A Very Nervous Introduction

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Who am I?

Well, that’s a loaded question. I’ve been asking myself that for years. The problem is, just when I think I’ve got it figured out, I read a new book or discover some new Pinterest catagory and I morph into something else. It’s a little complicated, I guess. But if you’re familiar with Mr. Toad, you might compare me to him.

0248D613-0A80-4C07-9232-D1226C02812C.png

Okay, seriously, I’m first and foremost a wife and mom. A couple of years ago I would have ordered those as mom and wife. I homeschooled my kids, I was the director of my daughter’s cheerleading squad and participated in the fundraising and consession stand for my boys’ football team. I made all of the Halloween costumes and became passionate about everything they were passionate about. I just followed them around, admiring them and gushing over them.

Now that they’re all practically grown, in order to avoid that empty nest thing and to save my kids from a life long, helicopter smother, I’ve become wife first and mom when they want or need me.

My interests are many and varied. The short list includes gardening, beekeeping, crafts, BOOKS, making old things new, and techniques for de-frizzing my crazy hair.

520E6E2A-FAF1-4716-AB67-F04D7472C2C8.jpeg

What am I about?

My husband (to whom I’ll be referring as Adam from now on because it’s shorter to type and because that’s his name) and I have dreamed of homesteading for the last several years. Now that we’re getting close to having our house paid off and our kids are older, the dream is becoming a real possibility. In preparation for the big move we’ve been investing time learning skills that we can take with us to make the transition a tiny bit easier.

We live on 1/8 of an acre at the edge of a small city, or a really big town, depending on who you ask, so we’re limited as to what we have room for and what we’re legally allowed to do and have.

B7E4FA2B-5A4C-49DA-A7D1-7901DFC269E3.jpeg

But we have learned to keep bees and have them here, in our back yard, along with a few chickens and a decent sized garden. I’ve been learning to cook from scratch and how to prepare food for long term storage.

554B3E3F-7931-4BA2-B57A-D27AB38CE4A9.jpeg

The force driving us to homestead is our desire to work really hard to live a healthier, more simple life. We’re ready to work side by side in effort to provide for ourselves, and at the end of the day be thankful and proud.
In the spirit of full disclosure, my lifelong obsession with Little House on the Prairie has a little to do with it.

How did I get here and what am I gonna do about it?

I was in a waiting room and I was waiting. And waiting. For a long time. So, I started bored Googling. I came across an interesting sounding article by @scottyt and, botta-bing-botta-boom, I’ve got an account. I’m in love with this place. I’m almost waiting for the other shoe to drop on this thang. I have read so many insanely helpful posts, looked at some of the most beautiful photography I’ve seen, and witnessed generosity that I just don’t see day to day. But I’ve noticed a complete lack of trolls. No insults, no hatefulness, no back biting. Can this be real? I sure hope so.

Although the learning curve is crazy here, I think I’ll get the hang of it pretty quickly (maybe with a little help from you).My plan is to do the best I can to post regularly, maybe twice a week to start. I hope to contribute something worth your time and attention.

So that’s it.

That’s a little about me. Thanks for your time. Please, if you’ve got any suggestions for the noob, suggest away. I’ll take all the help I can get!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @powellx5! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks. I’ll check out the link!

So excited to meet you! I feel we have much in common! 😁 You're a bit ahead of me in some ways though. My kids are still teens, so they still take up a lot of my time, particularly the youngest. We also hope to get this mortgage paid off and maybe one day get a bigger place to homestead, but like you we're doing what we can with what we have.

Only thing is, when Matt tagged me I thought you might be an Aussie and got all excited about another Aussie homesteader wannabe. Shame you're so far away. 🙁 Ah well, like your sense of humour and hope you'll enjoy it on here and stick around. It can be a bit slow going to start with, but there are some lovely communities. There is a homesteading one! If you want to know more just let me know, but I don't to throw it all at you at once and scare you off! 😆 I think there is a USA community too.

My main tip would be: don't do things for the money on here, do things for you and count the money as a bonus. When you're genuine and share good content then you will grow.

Thanks so much! As far as the money goes, it is great bonus. My real motovation for joining and participating here goes a little beyond that though. I've been threatening to start some sort of blog for about a year to sort of document where we're at, where we want to be and the progress we've made. I guess I could buy a diary, but if I could get some pointers from those with more experience, learn from someone elses mistakes, make a like minded friend or two and possibly help someone out who's on a similar path, that would make it way more fun. But, I've been pretty hesitant about it. I've never really written anything, and it's intimidating to me. (It took me 3 days to work up the courage to start an account and another couple to actually introduce myself!) Also, I gave up on social media and anything interactive online years ago. I can't stand all the trolls and annonymous hatefulness out there. It's not that I'm thin skinned, I just find it super un-fun to have to drudge through it all to find something helpful or funny or uplifting. I just can't get over how different it is here.

Your reasons to blog sound similar to mine. I'm also not normally big on social media, but what motivated me to brave it and start sharing was Justin Rhodes saying, whatever you're doing, share it to help other people to start doing it. Thankfully I haven't had too many encounters with trolls, probably because what I'm sharing attracts similar people and let's be honest, homesteaders are pretty open minded and caring people. We all do things a bit differently and that's perfectly fine. It helps us learn new things. 😁

You're so right though with steemit, it does seem to be the domain of much more generous people (at least those who stick around) from all lifestyles and the trolls don't seem to last long.

Glad you didn't choose to buy a diary as we wouldn't be able to share your experiences. 😉

If we all did and thought the exact same way, we would never need to communicate with anyone! Some of my favorite people are the ones that are SO different from me! (If you knew me very well, you might find out that I’m all the ‘me’ I could handle! LOL)

Welcome :)
Great to see the homesteading community growing.
@minismallholding and @ligayagardener are active and enthusiastic homesteading posters; also lovely people.
I wrote a quick, basic explanation of how steemit works.
We're always happy to help any way we can. Following you now.

So, yeah. That explanation was definately worth reading. I've still got a lot to learn, but as the anti-tech that I am, I appriciated the plain English explanations for some things I've had a rather difficult time wrapping my head around.

Thanks :)
If you're stuck on anything just ask.

Thanks for the tag Matt I feel like you know me so well!
It took me a while to figure out how I was going to find this though as my notification didn't take me to it. Talk about slow off the mark! 😆

Welcome!!! Saw your comment on @pennsif post earlier and wanted to stop by and welcome you personally!

Was it the retention and mentoring post? Thanks for stopping by! Have a beautiful day!

Welcome to steemit. We have been off grid for over 10 years. Love your story. Looking forward to reading more about your journey! Hang in there. Well worth it!

Hangin' in there like a kitty poster! 😎

Welcome!!!!!!! It’s great to see more people from our beautiful state on Steemit!!!

I'm so excited that there are so many like minded people on here that are so close to me!

I guess that would depend on where you are exactly!!! @hethur240 @melodyrussell @rockchickjen @hangrydwarf @jakeimnotshure @kayla.denise and @johnbutler are all in the same small town of mountain view

Wow! There’s not much work in setting up a meet up then!! My husband almost bought some land in Wilow Springs. I think that’s just a skip west of you.

I think we are a part of something truly special here, and I welcome you! Another early adopter to this amazing technology.

Welcome to Steemit, friend. It's great to have you here. Explore and have fun while we blog. @greatness96

Thanks. It's great to be here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62804.06
ETH 2964.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60