You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Very Nervous Introduction

So excited to meet you! I feel we have much in common! 😁 You're a bit ahead of me in some ways though. My kids are still teens, so they still take up a lot of my time, particularly the youngest. We also hope to get this mortgage paid off and maybe one day get a bigger place to homestead, but like you we're doing what we can with what we have.

Only thing is, when Matt tagged me I thought you might be an Aussie and got all excited about another Aussie homesteader wannabe. Shame you're so far away. 🙁 Ah well, like your sense of humour and hope you'll enjoy it on here and stick around. It can be a bit slow going to start with, but there are some lovely communities. There is a homesteading one! If you want to know more just let me know, but I don't to throw it all at you at once and scare you off! 😆 I think there is a USA community too.

My main tip would be: don't do things for the money on here, do things for you and count the money as a bonus. When you're genuine and share good content then you will grow.

Sort:  

Thanks so much! As far as the money goes, it is great bonus. My real motovation for joining and participating here goes a little beyond that though. I've been threatening to start some sort of blog for about a year to sort of document where we're at, where we want to be and the progress we've made. I guess I could buy a diary, but if I could get some pointers from those with more experience, learn from someone elses mistakes, make a like minded friend or two and possibly help someone out who's on a similar path, that would make it way more fun. But, I've been pretty hesitant about it. I've never really written anything, and it's intimidating to me. (It took me 3 days to work up the courage to start an account and another couple to actually introduce myself!) Also, I gave up on social media and anything interactive online years ago. I can't stand all the trolls and annonymous hatefulness out there. It's not that I'm thin skinned, I just find it super un-fun to have to drudge through it all to find something helpful or funny or uplifting. I just can't get over how different it is here.

Your reasons to blog sound similar to mine. I'm also not normally big on social media, but what motivated me to brave it and start sharing was Justin Rhodes saying, whatever you're doing, share it to help other people to start doing it. Thankfully I haven't had too many encounters with trolls, probably because what I'm sharing attracts similar people and let's be honest, homesteaders are pretty open minded and caring people. We all do things a bit differently and that's perfectly fine. It helps us learn new things. 😁

You're so right though with steemit, it does seem to be the domain of much more generous people (at least those who stick around) from all lifestyles and the trolls don't seem to last long.

Glad you didn't choose to buy a diary as we wouldn't be able to share your experiences. 😉

If we all did and thought the exact same way, we would never need to communicate with anyone! Some of my favorite people are the ones that are SO different from me! (If you knew me very well, you might find out that I’m all the ‘me’ I could handle! LOL)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69279.36
ETH 3870.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73