Totally NEW. First Time. Rookie. Hi Everyone :-)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Mark.jpg

So I am what you call a third culture kid. My mother is American, my father is German, but I grew up in Africa and Asia, as my father worked for the UN, so we moved around every 3 to 4 years. Back in 2000 I co-founded a non-profit organization, called Global Nomads Group - we connect thousands of youth around the world for meaningful dialogue and exchange - essentially getting youth to appreciate each others similarities and respect each others differences, using remote broadcasting and various online platforms. (www.gng.org - for all you cryptocurrency billionaires - there is a donate button).

I wrote a kids book - didn't take off in a big way but the intention is to inspire young kids to learn about cool places around planet earth and for parents (& older brothers and sisters and grandparents alike) to learn about those places as well whilst reading the book to the child! The book is free (you can find it off of smashwords) but thought my first 10 posts (starting with this introduction one) would be of the 10 places I introduce in the book.....first spot is in a beautiful country in Southern Africa, called Botswana:

The Okavango Delta is situated in Southern Africa in the country known as Botswana. The capital of Botswana is Gaborone. People speak Setswana in Botswana as well as English and other local languages. The Okavango Delta is a huge swamp area, actually it is the worlds largest inland swamp! To learn more about the Okavango and Botswana click the link:

Okovango-Delta-Botswana.tiff

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Okavango_Delta

If you have gotten this far, it means you read my first post and I am most appreciative. I hope that you enjoyed learning about the Okavango Delta, and I will be posting more about cool places around Planet Earth :-)

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @nomadbean!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Thank you for your informative introduction to Steemit. It is most appreciated.

Welcome, informative article, good start, keep it up! I follow you, I hope you will follow me. We will develop the community together! 😉

Hello Dmitry - Thanks and yes let's work at sharing interesting things with the whole Steemit community. Nice picture you posted of you snowboarding! I am not a professional climber, but I trained and recently climbed Mount Kilimanjaro....highest mountain in Africa!
Kili-Steemit.jpg

Welcome to Steem Nomad Bean!

The art in your book looks super cute... and well done for creating non-profit! That's pretty amazing! Can't wait to see what else you post about!

If you have any questions on Steem or the platform, please feel free to ask. It can be confusing, but I'll try my best to help out.

Have fun!

Thank you very much for offering your help. If i get stuck or have a question, good to know that I can ask you for advice! Thanks for welcoming me on Steemit. From 2015 to 2017 I lived in Myanmar, and on my way back to Europe, I visited Australia for the first time....beautiful country. I loved the blue mountains outside of Sydney!

Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about how to succeed on steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment and non plagiarised posts
https://discord.gg/WaeJXmE
Join the discord channel today and learn something in the academy of life

Hello .. welcome to steemit.. its amazing to live in many countries!
I want to know about your work also UN in other countries...

Hi Nomad! We really like your ideas and goals... so...

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-march-27th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

We have a new competition at the moment too. Here are the details:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-new-fresh-five-delegation-for-curation-initiative-help-find-great-new-steemians-and-be-rewarded-with-sp

Welcome to Steem!

Lauren Southern did a South Africa documentary. For me, I was born in Oregon, USA, and my grandpa was born in the Netherlands but may have been partly German. I love to do art, music, film, games, sports.

Welcome to the platform, like the work you put in hope you like it here and will do well, traveled for years and post about it now, love learning from other cultures! will for sure keep an eye out for your posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66269.64
ETH 3568.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.06