A few bits (actually more than a few bytes) about me

I'm new to steemit and figured it would be good to make the ol' self-intro post. I've been a user of online communities since the early 1980s (206-area-code BBS scene, 300 bps, VIC-20) and ran my own (Wildcat!) BBS in the early 1990s. Over the years I moved on through things like CompuServe and eventually reached... steemit. I'm also (reluctantly) on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+, and occasionally log in to my Diaspora* account. I'm an indie writer (see StuartWhitmoreAuthor.com for more about that), coder, photographer, USAF veteran, father of four (grown) children, and like enjoying the hiking, kayaking, and other outdoor activities available in the Pacific Northwest.

If you'd like to check out some of my writing for free, until the end of this month you can get The Vengeance of Mirickar through the Clean Summer Reading 2018 bundle, and Wolf Block through the Daring Damsels and Warrior Women bundle, both of which are on BookFunnel.

A lot of what I've seen on steemit so far seems focused on what steemit itself is about, so it seems to have not yet graduated past the "navel-gazing" stage at least for trending posts. That's understandable, but I will say up front that if you follow me you won't see much from me about blockchain stuff. I've been aware of Bitcoin since it was around $10 (yes, I've kicked myself black and blue for not buying then), but it's not a focus for me in any sense, even though I've used the technology. I'm more likely to post about writing/publishing, technology and society, and non-partisan politics.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)


Welcome to Steem @rattlesnakestu.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Very experienced!
Welcome and follow for u!

Welcome to Steem, @rattlesnakestu!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3243 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Welcome to steemit @rattlesnakestu.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Hello @rattlesnakestu. You are welcome to steemit family!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81