Hello Steemit! I'm Paul from the UK

My name is Paul Thompson...

Just getting the hang of Steemit via my first post and trying to understand how the site works! I'm a software engineer from the UK and I'm also interested in photography, walking/hiking, technology and business topics.

My Details

  • Age 45
  • Software Engineer

What I like

I enjoy football (soccer!), baseball, snooker and some other sports, not that I play them anymore, just watching! Love interesting stories either in print or via films/TV, especially stuff that makes you think (or makes your brain hurt!). Some lovely places to walk here in England too which I enjoy. Also love researching software and technology issues outside of work for personal projects and development as well as topics in entrepreneurship.

What I code

Aside from personal projects I write scientific/analysis software for a global engineering organisation. Mainly work using C++, Java, and recently Go! My personal projects are more web related with PHP / Wordpress and the like!

A Bit more about me

I dable in currency / forex trading but only on a hobby basis. I enjoy the technology side of crypto such as Smart Contracts as well as the potential they obviously offer from the currency perspective.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Hi @paul-thompson!! Welcome to Steem Community! I hope you enjoy #steemit.

I'd like to invite you to join Newcomers Community. There is a program where you will go through a series of achievements and completing some tasks so you get to learn more about this great platform. For a start, please check out this post, @cryptokannon will guide you!!

There are many growing communities here that you may want to join.

For music, check out Music For Steem 🎵 .

For writing, Writing & Reviews Community.

Steemit Nursery is a community for you, as Steemit Newborn, to be accompanied at the beginning of your Steemit journey.

For photography, World of Xpilar hosts many photography contests.

Please follow @steemitblog for the latest update and news on steem and @steemingcurators for Steem Community contest and challenges.

Have a nice day!

The Steemit Team

You have been upvoted by belenguerra, Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.


Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community!

Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60420.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60