My introduction: from Scotland to London to Paris to Tokyo to Steemit!

Hello Steemit, I’m Nick Sikorski.

I’ve technically been on Steemit for a few months now, but haven’t gotten around to introducing myself (or indeed publishing anything) properly until now, so please excuse the delay…

So, about myself, then:

In my late thirties now, I’ve moved around a bit in my life: born and raised in Scotland, I went to School in France, university in England and Japan, worked ten years in Paris and now live in Tokyo. Same goes for work and study, I’ve been all over the place: studied Japanese Studies (Japanese language, history and culture) as an undergrad in Durham, Japanese Art History as a postgrad in London; then worked roughly five years in wine in Scotland and a further ten in spirits in Paris; then got fed up with working for other people, and dealing with big, inefficient and uninterested organisations.

I then embarked on a path of independence, interest in ecological matters, good health and happiness, and the search for a way out of the system. That led me to take a Permaculture Designer Certificate (PDC) in 2015, followed by two more courses in permaculture and organic/micro/bio-intensive farming the same year and then a fourth course - this time much longer - in all aspects of organic and market gardening over summer last year.

At the same time as I was doing all this I was discovering more and more about how the world really works on the geopolitical and social levels - developing on an earlier realisation awoken by the likes of Ron Paul - by subscribing to The Corbett Report, Boiling Frogs (and now Newsbud), We Are Change and, more recently, Voluntary Japan (aka Steemer/Steemian senpai kafkanarchy84).

Naturally, I couldn’t help but pull all of this together. So that’s where I’m at right now: based in Tokyo, Japan (moved here last year to get the hell out of the disaster zone that is the EU), I’m working towards setting myself up as an independent, liberty-minded, autonomous, permaculture-and-natural-farming-influenced and - if I can (anyone have any ideas, let me know!) - voluntaryist organic farmer. With that goal in mind, I have just set up a blog - korekaranoka.wordpress.com - to document my path and thoughts that occur along the way and, hopefully, to open more people's eyes to the wonders of Japanese natural food and farming.

Although I don’t want my account here on Steemit to be a simple copy-and-paste affair of all that I publish on my blog, I do like the idea of using blockchain as a means to establish that I own all the content that appears there, and ensuring that it remains accessible should the powers-that-shouldn’t-be ever decide to vaporise wordpress.

So, there you go, how’d I do?

All the best guys and I love to hear from you if you have any tips on how to make a worthwhile contribution to this site and community.

P.S. to prove I am who I say I am, there’s a link to my account page here on my blog, in the About section: https://korekaranoka.wordpress.com/about/

Sort:  

Hi @abdullar! Thank you! Seems like your life has taken an unusual and interesting path, too ;)

Welcome to steemit @nicksikorski =) I'm very interested in permaculture, but do not have the knowledge yet. Would be nice if you post about this subject on steemit. Following you to see more. Best wishes !(By the way, atm is an abbreviation of "at the moment")

Hi @lastminunteman ! Thanks for your reply! Yes, there don't seem to be too many genuine permaculturists on steemit right now. Unfortunately, most permaculturists seem to be of the left-wing, neo-liberal variety: hopefully here on Steemit we'll be able to change that!

hello @nicksikorski.

Welcome to Steemit. I checked your blog and i love your mission. Looking forward to your post.
I followed you.

HI @ogochukwu ! Thanks for your kind words! I heard there was a big bitcoin following in Africa: is it the same for Steemit, too?

i have met only two Africans so far on steemit. @nicksikorski

Sounds like you're a pioneer then, my friend ;)

Welcome to steemit @nicksikorski. Best of luck to you. Well done intro post

Hi @gringalicious ! Thanks for the kind words!

Welcome to Steemit! :))

@pilgrimtraveler Hello there! Wow, looks like you've been about even more than me!

welcome to this community i am a college student majorin business administration and marketing and 5 months ago i started to learn the japanese language. its very interesting to see some who moved there and a person that likes farming in general. see you in your new posts!

HI @filotasriza3 ! I think I've been to your country. If I'm right I was very pleasantly surprised: was half expecting it to be all riots, insecurity and bad service. Now I'm beginning to suspect that all the countries you hear bad things about in the mainstream press are the ones worth visiting ;)

@nickikorski yes i believe you guessed right :P . i couldn't agree more more with what you said and, imagine that not only people from all over the world get a bad idea of what is happening but our people too. i live in the capital and some of my relatives that are located in my village ( 4 hours far, it is consider some distance in here :P ) called me and asked me if me and my family are ok. welcome again and i am waiting for your posts

@filotasriza3 I don't know if you've heard of Doug Casey, a libertarian investor who sends out newsletters under the Casey Research, Casey Daily Dispatch and International Man titles? Anyway, I think he said something similar in one of his recent mails, and he's a multi-millionaire so he, if anyone, should be scared of being robbed.

nah i dont know him but i will check him out to learn a few things about him, thanks for letting me know

Welcome to Steemit, @nicksikorski

Hi @steemvest17 ! You come from a beautiful part of the world: hope to be able to visit it some day, now that I live in Asia, too...

Thanks @nicksikorski, if you come here, you can call me :)

Welcome onboard @nicksikorski! I've been experimenting and writing about all sorts of stuff in long-form to short-form and just making friends all around for the past half year. Looks like you've plenty to share & contribute - all the best!

PS: I'm particularly interested in permaculture / farming since I've a side project on it atm - gave you a follow! Feel free to reach out anytime, there's a companion chat website at the moment at https://steemit.chat

Hi Kevin! Thanks for the reply! I'm interested in atm: what is it? haven't heard of it before...

Abbreviation... At The Moment...atm

Silly me...! What's your side-project, then (or should I go to your blog to see for myself)?

I just wrote a post about here 8 months ago :)
https://steemit.com/farming/@kevinwong/decentralized-urban-farming--growing-food-at-home-made-easy

But if you wanna check out, feel free to go through my blog to see the variety of stuff I've tried writing / doing. I'm even using STEEM's logo as a supporter in all my music events now, so the logo is in every poster / flyer / bunting etc. Keep in touch :)

Hi Kevin. Sounds great! Have you heard of Curtis Stone from Canada? He does a lot of work on urban farming, encouraging people to produce and become independent. I know he's from the North, and you're in the South, but he might be of interest to you, anyway...

Welcome to Steemit, Nick.

Welcome to Steemit @nicksikorski

Thanks @daisyd ! Just read your remarkable story. Can't begin to imagine what it must be like but I can tell you must be incredibly strong, now. Look forward to reading more from you. Thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77