Finally Brave Enough To Post

IMG_20180121_180717.jpg

Hello there. I'm Lisa, a front-end developer living in the Research Triangle area, and, as you can maybe tell from my picture, things are really changing for me at the moment. It's not just tacos that I'm carrying around.

I have an MA in English as well as my BS in computer science. My original plan was to become an English professor, but I decided against it past a certain point. Then, after a year working, I decided to go back to school. I've been loving the new industry thus far.

RaleighCropped.jpg

My hobbies are all over the place and, truthfully, I have a bit of a problem with finishing things that I start. But just below you'll find the finished result of one of my hobbies, subversive cross stitching. I love crafts, music (I play some guitar and piano and sing), books, movies, TV shows, music, and pushing code.

IMG_20180121_181015.jpg

Another thing that I love to do but that may slow down for a while is travel. Below is a picture of one of my favorite places I've been up until now, which is New Zealand. This is a stream created by water coming off of a glacier.

IMG_20170305_145401.jpg

Feel free if you want to chat about anything I've posted above. And I'll be checking out some of the more recent introductory posts as well.

Sort:  

Welcome :) Have you heard of @utopian-io yet? It's a must know for a developer! Greets

Ooh. Being so new here, I have not. I'll have to check it out! Thanks for the suggestion.

Hello, and welcome to the magical place called Steemit! It's cool to see someone with both English and CS academic background—that's not a common combo.

I studied English, like to dabble with code as a hobby, and currently work as a freelance writer/editor. Despite what most might think, I see a strong connection between creating a well written argument and making code that works as expected.

If you haven't discovered it already, there's a really cool project built on Steem called Utopian. You submit contributions you've made to open source projects and get rewarded with upvotes from the well funded @utopian-io account. Last I heard they were looking for devs to help with some projects featured on the platform, so that could be a great opportunity to earn some Steem!

Hey there! Thanks for the welcome.

I have definitely found connections between the logical reasoning it takes to build up an argument for an English paper and writing logical statements for code as well. I'm actually in the process of writing a long blog post to those studying at a graduate level in the humanities to argue for why they'd probably be pretty good at working in tech.

And I definitely have to check out Utopian since you're not the first to mention it. I've been wanting to contribute to open source for a while, but have not had an easy time finding the right project to contribute to. Maybe this would be a good place to look and a good way to get started with open source.

Great, I will look forward to your post!

Your sentiments about contributing to open source mirror my own. There are a bunch of cool projects just within the Steem ecosystem to look into, and you can connect with the Utopian folks on Discord for ideas too.

Hello Lisa. Welcome!!! I am sure you will enjoy Steemit! This is a great community. Blog, share your views, hobbies and more, take part of different challenges: black and white photo challenge, color challenge, food, running etc...there is one for everyone.. The key is to connect with people and upvote what you like (flag spammers) etc...
If here for the crypto, it's tough to make Steem$ at the beginning but that becomes easy once you find people that share common interest. So follow, engage with people, leave comments, upvote their posts and resteem...enjoy

Thanks for all of the suggestions. I'll definitely be looking around for awesome content and folks to follow. Do the challenges show up in any particular place or are they generally spread around the platform?

Sevendaybnwphotochallenge someone should nominate you (I nominated bunch of friends and they still have 4-5 days to go, they are also new so they would love to meet new people and they can nominate you). Color challenge just jump in... MondayRed
TuesdayOrange
WednesdayYellow
ThursdayGreen
FridaySkyblue
SaturdayIndigo
SundayPurple

Post anything (photo, art) with the color of the day
Title and tag your post: colorchallenge (first tag!) and tag the color day as well. Repeat it 7 times or more, with the 7 colors.

Animalphotography is another challenge. I also found food, architecture etc... Mostly by searching you will find some cool stuff in this site

Hi Lisa! Welcome to Steem!

I'm not all that into the tech speak, but I see artsy and developer mentioned here, so I thought I would mention that you should check out @slothicorn, an artistic community here on Steem that is working on some cool projects!

The Fresh Five is a new Steemian curation effort, geared toward rewarding new Steemians who deliver interesting, fun, thought provoking, or just plain silly introduction posts.

We invite you to come to our Engagement Post and join the comment thread where we hope to encourage engagement and interaction with your fellow Steemians.

Each week we go out and invite new Steemians to our weekly engagement post, where you can get to know some other new Steemians, and some more established folks who like to welcome new members of our community. We hope to see you there!

Looking forward to seeing you dig in to Steem and join the community!

Hello. Thanks so much!

Thanks so much for another suggestion of what to follow. And I love the name of this community, as it's a mix of two of my favorite animals :D.

I'll definitely head over to your post to check it out and chat some.

Helloo Lisa! Welcome to Steemit, I'm new on this too! Good luck! 😃

Hey there! I believe I have you a follow back. Nice to meet you.

Hey 😀🙌 welcome to steemit! Enjoy your steemit journey

You can follow my blog @jofomaja on how to do creative marketing even here on steemit

I promise I won’t waste your time.

Thanks so much for the welcome. I'll definitely give your blog a look.

welcome here and enjoy with steemit

Thanks so much!

Your welcome to this great platform, I am sure your dream of becoming professor will come through. I wish you success.

Congratulations @polowhatever, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations on the taco in the oven :)! Welcome to the future! And thanks for upvoting my art - not sure how you found me, but cool! Love the subversive cross-stitching. HaHa!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69