Greetings Steemit community! Cryptocurrency Youtuber @LouisThomas introduced me!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians!

I just joined Steemit yesterday and I understand that the first thing to do is to introduce myself. So here goes! Please find below photographic evidence that it is indeed really me that is currently struggling to write this post due to the number of cats demanding my attention.

Who am I?

I am a London-based writer, backpacker, artist, photographer, cloud appreciator, tea drinker and cat servant. I have a background in psychology and sociology, followed by a career in crime and intelligence analysis, including researching organised crime. Since moving on from that world, I spent a while travelling around South East Asia and am now settled back in London, where I live with my wife and 3 cats. These days I spend most of my time researching, writing, watercolouring (see some of my work below) and cat shepherding. I've been vegan for a year and a half and have never looked back. I'm also a big fan of video games and I spend a lot of time in virtual reality - I'm in love with my Oculus Rift! I'm also member #39,973 of the Cloud Appreciation Society - and as I'm frequently asked to clarify by geeky-types, I mean the actual clouds in the sky, not Cloud Storage (although that's great too!). If anyone has any questions for me, please feel free to leave them below and I'll answer as soon as I can.

How did I find Steemit?

I have recently plunged into the world of cryptocurrency, after many years of standing on the sidelines kicking myself for not buying Bitcoin when I had the chance in 2012. This has involved me consuming a lot of Youtube content, including the fantastic videos produced by @LouisThomas. One of his videos covered Steemit and I was sold from that moment on!


What do I plan to write about?

My main passions when it comes to writing all broadly fall under the categories of philosophy, cosmology and consciousness. I'm fascinated by the mind, the human experience, the Universe at large, and how incredible and strange it is to be anything at all. I like to explore the existential dilemmas we all face, the beauty of the universe, what it means to be truly alive, and to remind people that the ongoing wow is happening right now!


Where else can you find me?


References & Thanks:

@jatinhota - Thanks for helping my account creation go through smoothly.

@teamsteem - Thanks for creating some guidance for what a good introduction post should include, it really helped me get started.

(All images used in this post are my own)

Sort:  

Welcome!

Thanks @geekgirl - I'm interested in mindfulness too so I'll be following you :)

Welcome to steemit :D
following you now.

Thanks very much, following you too :) Wow, Hua Hin looks really beautiful. I can't want to get back to Thailand some day. One of my favourite countries in the world.

A very warm welcome here on steemit. I have been a cat "servant" too. I adore these animals. You are a very talented artist. Like to read from you in future. :)

Thanks for the welcome and your kind words :) I'll be posting more over the weekend.

Welcome my dear friend.. Good work.. Follow me, upvote for you

Thanks for the follow Kaleem!

Welcome. Follow me 2 n keep in touch

I subscribe to @LouisThomas too, welcome to Steemit from Canada 👍

Thanks :) He's great - are there any other recommendations you can give me for good crypto channels? I'm a fan of Box Mining and Data Dash.

Besides @LouisThomas of course, here are some of the other channels I find interesting...

Crypt0
The Cryptoverse
Kubera
AVI LSD
Sunny Decree
jsnip4
RoadtoRoota
Crypto Blood
Clif High
Arcane Bear
CryptoNick
Crypto Jay

Just take them all with a grain of salt...
Beware the Bitconnect pumpers, and some of the political rhetoric that may be espoused, I don't always agree with their content, but it's always good to digest alternate points of view to get a wider perspective of the landscape.

Ooh thanks, there are plenty of channels I haven't heard of there. I'll check them out. :)

Nice post! I saw that you are new on steemit so welcome to the steemit platform. Have one upvote on the house and full steem ahead!
Getting those big upvotes on a new account can be a daunting task, believe me, so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have more info on my experience with the system in this post where I explain how I earn over $1 a day from upvotes.
PS! If you would like to get free cryptocurrency by airdrop then www.powtoken.com is giving away free tokens to everyone who signs up using only a facebook account!

Welcome aboard! And thanks for the shout-out too :)

You're welcome :) Keep up the great work.

Welcome Onboard. Cute cats. :) That is a lot of things, talking about your career, your background, and you were a traveler too. That's Great. Thanks for sharing, it was a good post. Have fun Steeming.

Thanks for the message, the Steemit community have been really welcoming. Yeah, my background is quite a strange mixture! I just read your SteemFest post, and I'm looking forward to reading more about how it went :)

You are welcome. I would love to hear all about your strange background. :) Sure, I will share more about SteemFest soon. :)

Any questions in particular?

I would love to know all, whatever you are sharing. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93