a small greeting, a small story

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! I have been brooding over what to write for my first post for a couple of days now and it makes me a little nervous; so nervous, actually, that I posted this on accident before I finished writing it! Yikes!! There are already so many comments. So, here is my nervous face:

WIN_20170615_222942.JPG

What have I done!? Anuuuuuu!!!! LOL. Look, even the panda in the background feels my struggle. Welp! It was nice meeting you all. Hang on, let me smile for ze camera:

WIN_20170615_223301.JPG

Annnd... A little bit about myself... I love pandas and physics. I think physics really amazes me because it reminds me of God and I can apply it to life! Right now I'm working as a student intern in the physics department for the college I attend. I joined steemit because I would like to share my stories and crazy ideas (and my crazy faces) with you all.

Here is a short piece of writing I wrote not too long ago. It is a response to Virginia Woolf's, A Room of One's Own:

This, I shall conclude, though dubious to the opposite sex it may appear: I am not an imposter; I am, as you say, Shakespeare's sister, but no more will I be called or known by such a title because now, Shakespeare is Sabrina's deceased brother. That man with uncanny talent and wit lost his sanity and suffocated himself to death. He dropped the torch. Yet, before the flames were extinguished, I took hold of it and nursed it alight til it turned all other lights into darkness.

The passions of the pen, of the sciences, of the wits, of the mathematics, of the different kinds of knowledge to be learned in all their shaded and highlighted colors, burned in me; and it was an all consuming fire to behold. What soul could possibly contain the fire without being melted away by it?

I am not alone. Rise up, sisters of Shakespeare, for your sibling, beloved as he was by many, lay cold in death with nothing to rouse him from his eternal slumber. Stand firm, then, in the midst of all these contentious and condescending individuals who jeer at the notion of your learning. They say you are incapable, not because your logic is incorrect, or because your skills cannot be honed and fine-tuned to the task at hand, but because you are of the wrong sex. Rise up, women of passion. We are not puppets that are to be doll's up in the writings of men for the entertainments of men, by which, in the past, was how we first obtained our strong cadent voices.

I promise, I typed all of that at the speed of light! ~Inner voice: NO! Comments are popping up! I can't see what they're all saying! Must... type faster!!!!~

~Deep Breath~
Hello fellow, steemians. My name is Sabrina Kramer and... this is my grumpy cat face:

WIN_20170615_224824.JPG

My apologies for the premature post! It was a newbie mistake.

~Yours truly, omega-not

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! You are going to love it here :)
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Helloooo, thank you for the welcome! It's definitely been fun chatting with everyone.

Great to see you on here! Welcome! Looking forward to more of your work. You have great talent. And no one else can make a better grumpy cat face!

Thanks Denise! I will be working to put out some writing and maybe some small comics once a week.

Comics!!!! Yes. The world could use more pure-hearted comics.

Hello, thanks lol, I updated my post >.> since I posted it on accident.

Welcome to Steemit @omega-not :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Hi Sabrina, it is great to see you here on Steemit! I have been saying this to many people for years, that you are one of the most talented writers that I know. This post continues to prove it. Your wit and insights are always a welcome breeze to the world!

Thanks Joe! I'm happy to join. I have already followed you and read some of your comics! I'm inspired to start drawing some comics as well.

Welcome to steemit! I am sure that you will enjoy it. Best of luck!

Thank you! I am excited and ready! ヽ(^。^)丿

You are funny. Welcome to steemit! You will do great!

Thank you for your support!

⊂゚U┬────┬~

(This is a picture of a weenier dog. They're my favorite dogs.)

welcome i am new here too I was very nervous too i just said screw it haha :) good luck have fun!

Thanks pizza! You know, I actually wrote out what I was going to type while I was travelling on the bus. This came out instead after I accidentally posted while I was partially through with what I was typing. So I typed it all in a frantic state. Hee hee.

Hello there @omega-not and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57910.39
ETH 2452.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35