versed in many academic fields and current events. Up until today, I personally have late night shisha sessions at 24-hour mamaks (local Muslim-Indian restaurants) with my fellow debaters regarding recent events, both regional and international. However, with regards to our echo chambers and personal biases, I think it's about time I share my personal commentary with you Steemians, because who else would I rather have discussions with, other than fellow intellectuals?

I'm also a fun person, so don't close that browser tab yet! I have been on a personal discovery and adventure in my last four years, travelling around North Borneo, partaking in local activities, getting pushed out of my comfort zone on many occasions, and meeting Borneans, who are more than happy to share their unique culture and appreciation for local customs with me. As for me? Well, the journey has only just begun, so sit back, sip on that cocktail, and enjoy the content, because I also do travel content, and I promise I won't disappoint! I can't wait to give all of you a piece of my mind (in a good way😂 ). Ciao, and till next time :)

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @rjaynesh.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Hi and welcome to Steemit @rjaynesh!

To find all your Steemit Stats, I developed a tool for you called SteemTracked

Welcome to Steemit.

Thanks! Happy to be a part of this :)

Happy to see you joining us! I am sure you will be doing great with your travel tales! As you read on my other blog, don't get too disappointed if you don't do well from the start! try to build a network with other steemians and you will see success come your way!

Oh yas a Steemit whale noticed me!
senpai_noticed_me__by_dragonlover101040-d7kxqx4.png
It's going to be an uphill journey, but I am ready to grind it out. Thanks for the encouragement!

Haha I am no whale! I go by the title dolphin :) Also I. noticed you. chose only to use one tag, try to use all 5 for better exposure 😏

Noted! Will keep it in mind for my next entry!

Welcome to steemit, rjaynesh! Nice to meet you! I really hope you become successful in this platform!

Nice Pokemon reference and I am sure if you stay motivated and write something every week or days, you will do just fine. You sound like a funny guy lol. Hope we can get to know each other soon. Feel free to check out my blog posts too incase you find something there that interests you. :)

And you can come join my Discord group where we help new members like you get more exposure on Steemit: https://discord.gg/WmxRnc3

If you do not have a Discord, making one is very easy! If you need help setting it up, I will be glad to do so. Great Intro post! Upvoted and followed!

Hi nice to meet you too! I had always wanted to write but found it difficult without having proper encouragement and backing from a supportive circle, so it looks like I'm in the right place.

Great, I'll set a Discord account up right away, I could use all the help I need. Thanks again!

Yeah man, hope in time we can help you to improve. And if you do not have a local support system to support your goals, I always recommend finding people who has things in common with you with social media. And combining with Traveling, you will be surprised with the results you will get when it comes to meeting people. I wish I had entrepreneur friends in my local area but unfortunately that is not really the case so I have to become one myself. Keep motivating yourself to write every day and you will do well long term! :D

Congratulations @rjaynesh! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hey @rjaynesh! Welcome, and I hope that you will enjoy steemit!!

Congratulations @rjaynesh! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55