Introducing Myself to the world of Steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi everybody!
I just wanted to tell you a little bit about myself and how I came to be living off-grid in Spain.

29597947.jpg

I had always wanted a different life from what was offered on the tiny island of Jersey where I was born, and I had always wanted to get away from the system it was a part of. After a tragic incident that changed my life completely, I felt compelled to do what I had always wanted to do. So, I bought a piece of land in Spain with a ruined house full of donkey shit in it. It decision was probably the best one I ever made.

11069609.jpg

Since then I got in touch with my love of making things out of the recycled materials, and eco-building. One of our eco-buildings, the lodge, was made and furnished almost exclusively from repurposed materials that we have found at the local rubbish dumps, and straw bales. This was a refreshing change from spending far too long working in the tech industry, in the dark basements of shops.

IMG_5947_edited.jpg

I also came here with the goal of building a community of like minded folk, living off-grid and as sustainably as possible. I have never wanted to accept any money off of people if they want to come and live here as I don’t feel like I own this piece of land. I have the right to be here, but ultimately it belongs to the earth and its people. As long as you can support yourself, and are not an asshole, you can come and share this place with me.
I am a nice guy, but I’ve got zero time for bullshit and inauthentic people.

I have a real passion for growing trees. We even attempt to grow a few vegetables, even though it’s incredibly hard to grow anything in our dry little section of Spain.
I love to watch the trees grow. I purposefully chose the fastest growing, Drought tolerant trees from around this area, with the most shade, to put around the front of my house. It’s amazing how much they have grown in such a short amount of time.

love growing my own chillies, and I aspire to one day have a chilli farm where I make can make and sell my own crazy hot sauces, and all manner of chilli related products. My favourite chilli is the Carolina Reaper, it’s supposed to be the hottest chilli in the world… I could do hotter, but I don’t know whether my asshole could handle it.

I like to get tattoos in different places that I go on my travels, so I have lots of stories connected to the scribbles on my body. These days I travel around in my van with my dog, Marley and my girlfriend @kristaluton. I am grateful for my van; she has been on many great adventures and is still going, just about! We have lived in a field in Cornwall, in a forest, and near great lakes.
14938224.jpg

IMG_9237.JPG

I sincerely hope that the adventures continue, with a Jack Daniels in one hand and a spliff in the other. Adios Amigos.

Sort:  

Great post bro. I'm not an envious person but this stirs some envy in me just a little bit ... Do you have a contact email? I have some Brit friends, experienced folk, working on starting an offgrid permaculture project in Spain, and looking for viable locations. Need any more people where you are?

Anyway best of luck on Steemit!

Hey @wildmanhowling. Thanks for the comment. I'm certainly interested in expanding the community. There are a couple of us here right now and would be happy to talk with others that are interested.
Contact email: [email protected]

Thanks @offgridliving - sorry for tardy response, your reply got lost in my list ... I will pass on your email to the group and will also drop you a line myself once I get a free moment (I'm juggling several eggs at the mo and I'm not the greatest of jugglers!).


Welcome to Steem @offgridliving.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thanks

One love brother. Glad you made it onto steemit. You should do well here.

Thanks man, yeah still figuring out the best way to proceed here. Much to learn

Hello Craig, very welcome to the great Steemit community. Good introduction pos: Interesting way of living, want more from Spain so steem on. Wish you the best in the future. :)

Thanks @karja , will do my best to get some good content up about off grid life in Spain

hello offgridliving great post there and welcome to the steemit as always!! by the way.. i love the idea of your for being completelly sustainable by yourselves there.. if i didnt mind to ask without any if you dont mind... what is the story behind all of it why you did what you did??

Welcome to the steemit family sir!,
I really appreciate your introduction and the best thing I liked was that you like getting tattooed , which even I too like to do.!...

Thanks @nirmalrao. You can never have to many tattoo's

That's true..

Welcome to Steem, @offgridliving!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3208 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Bienvenido a Steemit!, muy interesante tu post, me parece un excelente modo de vida, algun dia espero vivir asi con la persona que amo, bueno a darle! espero ver mas post sobre tus aventuras!, Saludos desde Venezuela!

sir,loved your family!!god bless you!! 💘

Welcome to steemit, this is going to be a blast for your. Enjoy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29