Hello Steem, I’m here to make you thinksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Who am I? My name is Noel De Martin, and I like to call myself a Problem Solver. If we need to go into specifics I will tell you I am a Software Developer, a Software Architect, an Entrepreneur. I could have easily become something else entirely, like a Physicist or Mathematician. But since I began walking this path almost 10 years ago I haven’t really found the time to diverge elsewhere!

I’ve seen it’s customary to leave a picture in this first post so here you go, this is me:
steem.jpeg

Why am I here?

After reading the title and that first paragraph you may be wondering what I plan to do here. Well, as part of problem solving (or maybe as a consequence? Or the other way around? Who knows) I like to reflect and analyze multiple topics, but I usually do it inside my head. I’ve always thought about doing some blogging and sharing some of my thoughts, which I started some years ago without too much follow up. So this time I plan to stick to it.

I always love to read articles that make me think, make me ponder, make me see something from a different perspective. And that’s what I will try to do, so don’t expect too many technical posts about specific technologies or how tos. But you could for example find a post about naming things (which is more difficult than you think).

My opinion of Steem

I have to say I’m quite excited about this new approach to blogging and sharing content. Blockchains have been around for some time now, but I hadn’t started looking into their technical details until recently. My opinion of Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies is generally good from an idea standpoint, but I don’t agree with many of the aspects on how it’s been put into practice. But I have to say, Steem seems to fix a lot of what I don’t like about that and kicks it up a notch. Although I still haven’t fully analyzed it yet, keep an eye for a post once I do that!

The main problem I seem to find so far is a high percentage of bot activity :(. It’s understandable given the premise and the anarchy of the system, but I still think at the end this can be a fantastic platform to share my thoughts and brain rambles!

Anyways, nice to meet you and I expect to see you around!

Sort:  

W e l c o m e A b o a r d
I a m n o t a b o t

Nice observation, but they are actually pretty good at self regulating, and I'm sure some bot limiting tweaks will be forthcoming.
That still detracts little from all the positives on the platform.
Welcome, look forward to more thought provoking!

As I understand it (as I said, I still have to look this with more detail), the access to the blockchain is not controlled by anyone, this portal "steemit.com" is only an interface to interact with the blockchain, so theorically there is nothing that can be done to stop bots :(. It can be limited through this interface though which is "easier to use". Although it's true that creating an account seems to require some kind of validation, I'm not sure if that's only part of this portal or the blockchain itself.

But yes, it definetly looks promising regardless of that :D.

Hey, welcome. There's quite a few articles that can make you think here.

Nice to meet you, Noel aka Software guy! :)) You definitely seem an interesting personality. Where are you at in the picture?
Will look forward to your posts! Followed

I am into motivation, psychology and healthy lifestyle, in case you would like to visit my channel :) VALUE guaranteed

Hi there! In that picture I am in Setcases, Catalonia; close to the Pyrenees. Usually there isn't so much snow, but the weather has been really cold these days. I'm also interested in those topics, so I'll also check your channel.

I've just Googled to check that place out. Really nice, would love to visit someday :) Thank you for your reply.

Happy you joined.

Welcome to Steemit :)

welcome!! follow me :)

Welcome to steemit! I look forward to reading your blogs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75